Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful accommodations

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Location: Everything is within close driving distance - it helps to have a car.
We had a fantastic stay at the Arenal Kioro. The rooms are huge and the service was wonderful. The staff was extremely helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Billy from Bronx, NY

One Night Stand

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Staff. Very helpful. They had to otherwise you'd have to drag your bags up and down the outdoor stairs your self. The place is "terraced".
Cons: It is what it is.
Location: Visit the volcanoe,, but just once. Zip line if you have the nerve, I didn't. A rain forest is not as interesting as walking down Broadway from Harle
Not bad. Accommodations were fine. Food, eh! Average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Property is beautiful. Hotel has really nice hot springs you can enjoy as well as a great view of the volcano. The service of the staff doesn't live up to the cost of this hotel. Had much better service at less expensive hotels. Rooms are really nice, but the shower needs a make over as there are hard to clean places where mould is growing. Not something that should be happening at a hotel this price. It's close to a $20 cab ride into La Fortuna (if you want to eat dinner outside the hotel), but the hotel does offer a free shuttle going in to La Fortuna at 2pm and returning back at 5:30pm. Food at the hotels restaurants is pretty good so we didn't mind eating there most of the time. Our 2.5 year old loved the kiddie pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DeeK from Fayetteville, GA

Oasis of Beauty

Posted Nov 30, 2013
We arrived at the hotel in the evening so we could only see the pretty flowers on either side of the driveway. Pulling up close to the reception area, we were greeted by staff at our car. Checking in was easy & everyone in our party was given a drink of their choice. Two of our kids had watermelon smoothies, while the other one had a chocolate shake. Upon entering our room, we were pleased. We could not see any view in the dark but when we woke up the next morning....the view of Arenal Volcano took our breath away!!! We had an awesome view of the mountain & the hotel grounds!! While there, I enjoyed the spa, restaurant & the natural hot springs. I can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

Best view of the Arenal volcano !!!

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: It wasn't too big. Staff very friendly, great breakfast included.
Location: Zip-lining, going into the on ground hot springs, arenal volcano hike
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brent from Tampa

One of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in!

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, the hotel was beautiful. Food was great, staff went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Great view of the valcano. If I go back to this area, without a doubt will stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SW from London.

Lovely hotel, amazing views.

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: The view of the volcano from the bedroom. The friendly helpful staff.
Cons: The spa could have been slightly better.
Great hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Would thoroughly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sal

Excellent Stay

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Amazing view, pool and hot spring. Food was fantastic... Especially the grilled tenderloin. A definite highlight of our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Diane from Dripping Springs TX

Incredible views

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: The service and the food were over the top.
Cons: It was dark when walking to dinner or the pool area at night. A bit better lighting would help.
Location: La Fortuna is just a few miles down the road. It was very small but did have a few shops and restaurants. Outdoor sports were everywhere.
The hotel was amazing. We stayed in a family suite with a picture perfect view of the volcano. Restaurants were excellent and service was superb. We will be back.