Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Apex, NC

Beautiful Setting

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Enjoyed seeing Toucans Hummingbirds and beautiful gardens right on the premises. Clouds obscured the summit until the end of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Beautiful, family-oriented resort

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: It was beautiful, and in a great location with a short drive to Arenal National Park, as well as a short drive into La Fortuna for lunch or shopping.
Cons: We have no complaints. It was a wonderful experience for our family.
Location: Centrally located, within 10 minutes of Volcan Arenal. 10 minute drive to La Fortuna where restaurants and shopping is available. Great location!
This resort was enjoyable for our family, totaling 6. The suite was perfect for two adults and two children, although we had to pay additional costs for two of the children. The hot tub was a huge bonus in that the children had instant entertainment in the room, especially since we were there during the rainy season. My husband and I enjoyed the hot tub as well! The breakfast (included in the cost of the hotel) was incredible, and we all especially enjoyed the omelets made to our taste. The gift shop attendants were very friendly and the cost of keepsakes was reasonable compared to other gift shops in Costa Rica. The hot springs at the resort were beautiful, and made for beautiful pictures to remember our Costa Rica experience. When the rain cleared up on our final day, there was a breathtaking view of Volcan Arenal outside of our hotel window! Overall, this was a wonderful hotel for our family and centrally located between Volcan Arenal and La Fortuna.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockford, IL

Attentive Staff, Pleasant Stay

Posted Jul 27, 2014
First time vacation to Costa Rica and traveled as a family with two children ages 8 and 13. The hotel had a very pleasant check in procedure and were very attentive to our needs, one night even assisting in ordering delivery from a local restaurant. The room was clean, large, and the day bed was comfortable and assisted with sleeping arrangements. Both children loved the surprise towel animals which awaited daily upon our return to the room. We also loved the hot springs on the hotel grounds, and the wildlife observing numerous birds and an armadillo. I only wish the clouds would have cleared so we could have seen the full beauty of Mt Arenal.The restaurant had limited menu options, and was quite some distance from other restaurants in the city if you did not have personal transportation. Both my wife and I ordered sea food from the restaurant on separate nights and both ended up with upset stomachs. All and all I would highly recommend the Arenal Kioro Suites and Spa Resort but a shuttle service to and from La Fortuna would make this great resort - superb!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port St Lucie, Fl

Beautiful hotel grounds

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Location: Many adventure tours to choose fom all near by. La Fiportina waterfall was about 10 minutes away as well as hanging bridges tour.
Hotel was close to town of La Fortuna, and many places to eat. Breakfast at Kioro was delicious. We did not get to see the top of volcano because of clouds, but still had great views. Staff was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Beautiful Hotel and Excellent Service

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Cons: There is only one restaurant that serves dinner and we found it a bit pricey. We took taxis into town most nights for local cuisine.
Location: We went white water rafting down the Balsa river, hiked the volcano and did the hanging bridges tour - all were excellent.
We really enjoyed our days in Arenal. What a beautiful and relaxing place. The rooms were large and comfortably accommodated our family of 4. We had a great view of the volcano, except on the rainy day. The staff were all very friendly and helpful which contributed very positively to our experience. We can't say enough about the staff. We would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wow - what a place!

Posted Jun 28, 2014
We travel a lot and this stay turned about to be one of the best. We loved the hotel and staff and the views of the volcano were amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Large rooms, avoid the restaurant for dinner.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
The rooms are spacious and clean and the hot tub is very convenient. The hot springs were tepid, but beautiful. The restaurant for dinner should have been a pass as the menu seems a bit tired and the food meh. Breakfast was good with smaller crowds, but I feel that the staff has a hard time keeping up with larger groups.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by F. from Shaikh

great amenities. beautiful gardens, close to all.

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melanie from New York

Exclusive location at the foot of Arenal Volanco

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was exceptional. Service was fantastic and we had a great view of the volcano from the room. The staff was also exceptionally helpful with booking daytime excursions and were more than happy to help us. Food on-site was great. No complaints here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alan from canada

Spectacular location, comfortable room

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Hotel grounds, room, views,
Cons: Restaurant both meal quality and service (apart from breakfast buffet)
Location: Area is amazing, Arenal lake, walking in national park, Fortuna.
The facilities, springs, grounds, common areas are wonderful. The breakfast buffet is excellent. Our room was spacious and clean, quiet and comfortable. Dinner was good, but not outstanding, service, particularly in the restaurant is acceptable, but not great. Hotel staff, especially on reception, were very good indeed. Good, world class resort standard, with OK, but not great, restaurant.