Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal, USA

Good Location for Arenal Volcano Area

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast buffet, service, beauty.
Cons: Room noise.
Location: The Fontuna Falls is a must see but you need to be in shape to go down (and up) the "500" steep steps.
Facilities were very good. Beautiful setting location, many iguanas running around (good thing). Very nice arrival welcoming and guest overview of facility/room and amenities. 2 free: beers, waters, mini cokes in room fridge. Mineral pools - jaccuzi, warm, and fresh water (cool) were nice. Ice machine was down but staff accomidated with free bags of ice. "OK" room comfort was because adjoining room noise was easily heard and futon like matressess (still sleepable). On premise restaurants were pricey and a dishe (chicken quesidilla) marginal. Overall, a solid 4 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Beautiful resort with great volcano views

Posted Oct 14, 2014
We had a very pleasant stay here. The resort grounds were stunning with beautiful landscaping and foliage especially around the hot springs. We were here during low season and were often the only guests at the hot springs. The staff was excellent, everyone was very friendly and helpful. Edward at the activity desk helped us book tours and also provided good suggestions on restaurants in town and nearby places to see. The restaurants at the resort looked nice but were deserted most of the time - maybe because it was low season. They were a little overpriced and we did not travel to Costa Rica to eat pizza and sushi. Perhaps if they had a more casual Costa Rican restaurant it would be more popular. Overall had a great time and would suggest this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing beautiful place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with an excellent volcano view

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Beautiful place to stay in a worldwide recognized touristic destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CRC

Above expected

Posted Sep 17, 2014
I'm from Costa Rica and usually visit a different hotel in Arenal's area, this by far the best hotel I've stayed within this price range
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2014
The hot springs were amazing. The pool bar area was great even with the kids. Breakfast was good. We loved that they love to conserve energy. The complimentary drinks in the mini bar were an added bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, spacious, and with hot springs

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Hotel was great. I would recommend. I liked the hot spring pools, with a wet bar. I liked he restaurant for dining with very affordable choices. Breakfast included was super with great choices as well. My only complaint was the room had a few more bugs I would have liked. Because the bath has naturals plans and it is a little open to the outside some insects can get into the room. Nothing major happened but it kept me on the alert. Location was ok. Not in walking distance from the town, but then only a few hotels are. Most of the nice ones you will need a taxi to move you around. Overall, I would recommend the hotel, staff and other facilities included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing stay

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: the view, the hot springs, the landscaping
Cons: it was a perfect stay
Location: it's very close to all the attractions. we went to see the Fortuna waterfalls, did some hiking at the base of the arenal lodge and then zip lining
We stayed at room 305 for one night on August 22-23. I called the hotel and asked for an extra bed and it was already there upon arrival. The room is a bit small but you do not spend too much time in the room anyway. The hot springs are amazing especially in the evening. They were so relaxing after a day of hiking. There is coke, water and beer in the fridge free of charge which was nice. The view of the volcano in the morning was amazing.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kate from Melbourne

depends on what you like

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I guess it depends on what you are looking for but this place was not our cup of tea. Being a large resort this place lacked charm and intimacy. The draw for us was having hot springs at the propery and while thr pool bar served and good cocktail they were largely underwhelming. We found free hot springs the locals used and they were much nicer. The rooms felt pretty dated although clean. Staff were great and we loved our towel origami. The place is family friendly but since we were on our honeymoon that was not a plus and there were so many Americans we could have stayed in the US and not known the difference. Food was good but overpriced. Next time we come to Arenal we will look for a boutique eco lodge and go to the public hotsprings
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014 by Edward, Hotel Management
Hi Kate, thank you very much for visiting us and sorry you did not enjoy your stay at 100%, it is true that you mention that our hotel is booked by many families who come to enjoy with their children, but we also have like many couples who enjoy, in this July is vacation time in USA and Costa Rica is a popular tourist destination so it is very logical that we have across the country many people in USA. We hope that your next holidays are great and part of the entire team of the Hotel Arenal Springs we say thank you very much and blessings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Lovely setting

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The pools, friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Nothing. It really was a great place to stay.
Location: Our day tours included the Hanging Bridges, Butterfly Conservatory. There was also several places to zip line but it was raining hard the entire time.
We only spent two nights but would have liked to stay longer. The resort is well groomed and attractive. Rooms are air conditioned and comfortable, if a little small. The dining areas are open air with a view of the grounds and volcano. We weren't lucky enough to see the volcano because of the rain. Food at the in-house restaurants is good. This is a gated resort off the main road. I hadn't been to this area before so didn't know what to expect. There are many resorts near by and it seems to be a tourist destination. Our favorite part was the large pools and hot pools. Heated by the nearby volcano there are three hot pools with the water running down into a large swimming pool. There is also an unheated pool and swim up bar. This is a very nice place to stay and a safe introduction to Costa Rica, but if you want to experience Costa Rican people and culture this may be a bit too closed off. Of course you can stay here in comfort and safety and venture out into the real world of Costa Rica.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Edward, Hotel Management
Rochelle Hello dear friend, thank you very much for everything cute and nice that you mentioned about our hotel, thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you back soon. we all hope that your experience in Costa Rica have been the best and have excellent memories, and we will be here waiting for you to make your next vacation be even better. thank you very much and blessings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from M.V., California

Great Welcome Reception.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: none
Location: Outdoor activities like zip line, ATV's, kayaking, hiking and most of all the weather and views.
My wife and friends are greatly surprise on the heart warming welcome surprise by your staff. Privacy on your own cottage. And yes, your breakfast is a fiesta with lots of choices. Pura Vida Arenal CR.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Edward, Hotel Management
Reneg Hello, It is good to see that you all had a wonderful experience here with us, all of us want to thank you for visiting us and we'll be waiting for the day of your return to serve you in the best possible way one more time. On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Arenal Springs want to say thank you very much and blessings.