Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and peaceful

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Great view of the volcano if you get a room high up. Great scenery and fun watching variety of birds.
Cons: More lighting in the rooms would be nice. Butterfly farm needs to be maintained better and the trails could be smoother and safer.
Location: not much to do at this hotel. You pay for the view of the volcano Arenal and the beauty of the scenery. Gym smelly and dirty..we passed on the gym
We had to tell reception that we specifically requested a room on 2nd floor not 1st floor. We finally did get a room that was higher and the view was much better. Reception was friendly. Careful not to get to hotel in the dark...steep accession and winding to get to hotel. We arrived just before dark. Room was clean and nice. Good breakfast and dinner was good as well. Bathroom was very nice and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Lovely, comfortable stay.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for four nights and it was just lovely! The staff was so polite and really wanted you to enjoy your stay. The hotel owns a lot of beautiful perserved forest and I highly recommend the complimentary guided walk in the morning. Also, the views are are breathtaking. Only negative experience was on our last night we could hear the people in the room next to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pgh., PA

Nice room, great value!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Rainforest preserve, pretty and comfortable room.
Cons: Limited menu in the restaurant. Tiresome after three days...it's a little difficult to leave at dinnertime to go elsewhere since it a distance.
Our room was very pleasant and comfortable! We had a lovely balcony and a nice view, when it wasn't misty and rainy :-) We even had Stephanie the macaw visit our balcony one morning! The restaurant and bar staff were friendly and got to know us after being there several days. They really should advertise the rainforest preserve on the property, it was a hidden gem that I got to see on the guided tour. One can also visit without the guide, which we didn't know until our last day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Posted Jul 4, 2014
The hotel is very clean but dated (maybe 70's) and in need of repair in some areas. The view is great when the volcano is visible. This was my third visit to Arenal over the years and the first time I have seen the volcano. It is often shrouded in clouds. The hotel is in a remote location off the main road, about 15 km from the volcano and the town. This was our groups first visit to the hotel and we usually just stay in the area one night on our way to the beach each year. We would choose one of the hotels closer to the volcano next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by micah from missouri by way of california

beautiful stay in arenal

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great time at the hotel. The view was incredible. We loved the isolation of the hotel, but it did make it a bit difficult for us since we didn't have a rental car
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by De Paula from Miami, FL

Nice Hotel in Arenal Area

Posted May 7, 2014
Cons: Room comfort
Location: Located closed to Arenal Volcano, hot springs, hanging bridges, Sky trek - Sky tram, horse ride offered at the hotel.
Hotel location is about 10 minutes from the main road, Place is quiet, Staff is friendly but you need to be patient if need something specially at the restaurant, we stayed at the chalets which has a great view to Arenal Volcano. Pool is cool, we were unable to use it due to water temperature, Jacuzzi is OK but need to order 25 minutes before use for optimal water temperature. Available tours at the hotel, very informative. If you like Zip Lines, I recommend Sky trek, not offered at the Hotel and Baldi Hot springs. Room comfort should be improved, hard and uncomfortable mattress. Great stay for people who likes Pure Nature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Alana from Satellite Beach, Florida

Beautiful property!

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The lodge was a little ways away from town but the views and property were beautiful. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Loved the guided tours with Miguel...he was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Would stay again.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mikaela from California

As close to heaven you can be....

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The lodge was as high as the volcano....though the grounds and view were definitely worth the drive up! Beautiful gardens, views, and good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Catherine

Fantastic setting

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Cons: The food
Location: Plenty of excursions, walks, horse riding...
Nice hotel in a fantastic setting. Spectacular views, nice trails. Ask for the junior suites on the second floor. The rooms and the lobby /bar-restaurant are very pleasant. A car is a must as the hotel is far from La Fortuna and once you are in, you do not always feel like going out again. The only down side is the food at the restaurant. Buffet breakfasts are very good but the food for lunches and dinners is very bland, unimaginative and fairly expensive for what it is. The staff is attentive and overall we had a great time.