Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bahamas

Bit depressing but Ok I guess

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Overnighted here. It was passable and clean enough but made me feel a bit icky to be honest. I dropped my eyeliner in the bathroom and threw it away rather than wash it off and use it again. I wasn't sad to leave but I wouldn't go as far as to say that it was a bad place to stay. If I had to stay for more than one night I'd probably have enjoyed my trip a lot less though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Inexpensive comfortable small place

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Price, convenience.
Cons: Real pillows would be nice. Some dishware, too (could be locked up like the refrigerator to keep from disappearing).
Location: Volcan Arenal park. Hanging bridges nature walk. Natura Zoological Park. Nenes Restaurant, Chocolate Fusion coffee house.
We chose El Volcan because of the reviews lauding the host, and were not disappointed. Luis was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Our first night he recommended a local restaurant where we had the best steak (ribeye) we'd ever eaten. The beds were OK, although the pillows were just egg crate foam in pillowslips. Despite that, we slept very well. The hotel has an outdoor covered patio with a common refrigerator and microwave (put away late at night). No dishes, however, but handy anyway. It's within easy walking distance of most of the town, and the walks were pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable, close to town center

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Wonderful little room, very modest, simple, don't expect a standard US-room by any means. I thought it was a great lil find. Site mgr was very helpful and friendly. Has wifi, hot water and is in the town. Downside is room facing the street hears everyyyything. Overall great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great place for people on a budget.

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Close to downtown, clean and the owner was very helpful. Wifi connection is so so depending on your room, but this problem I found through out Costa Rican hotels.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bernardofrom Canada

Don't stay there.

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I don't recommended this hotel at all. No clean and a very bad smell that my wife had to sleep in the car. Smell mold everywhere, on pillows, mattresses, it's horrible.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom redwood city

Close to downtown

Posted Aug 14, 2014
I did not like the facilities, every thing looks old, but at least is close to downtown
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Edwardfrom Jacksonville, FL

great location, great price

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Luis and his staff were very helpful and courteous. The town of La Fortuna was very safe and a nice place to shop and eat. One place, Rainforest Cafe had good local food at great prices. Overall the hotel fit our needs well.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas Tx

Disappointed

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The owner was extremely nice and the room had air conditioning, which a lot of places do not in Costa Rica.
Cons: Softer beds. Easier access to soft drinks (you could not always find someone to unlock the machine). Access to coffee & tea at the hotel.
Location: I didn't go anywhere in that area so I don't know.
The owner was very nice but not what it appeared to be online. I wasn't really comfortable with the location. The bed was very hard so it was hard to sleep. But there was air conditioning which was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice cheap hotel

Posted May 29, 2014
Staffs are very nice and helpful! They provided us good options of tours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Cons: The tv is way up in the ceiling, it's hard to see
Location: there are some waterfalls nearby that are nice, free. The forest + springs tour is nice, but maybe a spa is better
The hotel is all right: neat, good location, fair service. Pretty good considering the price.