Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MATT K

Small hotel with good view

Posted May 26, 2014
Decent place with decent prices! Good deal in arenal costa rica
2 out of 5
by vicky from Palmdale, CA

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: Lots of walking around for shopping and restaurants. Lots of local tours you can join. hot springs resorts around the area are accessible
The only good thing about this place is its location. very close to everything. The staffs are very friendly. Amenities are not so good. Breakfast is horrible. We saw a very nice hostel at much lower price and at a very prime location. I will try the hostels along the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Toronto

Great location

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Great view of Arenal Volcano from comfortable second floor lounge.
Hotel is just off the main strip in La Fortuna. It's best selling point is the second floor lounge that affords an excellent view of Arenal Volcano---and if you are lucky--of the volcano's cone. Mornings are best times to catch a glimpse. A good breakfast is included in the room rate. Staff are helpful in arranging tours and taxis.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Playa Hermosa

Kind of OK Hotel in downtown Fortuna

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly and breakfast was OK.
Cons: Noise insulation towards the outside.
Location: Next to super market.
On workdays one can forget about sleeoing at 5 a.m. because of city noise like garbage trucks cllecting next door. Room was small and we felt cremped. TV screen close to ceiling was of iPad screen size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Location key to low cost vacation.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
This is a basic hotel. Understand that and it is perfect. Internet is fast. Location is right down town. A little noisy at times but get some ear plugs. Staff is very very nice. I will be back to region and will stay there again. Bring your own soap. Two great restaurants across street. Very safe everywhere in this town. Note to owner. Fix space/gap around doors and it is perfect.
3 out of 5
by Garrison from Long Island, NY

Busy Street

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Its geographic location makes its desirable to get to several good restaurants & easy drive to close must do attractions in Fortuna.
Cons: How about soap, tissues & clock in the room. Also be prepared, you cant flush toilet paper.
Location: Good location: food, volcano, zip line, ATV
Family owned & operated. Pleasant people. In the middle of town on busy street, expect to hear cars & trucks all night. We were booked for 5 nights. On day 3, we were asked to move to another hotel just down the street because they had a large group coming in & they claimed to overbook reservations because of computer error. They other hotel was newer, cleaner, quieter, had a pool & less money/night. Worked out OK.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: The location and the view of the volcano from the patio.
Location: The location in the center of town is great for going out to restaurants. Easy shuttle rides to activities.
The location in the center of La Fortuna was convenient for restaurants. The room of OK. It was very nice to sit on the patio with a view of the volcano.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sun seeker from Calgary, Canada

Nice central location

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Location, service and value.
Cons: Coffee
Location: Close to many restaurants and short taxi ride to hot springs.
This hotel gives you good value in a nice central location. The service was very good, nice staff. The front desk will book your tours or make phone calls. The breakfast was okay, the coffee was not up to the Costa Rican standard we had been enjoying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall Review

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Good breakfast and courteous staff.
Cons: Make room(at least the one I stayed in) noise proof.
Location: Its a small town and this hotel is located right next to the main square(park & church).
Pros: Hotel is very close to La Fortuna town and one block from the bus station. Lots of cheap local restaurants(sodas) within walk-able distance. Courteous staff. Car rental,mountain bike rental, scooter rental, tour agencies within few blocks. Supermarket next door. Hot and Cold water available. Close to La Fortuna waterfall. The staff was very helpful and arranged for car rental at a very short notice. Staff spoke good English. Cons: In the room I stayed, I could hear(pretty clearly) water dripping noise due to rains. Also people making noise on the main street near by. If you are a light sleeper you might want to consider it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

The hotel is three stories high with no elevator

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly staff.
Cons: Bigger bathroom. It's tiny. When you're on the toilet your knees can touch the wall depending on your height. Some renovation would be nice too.
Location: It's in a small town so everything is close just like any other hotel.
This was the first hotel we stayed at. The A/C is nice and cold. The room is a bit dated but that wasn't a big deal. It's next to a busy street as all other hotels are. We stayed for a total of three days before leaving for Manuel Antonio. Breakfast was OK. Served a little bit cold and not very impressive. It's family run and the staff is very nice.