Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff and great,comfortable room

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Cons: Water wasn't always on.
Staff was wonderful. Room was comfortable. Had a great view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, quiet hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Very nice front desk people. Very responsive to request. Nice and quiet hotel near Arenal and La Fortuna.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Nice rooms, quiet, away from the noise of la Fortuna. Good if you have a car.
Cons: Shower was not working, had to tell the owner. Took a long time before it was fixed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nature Bob from Canada

Walking distance to Nature Park Danaus.

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved the breakfast and the family that run the hotel. They were very helpful. The local bus stop is very close. Only negative is that it is close to the road so can be noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by v

Super nice host and comfortable! great breakfast!

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Free amazing breakfast, informative and caring host, great amenities for the price. This is great for couples and families, and relaxed location
I am surprised to see that this only gets average ratings. For the price, I couldn't believe how awesome this place is. We got a typical costa rican breakfast that tasted great (one of the best breakfasts I had during my 10 day stay). The host is INCREDIBLY nice to EVERYONE. I wish I remembered his name, but he told us of all the places to go, and we even found a cool free thermal river that wasn't in the guide book because of him. Our hotel was cleaned every day, and the room was spacious. I was even curious about the fruit tree outside which I later learned was a water apple, and he let me try it. Out of all the places I stayed at, I felt that this hotel truly cared about their guests, were genuinely nice, and the room was large with all the amenities you would need. The price can't be beat. Some people may say the location is a bit out of the way (we did get a bit lost trying to find it, but I was able to ask someone where it was and they guided me right away). If you have a car, I would strongly suggest staying here. There is ample parking, you get a great view of the volcano too!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elaine S. from Renton, WA

Best smiles in Costa Rica

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was very clean and roomy. The shower had hot water and after a week with no hot water it was wonderful. The bed was not very comfortable and it was close to a busy road but the young couple who run the place more then made up for it. There smiles were contagious and they gave us information on where the locals go. Also, she cooked us a wonderful breakfast with fresh squeezed juice in the mornings. The price was great and everything else was a bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff

Posted Aug 26, 2013
No one beside us in this hotel but it is great and the staff very gently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pam and Chris from Norfolk

Three night stay

Posted Mar 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice staff who were exceptionally helpful. Not the most convenient place to stay unless you have a car. The bus however does stop outside hotel. A relaxing place to stay away from town but close to an eco centre which was well worth visiting.Nice geckos and toad as house guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sanders

Basic accomodations.

Posted Mar 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
We only stayed one night just to check out La Fortuna. The hotel is very basic. No shampoo or wash clothes available. Rooms not very secure. Free breakfast is small.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by John

Nice place, difficult staff

Posted Mar 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay here but had a 'disagreement' with the concierge on the way out. From the airport, our cab fair was $30 USD. As we were checking out we asked the receptionist to phone us a cab to take us back to the airport. The driver arrived and asked for $50 to take us there. I told him that was way too much at which point he brought me to the receptionist. It would appear they were 'in on it' together because after that the driver did no more talking and made me negotiate with the receptionist who would not budge on $50 and insisted there is no way we found a cab for $30. You can imagine how stressful it is to be in a foreign place with only mediocre Spanish skills and to be put in a corner like this. In the end I did not feel confident I could find my own cab and make it to the airport on time so I paid the $50 but this really soured our experience. Now, the rest of the staff was absolutely fabulous. The maids played with my son and we had a great experience at breakfast.