Ratings based on 630 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Nice hotel is south Chicago

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Clean and comfortable. Close to train station (20 min ride into downtown). Staff excellent and eager to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice close to the rail station.

Posted Jul 31, 2015
over all pleasing experience. .Close to eating establishments and food to be delivered.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Carlton Inn Midway

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The staff (they were OK)
Cons: i don't think they are going to do anything.....
Location: Bad
I am never staying at this hotel again; it is dirty, dated and NOISY as hell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, IN

A comfy stay not far from the Thalia Theater.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Good, clean, friendly facility not far from the Thalia Theater...(5) miles which we were visiting. Very affordable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Staff was sooo helpful

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: The staff and the shuttle service.
Cons: Quieter and the room smell.
Location: It was located near the train. Although we were first put off by the area, we found it to be fine.
We arrived on a Monday and they had the downstairs room I requested. I was a little concerned because it was right next to the office. Thought it might be noisy. I was right. The shuttle parked right outside of my room and we could hear talking late at night and early morning. The ac unit worked but was noisy. My husband said the room smelled musty. The sheets looked clean, although the bathroom was not. Because it accomodates pets, i assumed the smell and look was from the animals. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. We got maps and a shuttle service for where ever we wanted to go. We did walk and take the train as well.The breakfast was so so. Other reviewers raved, but we were not impressed. Our check out was easy as we booked through expedia. I would return, but request a quieter room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Room smelled of stale cigarette smoke. Holes in the floor in the bathroom. Grimy room and too expensive for what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice comfortable hotel convenient location

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Very friendly stuff, breakfast times long and good choice of food. They offer free shuttle to and from the train station that is less then 5 minutes walk. Wifi was working great, no issues with reception although we were far away from the office. Great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Services
Cons: Just be aware that this location is near airport, there is noise
Staff very helpful. Provided airport shuttle, when shuttle was caught in traffic, they offered to compensate me if I would prefer to use a taxi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marion, IA

Helpful employees

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: the employees
Cons: cleaning of the carpets.
How wonderful to have an employee smile and welcome you back to Chicago after our airplane landed. We called the hotel and were told that we would get picked up by the shuttle van in about 20 minutes. We had stayed at the Carlton before our flight and now were back to get a good night sleep, pick up our vehicle - which was parked in the hotels park and ride area and head back home. The employees always had a smile and a nice word to say whenever you met them on the premises. The only thing that was dirty was the carpet in this room. It needed to be cleaned thoroughly. We would stay at this hotel again because of the employees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marion, IA

Nice hotel personnel

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: The employees were great!
Cons: Cleaning the carpet.
Location: We were only there for a night sleep before heading to the airport, Midway.
Upon getting to the hotel we were welcomed by every employee we met. They had smiles on their faces and were willing to help us get settled in our rooms. When we asked questions they were quick and thorough at answering all questions and if they didn't have an answer they found the information we wanted quickly. The room carpet needed a thorough cleaning but the rest of the room was in great condition. Breakfast was good and filling.