Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hôtel proche du volcan et des attractions

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Grande chambre, petit déjeuner très copieux et varié.
Cons: Internet haut debit et dans les chambres.
Location: A proximité du lac Arenal, voiture nécessaire.
Randonnées plus ou moins faciles, cascade, ponts suspendus, tyrolienne proches. La Fortuna très facile d'accès en voiture, diner super au Soda Visquez.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice spot. Great view of Arenal if the clouds lift

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Restaurant is consistently good with a great breakfast buffet. The baked French onion soup had the thickest most delicious broth I've ever tasted.
Cons: Not much, the road in is kinda rough but that's mostly determined by the landscape.
Location: Zip lines, walking trails, hot springs, waterfalls horses, atv tours, lots to do though rainy in early February.
Didn't have the proper clothes for the climate but there was a lot to do in the area. The grounds are beautiful, the hotel really nice, friendly staff. Stayed there for 6 days and it was really relaxing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom québec

Vue imprenable

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: La vue et le guide sur place pour l'équitation.
Cons: L'entretien en général et les repas au restaurant, sauf les déjeuners.
Location: Besoin d'une voiture pour visiter les choses à proximité
Très bel endroit. Paysage magnifique avec la vue sur le lac et le Volcan Arenal
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City, UT

Not Suggested

Posted Jan 25, 2015
The view was absolutely incredible, but the beds were insanely uncomfortable. The food was horrible and you're so far out of the way, it's hard to get to a town to get more food.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PSL, Florida

Hotel in the Rain Forest

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: It was ok
Cons: Food
Location: The parks in the area were nice, but it was much better in Monteverde.
The hotel was interesting being in the rain forest high on the mountain, the hotel had a view of Arenal Volcano, in which we could not see, because it always had cloud formation around the top of it. We stayed in the family suites, in which I think it is better to stay in the junior suites. The dinners at the restaurant was not that good, it was not fresh. I ordered buttered noodle dish, and it was plain noodles, no flavor. We ate at other hotels around the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando,Fl

Amazing view of volcano

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Only there for 2 days, but they were awesome There was some rain so went to nearby hot springs during that time
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC area

Nice view, but amenities could be better.

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: View, decent food, grounds.
Cons: more variety for food. Also, the gift shop had no medication, sunscreen or bug spray. My son got a fever, and luckily we brought some advil for him.
The view is beautiful, and the grounds are lovely. The trip up to the lodge is quite lengthy, so going off property without a taxi is not an option. The restaurant on the grounds was good, but the same menu was offered every day; some daily specials would be nice. Also, the day i needed to take a shower, there was no water coming from the shower, so I had to wash my hair in the sink. The morning hike with Miguel, an Arenal employee was one of the highlights of our visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Arenal Lodge Review

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Location and view are un-matched
Cons: Better amenities in room
Location: Arenal volcano, the hanging bridges, Arenal lake, hiking trails and La Fortuna is not far off
If you like nature, this is the place for you. No other hotel in the region has the view of Arenal Volcano that this hotel offers. And the hiking trail on the property is one of the best jungle trails. you hike in a wonderful rainforest and the animals are all around you. The tour is free, offered daily and the guide is an excellent naturalist. The restaurant is excellent and from the pool you have unobstructed view of the volcano. Arenal hanging bridges are 5 minutes from the hotel gate. The room are big but spartan. very little closet space, no A/C, no frig, but with a breathtaking view, who cares. Ample parking space but be aware that you have to drive 2 km from the main road up hill on a narrow and twisting road to reach the hotel. Tough drive if its rains, foggy or at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paulfrom Sacramento, ca usa

Property in need of makeover

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just ok, property is older, some maintenance issues, room was an upgrade, big but musty. Breakfast was very good, restaurant was otherwise overpriced with bland, unremarkable food. Location very isolated. I think i would stay elsewhere next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to park trail.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Enjoyed the stay. Park trail was awesome. Went ourselves and the next morning went with guide. Amazing view of the volcano. Gardens were well kept and birds outside our windows were great to watch. The room was older but fairly well kept showing it's age.