Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston texas

Great hotel and very nice staff

Posted Nov 8, 2014
hotel was clean, included a hot breakfast and the staff were very helpful. The bed was a bit hard but we went for only a few nights and it wasn't bad just s little different than the beds I'm accustomed to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by hdaddyfrom New York City

Quality for the $$$

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
La Fortuna hotel is convenient for those on a budget to stay in and around La Fortuna town itself. Ability to walk to any of the various restaurants and other services in town. The place itself is relatively clean and for the price you cannot complain. I got to see some of the other available options in town and think this is one of the better options. Those that want a bit more high end you will end up staying outside of town at one of the hot spring resorts perhaps but be prepared to pay or rent for car service to get into town if that is something you want to experience. Else... staying on those properties I assume you can pay for the conveniences like food and snacks etc. Hotel staff at La Fortuna are very nice and knowledgeable of all the offerings in town. They can suggest anything for any budget or mood and are always approachable even just to chat about that day's experiences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for the tired traveller

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Excellent in all ways! Great staff, room, best breakfast on our trip, perfect location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Very central in Fortuna

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The rooms were fine and breakfast reasonable. A bit pricey I thought for what it was.
Cons: It was noisy from traffic - I don't know how they would fix the windows to stop this though.
Location: There are plenty of restaurants and bars in the town within walking distance. We would have loved to visit the volcano but weather didn't permit.
This hotel is in the town of Fortuna so traffic noise at night was a little disturbing. We went for one night in the rainy season and were very disappointed to never catch sight of the volcano due to low cloud and rain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stevefrom Clarksburg, CA

Fixing my last posting

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms and very helpful and curteous staff. A nice view of the Arenal, too.
Cons: Breakfasts could have a bit more variety and it would be nice if they could find a way to reduce street noise.
Location: Easy walking distance to food. Easy driving distance to hiking at Arenal Park, Hanging Bridges, La Fortuna Waterfall, and many hot springs.
I previously submitted a review for this hotel, where I mistakenly submitted a review for another hotel in San Jose. Since the old review can't be removed, here are my thoughts on Hotel La Fortuna. The staff was great, and very helpful. Breakfasts were all very similar to one another, but tasty. Everything about the hotel was great, but being only on the second story, it was pretty loud from street noise. I actually slept much of the time with earplugs in because of the motorbikes and such driving about fairly late into the night and starting again early in the morning. Aside from that, this hotel was a great location. Walking distance from many good eateries, and easy driving distance to many good hiking spots. I would recommend it, but I would also advise getting a room as far above the street as possible or bringing some earplugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stevefrom Clarksburg, CA

Good for what it is

Posted May 11, 2014
All we needed was somewhere near the airport to sleep post and per flight. Worked great for that. It was surprisingly quiet for so near the airport, and was nice and clean with a pretty comfy bed. I don't think I'd stay for a whole trip because it's not really near anything, but great for the tired traveler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tamara954from Fort Lauderdale

Quality Hotel in Convenient Area

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel room and bathroom were very clean. Rate included breakfast which was a simple affair but very fresh and served quickly/efficiently by the staff. AC worked very well. Wifi worked well in public areas, but there was no wifi in the rooms. The front desk has a hair dryer that can be borrowed upon request. No fridge in room. Location is central La Fortuna and right around the corner from the main Park area where you can find various eateries. Lots of tour information is available in the lobby. Car parking is right next to the hotel in a small lot. Takes about 10 min leisurely drive on one curvey road to get to the public hot springs and/or Tabacon Hot Springs & Spa. A 15 min drive to Hanging Bridges on that same road. The front desk staff held our bags behind the counter for a half day after we checked out while we did a final tour before our flight. I would stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by TVfrom Los Angeles, CA

Great Value in a Good Area

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is centrally-located, near many shops and restaurants. The rooms were fine, nothing fancy but they had everything you'd need. Breakfast was adequate: bread, fruit, eggs, and coffee. Staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sherry Smalley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com