Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable, right in downtown, good breakfast, great service. Wifi wasn't working in the rooms, had to go downstairs to use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathyfrom Bloomington, MN

Hotel Bromelias

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Hotel Staff, Location, Patio
Cons: More parking area
Location: Centrally located in LaFortuna. There are many shops and restaurants nearby.
The hotel staff were awesome! Some of them spoke English very well so all of our needs were attended to. We wanted a small refrigerator. We asked, and we received. The room was adequate and we loved the little deck. It is located centrally so everything was in walking distance. The breakfast was much more than we expected. The only thing missing for me was a bath tub but I am pretty sure not too many of the hotels have them. For the price, I would highly recommend Hotel Bromelias!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Mefrom TN

Upgraded

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: Casa luna fantastic! Great Staff, great food, great service. Just a too far from town where reasonable tours and more authentic food available.
Location: Arenal volcano area was great. Hot springs fantastic. You can do the luxury hot springs or the free ones. Both are very interesting.
Got upgraded to Casa Luna. Another of their properties. Garden of Eden - Beautiful. Still would have preferred Bromeilas as it was in the center of LA Fortuna, the town. Taxi transfers from town and back ran 7 to 8 USD. Ate up time and cash flow. Great experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2013
Nice staff. Hotel right down town. The beds were horrible, squeaked every time I moved. Parking lot is right by the pool had to weave through the cars to get to my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

CONVENIENCE

Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was pleasantly surprised to find everything as I hoped. The cleanliness and locationwere perfect. The staff was very kind and tried to be helpful. The only thing that might have been more useful would have been better English spoken by the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

More Than Happy

Posted Jan 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location is central to La Fortuna. The staff are friendly and welcomi ng. The rooms are small, but the balconies make up for this.The only thing missing for us was an in room coffee maker.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Aug 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel with very friendly staff. They went above and beyond to help us. We did have to learn how the doors locked and unlocked, but the staff was first rate.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Don't stay here - Bed Bugs and Unhelpful staff

Posted Mar 25, 2011 on Hotels.com
I had booked a room with a volcano view but when I checked in, I was told they didnt have any of those and offered to move me the next day to a different room. The room I checked into was small and cramped. There were no towels or soap in the bathroom. Around ~1 a.m. I woke up to realize the bed was infested with bed bugs and my arms were sore with bites. The hotel did not have anyone at the front reception - the reception was closed. There was a non-English speaking security guy. The security guy wanted to help but didnt seem like he was in a position to do anything. The hotel was apparently full and they had no extra rooms. It was clear to me by then the hotel knew the room they checked me into was bed bug infested and they still put me in there - it was disgusting. In the middle of the night with the rains, me and the security guy tried all adjacent hotels to get a room for the night to sleep. FInally aftr 2 hours found 1 hotel 2 blocks away. Had to drag my bags in the rain at 3 a.m. This new hotel I moved to caled Arenal Jireh was excellent (and when I checked had the same rate). All in all I don't recommend Carmela - bed bugs, non-helpful staff, non-English speaking staff, it all happened in 1 night.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mt Holly NC

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2011 on Hotels.com