Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Fabulous Property

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: La Fortuna is only 10 minutes away. It's a quaint downtown with lots of restaurants, shops, and sights. There are also a few supermarkets.
This property is amazing. The rooms are huge with high ceilings and views that are stunning. Each building is arranged so all have the same vantage point of the volcano. The room was in perfect condition with no detail overlooked. The grounds are meticulously maintained. We stayed in building 11 and really enjoyed the stroll along the pathway to the pool, hot springs, and restaurant. The in room hot tub was nice to relax in at night after a dip in the hot springs. The staff is super friendly and extraordinarily helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Great view and accommodations. Everyone very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southeast US

Arnel Kiora Suites and Spa

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Everything, but basically it came down to the fact that all of the staff worked together to do everything possible to make our stay memorable and wond
Cons: Nothing, except that eventually we had to leave.
Location: Our room had the perfect view of Mt. Arnel where the volcano resides. We also went to Cano Negro Nature Preserve, the tram, and more.
How can I convey the meaning of perfection. I don't usually rave about a hotel, but this one was just perfect from the welcome, the entire staff, the meticulous and gorgeous grounds, restaurant and the wonderful cleaning staff. Every day the cleaning staff did something special with the towels and flowers and created artwork for our bed. The Bird of Paradise was used all over the hotel to make everything special. We've traveled for over 35 years and over much of the world and we agree this was our favorite hotel ever. Oh, yes, we're ready to go back again and again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by josefrom L.R

no crearse tanta expectativa

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Es un buen hotel con posibilidades de mejorar mucho en servicios y atención. todavía le falta trabajar para llegar a pretender 5*.Hay empleados muy buenos como por ej. wilmer de recepción y Adriana y otros que no voy a dar nombres que son muy desagradables y resentidos sociales. Es tarea de los directivos seleccionar mejor al personal.En gastronomía tienen que mejorar mucho,no hay calidad ni variedad en la escasa propuesta del menú.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Apex, NC

Beautiful Setting

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Enjoyed seeing Toucans Hummingbirds and beautiful gardens right on the premises. Clouds obscured the summit until the end of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Beautiful, family-oriented resort

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: It was beautiful, and in a great location with a short drive to Arenal National Park, as well as a short drive into La Fortuna for lunch or shopping.
Cons: We have no complaints. It was a wonderful experience for our family.
Location: Centrally located, within 10 minutes of Volcan Arenal. 10 minute drive to La Fortuna where restaurants and shopping is available. Great location!
This resort was enjoyable for our family, totaling 6. The suite was perfect for two adults and two children, although we had to pay additional costs for two of the children. The hot tub was a huge bonus in that the children had instant entertainment in the room, especially since we were there during the rainy season. My husband and I enjoyed the hot tub as well! The breakfast (included in the cost of the hotel) was incredible, and we all especially enjoyed the omelets made to our taste. The gift shop attendants were very friendly and the cost of keepsakes was reasonable compared to other gift shops in Costa Rica. The hot springs at the resort were beautiful, and made for beautiful pictures to remember our Costa Rica experience. When the rain cleared up on our final day, there was a breathtaking view of Volcan Arenal outside of our hotel window! Overall, this was a wonderful hotel for our family and centrally located between Volcan Arenal and La Fortuna.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rockford, IL

Attentive Staff, Pleasant Stay

Posted Jul 27, 2014
First time vacation to Costa Rica and traveled as a family with two children ages 8 and 13. The hotel had a very pleasant check in procedure and were very attentive to our needs, one night even assisting in ordering delivery from a local restaurant. The room was clean, large, and the day bed was comfortable and assisted with sleeping arrangements. Both children loved the surprise towel animals which awaited daily upon our return to the room. We also loved the hot springs on the hotel grounds, and the wildlife observing numerous birds and an armadillo. I only wish the clouds would have cleared so we could have seen the full beauty of Mt Arenal.The restaurant had limited menu options, and was quite some distance from other restaurants in the city if you did not have personal transportation. Both my wife and I ordered sea food from the restaurant on separate nights and both ended up with upset stomachs. All and all I would highly recommend the Arenal Kioro Suites and Spa Resort but a shuttle service to and from La Fortuna would make this great resort - superb!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Port St Lucie, Fl

Beautiful hotel grounds

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Location: Many adventure tours to choose fom all near by. La Fiportina waterfall was about 10 minutes away as well as hanging bridges tour.
Hotel was close to town of La Fortuna, and many places to eat. Breakfast at Kioro was delicious. We did not get to see the top of volcano because of clouds, but still had great views. Staff was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, Ga

Beautiful Hotel and Excellent Service

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Cons: There is only one restaurant that serves dinner and we found it a bit pricey. We took taxis into town most nights for local cuisine.
Location: We went white water rafting down the Balsa river, hiked the volcano and did the hanging bridges tour - all were excellent.
We really enjoyed our days in Arenal. What a beautiful and relaxing place. The rooms were large and comfortably accommodated our family of 4. We had a great view of the volcano, except on the rainy day. The staff were all very friendly and helpful which contributed very positively to our experience. We can't say enough about the staff. We would definitely recommend this hotel.