Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by brian from Nevada, USA

Very Clean, Very Friendly Staff

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Clean room, Pleasant experience. Wifi from the lobby while waiting and in the room.
Cons: I found the tip envelope sort of tacky, (A small orange envelope that said tips on it.)
Location: Hiking to La Fortuna Waterfall just an $8 cab ride away. Reno's International golf course (15min walk). La Fortuna park (8min walk)
The Hotel was located in an easy to find location. Upon entering the lobby I was immediately greeted by a very friendly front desk agent. He spoke perfect English and was happy to hold my bags until the 2pm check-in time. He remembered my name when 2pm rolled around and escorted me to the room. The room was very simple but very clean and the AC made it comfortable. Internet worked well from the room and the amenities were as described. The AC did start leaking but was fixed within ten minutes. The desk did have water stains but was completely functional. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cactus from Comox

close to what you need

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: the staff and free breakfast plus 3 free computers to use
Cons: Safe is digital yet has a key plus a deposit so I did not use it. Not sure why a digitial safe would require a key
Location: book tours at reception. 2 restaurants with great reviews a block away
S[ent 3 nights here came by public bus from San Ramon. It is near the bus station . There are restaurants across the street and nearby. The young guy at the reception was very friendly. Breakfast was aplate of fruit with coffee and orange juice followed by scambled eggs and toast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terence from Newfoundland

Value for Money

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Cons: Really. What do you expect for this money? And whatever you expected, this hotel exceeds them.
Location: All the activities of the town are within a short walking distance. Don't miss the Good Earth Coffee.
It's not a handsome hotel, but the main lobby and eating area is open and pleasant. The breakfasts are good; the best of the group of hotels I stayed at. Not elaborate, but good fresh fruit, good coffee, and a variety of mains. The staff was excellent, the hotel is well located, the rooms are clean and spacious enough, the bathrooms exceptional. This was one of our least expensive hotels, but all 5 of us, in three rooms, liked it very much. Value for money. Sure, not The Savoy, but then, no more is the price. This was an exceptional and well-managed hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Economy room

Posted Feb 15, 2014
We reserved an economy room, and didn't realize that these rooms have no window on the outside. We also had trouble with the AC. Other than that, the room was very clean, we had a big bathroom, and above all, the staff was really, really friendly! I guess you just have to be aware of what economy rooms are!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Louis from UK

Nice hotel in great location!

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Great hotel, even better staff! Manrique & Mercedes on reception were fantastic!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EM from Costa Rica

OK Hotel in the heart of La Fortuna

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Service
Location: There is restaurants, bars, supermarkets, gas stations, etc, near by. The hotel is in the city center.
We stayed just one night, and we did not eat at the hotel. It is very easy to find, and the rooms are OK for the price. I would say that is not a hotel for big families, it is OK for young travellers and people not planning on staying most of their time at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great loc to walk around town/launch into tours

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: softer pillows - they were ok, but that is only minor adjustment I would make
Location: Use costa rica anywhere for your tour booking agent and stay here, all will be good. Zip lining, rapelling, hiking, rafting, you name it. We did !
Great hotel staff. Nice property. Extremely well maintained. Felt safe, secure, and convenient for everything we wanted to do in the Arenal area. No pool, or hot springs - but you can go on tours for that type of stuff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

It looks great on the inside...

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Cons: They need more hair dryers. Our room didn't have one for some reason. The front desk gave her one only to take it back the same day.
Location: There is a taco shop around the corner that has good food for a decent price. There is a laundry across the street that is ridiculously expensive.
This hotel was the best of the three we stayed at in Costa Rica. It had the newest furniture and was renovated it looked like. It did cost a little more than the hotels near it but it was worth it. A/C was ice cold. Breakfast was steaming hot eggs, papaya fruit, bananas, and pineapple served with coffee and orange juice. Breakfast is served from 7AM to 9AM but we usually showed up at 8:55AM to 9AM and still got served. The old lady that works at the hotel (maybe the owner?) was a bit hesitant to let me take breakfast up to my wife who was feeling ill but she eventually let it slide. Manrique is the front desk person you'll most likely be dealing with. He's super helpful and nice but he'll also try to sell the different adventure packages through the hotel. The rates from my research are not necessarily better than the street vendors. I found the best street vendor to be a guy named Chaly. He gives discounts and is very honest about what things are worth checking out by yourself without the guide/tour and what you should do with a tour guide. I ended up buying the ATV and ziplining packages for my wife and I from him. We checked out the hanging bridges and the waterfall by ourself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Violetta from Canada

great location in Arenal area

Posted Jan 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
convenient location, nice service, clean room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by MikeR from Vancouver

Superb value for money

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The quality of the hotel was far beyond what I was expecting for this amount of money. Very pleased.