Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for the tired traveller

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Excellent in all ways! Great staff, room, best breakfast on our trip, perfect location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very central in Fortuna

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The rooms were fine and breakfast reasonable. A bit pricey I thought for what it was.
Cons: It was noisy from traffic - I don't know how they would fix the windows to stop this though.
Location: There are plenty of restaurants and bars in the town within walking distance. We would have loved to visit the volcano but weather didn't permit.
This hotel is in the town of Fortuna so traffic noise at night was a little disturbing. We went for one night in the rainy season and were very disappointed to never catch sight of the volcano due to low cloud and rain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from Clarksburg, CA

Fixing my last posting

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms and very helpful and curteous staff. A nice view of the Arenal, too.
Cons: Breakfasts could have a bit more variety and it would be nice if they could find a way to reduce street noise.
Location: Easy walking distance to food. Easy driving distance to hiking at Arenal Park, Hanging Bridges, La Fortuna Waterfall, and many hot springs.
I previously submitted a review for this hotel, where I mistakenly submitted a review for another hotel in San Jose. Since the old review can't be removed, here are my thoughts on Hotel La Fortuna. The staff was great, and very helpful. Breakfasts were all very similar to one another, but tasty. Everything about the hotel was great, but being only on the second story, it was pretty loud from street noise. I actually slept much of the time with earplugs in because of the motorbikes and such driving about fairly late into the night and starting again early in the morning. Aside from that, this hotel was a great location. Walking distance from many good eateries, and easy driving distance to many good hiking spots. I would recommend it, but I would also advise getting a room as far above the street as possible or bringing some earplugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Clarksburg, CA

Good for what it is

Posted May 11, 2014
All we needed was somewhere near the airport to sleep post and per flight. Worked great for that. It was surprisingly quiet for so near the airport, and was nice and clean with a pretty comfy bed. I don't think I'd stay for a whole trip because it's not really near anything, but great for the tired traveler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by brian from Nevada, USA

Very Clean, Very Friendly Staff

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Clean room, Pleasant experience. Wifi from the lobby while waiting and in the room.
Cons: I found the tip envelope sort of tacky, (A small orange envelope that said tips on it.)
Location: Hiking to La Fortuna Waterfall just an $8 cab ride away. Reno's International golf course (15min walk). La Fortuna park (8min walk)
The Hotel was located in an easy to find location. Upon entering the lobby I was immediately greeted by a very friendly front desk agent. He spoke perfect English and was happy to hold my bags until the 2pm check-in time. He remembered my name when 2pm rolled around and escorted me to the room. The room was very simple but very clean and the AC made it comfortable. Internet worked well from the room and the amenities were as described. The AC did start leaking but was fixed within ten minutes. The desk did have water stains but was completely functional. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cactus from Comox

close to what you need

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: the staff and free breakfast plus 3 free computers to use
Cons: Safe is digital yet has a key plus a deposit so I did not use it. Not sure why a digitial safe would require a key
Location: book tours at reception. 2 restaurants with great reviews a block away
S[ent 3 nights here came by public bus from San Ramon. It is near the bus station . There are restaurants across the street and nearby. The young guy at the reception was very friendly. Breakfast was aplate of fruit with coffee and orange juice followed by scambled eggs and toast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terence from Newfoundland

Value for Money

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Cons: Really. What do you expect for this money? And whatever you expected, this hotel exceeds them.
Location: All the activities of the town are within a short walking distance. Don't miss the Good Earth Coffee.
It's not a handsome hotel, but the main lobby and eating area is open and pleasant. The breakfasts are good; the best of the group of hotels I stayed at. Not elaborate, but good fresh fruit, good coffee, and a variety of mains. The staff was excellent, the hotel is well located, the rooms are clean and spacious enough, the bathrooms exceptional. This was one of our least expensive hotels, but all 5 of us, in three rooms, liked it very much. Value for money. Sure, not The Savoy, but then, no more is the price. This was an exceptional and well-managed hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Economy room

Posted Feb 15, 2014
We reserved an economy room, and didn't realize that these rooms have no window on the outside. We also had trouble with the AC. Other than that, the room was very clean, we had a big bathroom, and above all, the staff was really, really friendly! I guess you just have to be aware of what economy rooms are!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Louis from UK

Nice hotel in great location!

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Great hotel, even better staff! Manrique & Mercedes on reception were fantastic!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EM from Costa Rica

OK Hotel in the heart of La Fortuna

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Service
Location: There is restaurants, bars, supermarkets, gas stations, etc, near by. The hotel is in the city center.
We stayed just one night, and we did not eat at the hotel. It is very easy to find, and the rooms are OK for the price. I would say that is not a hotel for big families, it is OK for young travellers and people not planning on staying most of their time at the hotel.