Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MN USA

Wonderful smaller hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Small size and the well-kept individual cabins that were surrounded by beautiful gardens. On-site hot springs were wonderful-great view of the volcano
Cons: To be honest, nothing!
Location: Hike in the volcano national park, the hanging bridges tour, the night hike in the reptile sanctuary, and the beautiful waterfalls in La Fortuna.
We really enjoyed our stay! The office staff members were terrific! They were very helpful in making suggestions of activities, getting us settled into our room, and all-in-all, taking care of our daily needs. The hot springs on-site were great and the bar area at the back of the complex was very fun--Jose is a great bartender and conversationalist. He makes you feel at home! The property was kept very clean and the gardens were beautiful. The restaurant on-site was convenient and served great food. A must-stay place on your trip to La Fortuna!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Fantastic hotel with amazing staff

Posted Aug 19, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Very nice small hotels, only 24 cabins. People are very nice too. You can enjoy the hot spring without going out. The only thing is the number 1, 2, 3 cabin is a little close to main road and if you are sensitive to noise, need to avoid those.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Lovely Bungalows, Grounds & Spa, but Bad Food

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Private bungalows, lush and well-maintained grounds, fantastic spa
Cons: The food was horrible.
We stayed here for 2 nights and were pleased and impressed with the private bungalow accommodations, lush and well-maintained grounds, and fabulous spa. However, the on-site restaurant food was incredibly disappointing. We ate one dinner and one (free/included) breakfast there and both were horrible. Everything appeared and tasted as if it was previously frozen and reheated. Everywhere else in Costa Rica that we visited had freshly prepared food and that is what we expected here, too. Our meals don't need to be fancy, but they DO need to taste good. It was such a disappointment. Hotel Silencio met and exceeded our every other expectation, but their food was such a failure. For the rest of our stay (including skipping our second free/included breakfast), we opted to take a taxi into town (about $7 US each way) and eat at the local sodas. Soda Viquez and the Rainforest Cafe were absolutely excellent! Unfortunately, we would not stay at Hotel Silencio again, or recommend it to anyone, due to our incredibly disappointing experience with the food alone. The hotel's distance from town makes taxi-ing into town for alternate dining options cost prohibitive for any future trips here. If Hotel Silencio could change the food and offer freshly prepared meals, we would absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: none
Location: Hiking, Zip Line.
We stayed two nights, we loved the cabin with a great view of the volcano. Staff was wonderful, the gardens and thermal pools magnificent, you can also learn how to milk cows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Awesome place, friendly staff, hot springs fabulou

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: Staff at spa/beauty salon
Location: Did a white water rafting tour it was amazing, every professional organised tour company
Very relaxing, enjoyed hot springs and surrounds, gardens are incredible, bar staff worth their wait in gold
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg, MB, canada

Great view and amenities

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Beautiful rooms, pool, and hot springs. Great view of the volcano. So relaxing, spent the entire day here. Food was average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlottesville, va

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Great stay even though we were there 3 days and never saw the volcano. There is a reason it's called the rainy season.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great accomodations with hospitable staff

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Overall, Hotel El Silencio Del Campo delivers in all aspects of rating it 5stars. The hotel itself was well manicured and the accomodations were ideal but the staff has to be commended for their hospitality. A home away from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seaham

Great hotel with fantastic staff

Posted Jul 30, 2014
We stayed at the Hotel Silencio del Campo for four nights and really enjoyed it. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. We ate dinner in the restaurant twice and found the meals to be very nice and reasonably priced. The facilities were very good and the hot springs were great. It's only a short ($8) taxi ride into La Fortuna but the grounds and facilities at the hotel are fine if you just wanted to relax there. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the only improvement I could suggest would be to the mattresses, although we still managed a good nights sleep. Overall, we had a great time in a nice hotel which was really enhanced by the staff.