Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for the tired traveller

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Excellent in all ways! Great staff, room, best breakfast on our trip, perfect location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very central in Fortuna

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The rooms were fine and breakfast reasonable. A bit pricey I thought for what it was.
Cons: It was noisy from traffic - I don't know how they would fix the windows to stop this though.
Location: There are plenty of restaurants and bars in the town within walking distance. We would have loved to visit the volcano but weather didn't permit.
This hotel is in the town of Fortuna so traffic noise at night was a little disturbing. We went for one night in the rainy season and were very disappointed to never catch sight of the volcano due to low cloud and rain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from Clarksburg, CA

Fixing my last posting

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms and very helpful and curteous staff. A nice view of the Arenal, too.
Cons: Breakfasts could have a bit more variety and it would be nice if they could find a way to reduce street noise.
Location: Easy walking distance to food. Easy driving distance to hiking at Arenal Park, Hanging Bridges, La Fortuna Waterfall, and many hot springs.
I previously submitted a review for this hotel, where I mistakenly submitted a review for another hotel in San Jose. Since the old review can't be removed, here are my thoughts on Hotel La Fortuna. The staff was great, and very helpful. Breakfasts were all very similar to one another, but tasty. Everything about the hotel was great, but being only on the second story, it was pretty loud from street noise. I actually slept much of the time with earplugs in because of the motorbikes and such driving about fairly late into the night and starting again early in the morning. Aside from that, this hotel was a great location. Walking distance from many good eateries, and easy driving distance to many good hiking spots. I would recommend it, but I would also advise getting a room as far above the street as possible or bringing some earplugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Clarksburg, CA

Good for what it is

Posted May 11, 2014
All we needed was somewhere near the airport to sleep post and per flight. Worked great for that. It was surprisingly quiet for so near the airport, and was nice and clean with a pretty comfy bed. I don't think I'd stay for a whole trip because it's not really near anything, but great for the tired traveler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tamara954 from Fort Lauderdale

Quality Hotel in Convenient Area

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel room and bathroom were very clean. Rate included breakfast which was a simple affair but very fresh and served quickly/efficiently by the staff. AC worked very well. Wifi worked well in public areas, but there was no wifi in the rooms. The front desk has a hair dryer that can be borrowed upon request. No fridge in room. Location is central La Fortuna and right around the corner from the main Park area where you can find various eateries. Lots of tour information is available in the lobby. Car parking is right next to the hotel in a small lot. Takes about 10 min leisurely drive on one curvey road to get to the public hot springs and/or Tabacon Hot Springs & Spa. A 15 min drive to Hanging Bridges on that same road. The front desk staff held our bags behind the counter for a half day after we checked out while we did a final tour before our flight. I would stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by TV from Los Angeles, CA

Great Value in a Good Area

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is centrally-located, near many shops and restaurants. The rooms were fine, nothing fancy but they had everything you'd need. Breakfast was adequate: bread, fruit, eggs, and coffee. Staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sherry Smalley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Susanne

great location

Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Located downtown La Fortuna, very nice breakfast, hotel is modern renovated, rooms have small balconies, we felt comfortable there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by brian from Nevada, USA

Very Clean, Very Friendly Staff

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Clean room, Pleasant experience. Wifi from the lobby while waiting and in the room.
Cons: I found the tip envelope sort of tacky, (A small orange envelope that said tips on it.)
Location: Hiking to La Fortuna Waterfall just an $8 cab ride away. Reno's International golf course (15min walk). La Fortuna park (8min walk)
The Hotel was located in an easy to find location. Upon entering the lobby I was immediately greeted by a very friendly front desk agent. He spoke perfect English and was happy to hold my bags until the 2pm check-in time. He remembered my name when 2pm rolled around and escorted me to the room. The room was very simple but very clean and the AC made it comfortable. Internet worked well from the room and the amenities were as described. The AC did start leaking but was fixed within ten minutes. The desk did have water stains but was completely functional. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.