Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barb

No Frills Hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: location near shopping
Recently stay at the Appleton Super 8 was fine. Price was great and customer service was great. The hotel was what I expected and had no surprises. Staff friendly and room clean. No complaints.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from La Crosse WI

I felt like a disruptance

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: refrigerator and microwave, good restaurants available nearby
Cons: see experience-train your staff, expect excellence, clean, replace damaged bedding, give more options for breakfast
Location: ? We were there for the Miss Fox River Valley/Miss Heart of the Valley Pageant
When we arrived, we had to say hello to the girl at the front desk. My daughter is allergic to down feathers and out of 8 pillows on the beds there was 1 that was fiber. She went to the front desk to ask for different pillow, other than down filled and the girl at the front desk said she didn't know what my daughter was talking about (my daughter is 19 yrs old and well spoken, she was very clear) and had to call her manager. She called the manager and then called our room and said they don't have any down filled pillows. CLEARLY the pillows were down....I know a feather when I feel it and was not going to risk an allergic reaction to the pillows. There was body hair in the sink and on a couple pillows and the carpet needed cleaning desperately. I am not sure how long you have been smoke free but there were burn holes on blankets and burn holes on furniture. Through out the night, it sounded like there was a gymnastics meet being held int he room above us. In the morning, the only gluten free option for the continental breakfast was old looking apples. You could have boiled eggs and yogurt and chex cereal for gluten free options. I couldn't eat. The girl at the front desk in the morning was on her cell phone the entire time we were in the breakfast area.
1 out of 5
by MsTblue

NO RESPECT

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The clerks were nice
Cons: cleaning, odor, noise control.
Location: Appleton- College Ave
Other hotel guest have no consideration or respect for those who are trying to get some sleep late at night and wee hours in the morning. Constant loud talking in the hallways all night long. TV in the lobby was playing very loud allllll night long. What is that about? Floor in the room was full of lumps under the carpet, very hard for walking, and in need of some serious cleaning or replacement. The area around the sink smelled like a "SKUNK." Good thing I carry a can of Lysol. The first room they gave me smelled like cigarettes. So they gave me the room upstairs....smelled like a skunk. I was only there for 1 night so I made do. I had to get some sleep to get up early for class......... Very exhausted when I got up. No rest, no sleep, never will I stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joel from Fish Creek, WI

Comfort

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: good queen size bed
Cons: nope
Location: vry close to the university where I was a guest
I arrived after driving in a snow storm for 4 hours, and was greeted warmely and with fine courtesy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by thanksgiver from wiskonsin

nice quiet sleep

Posted Jan 20, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gwyn from Chicago, IL

Convenient travel hotel.

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: Clean, convenient and cheap.
Cons: Put the bathroom sink in the bathroom.
Location: The location was great for travel and for visiting Lawrence University.
The hotel was clean and basic. I didn't have the breakfast but it's nice they provide it at this price point. We were there to visit Lawrence University and it was fine for that. The hotel is 8 min. from the school and it's a straight shot up the street. Lots of eating and shopping places nearby. The only strange thing is the bathroom because the sink is not in the bathroom. The beds were fine for a night and it was clean. The desk clerk was pleasant when we checked in and we did not have any problems. There was a larger refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and board in the room. We had loud neighbors that night but I don't think that would be a normal occurrence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hailey from Appleton

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by J B from Plover

N/A

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was extremely disappointing with the way the handicapped room was arranged. I only stayed one night, however, it was not easy for me to maneuver my scooter around at all. For one thing, the room was too small to begin with and after the roll away bed was put in the room, it made it even more difficult to move around. The bathroom was another story- there was not a comfortable amount of room between the bathtub, my scooter, the sink, and the toilet. I could drive straight in, but besides that it was impossible to turn around or for me to get off. Also, I could not get in the bathtub. I saw the bars, but being handicapped makes it difficult for me to get inside and hold myself up, once inside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by David from Wake Forest, NC

great location

Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was excellent, the rooms were comfortable. My first room had a crack in the base of the tub, but they quickly moved me to another room. They need space heaters outside the exit doors for smokers. They also need a better breakfast, something with eggs or just add scrambled eggs. I would recommend this hotel for people making short stays, but not more than a couple nights.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lori from Appleton,Wi

Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel needs updating and repair.