Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Elana from Wyoming

Hotel Tacotal

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: The view of Arenal Volcano.
Cons: It really needs to be remodeled and updated. There is no way to drive to the bungalows and rooms. The pool was in disrepair.
Location: good view of Arenal. Arenal National Park is close by. There are hot springs close by.
We did not have a mattress in the room. We tried to sleep on the box springs. The window air conditioner was very noisy. The toilet squelled when flushed. We did not have hot water until a new propane gas tank was exchanged with the empty one. We wanted to shower at 6 am but had to wait until after 7 am when the proper staff was there. The whole place was run down. It needs some TLc. The lady at the front desk really pushed us to take a tour and to go to the hot springs. The front office was locked and chained during the night and until 7am. The manager seemed not to understand about a mattress and frankly, I don't think he cared. It was expensive for the condition.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice property between town and volcano

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall, the hotel was very nice and a great value, but I was surprised by how little they took advantage of the volcano view when laying out the buildings. We stayed in the hotel part, and the roof blocked most of our view, as it would for most of the other rooms. I stopped in front of several cabins and the view was partially obscured by the hotel building as well. There are some hotel rooms on the end and some cabins with a good view, and a good view from the garden area and lower pool. The volcano is frequently clouded at the top, so I wouldn't choose solely based on the views anyway. There is only one restaurant, a steakhouse, that is close by. It is a 10-min drive to town for more selection. No dinner served at hotel restaurant. Very nice grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fernanda from Connecticut

The view for the volcano!!

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was legit the best view! The volcano was right in the front. It was cloudy but that's not the hotels fault. It cleared and it was an amazing view!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel to spend the night

Posted Apr 15, 2014
It was a nice experience and a good hotel for the price. The main problem was a poor service and bad breakfast that came included. It was cold and again there was no good service during breakfast.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Misrepresented

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location along side the road is not marked all that well. Dirt bikes were running around next door and there is a herd of very noisy cows next door. The Hotel looks way better in the pictures but is not set up well at all and is rather old. The pools (2) are small and one is just silly, no bar as seen in the pics.The grounds have some nice plants but the cabin rooms need lots of work, ours had a broken lock and the curtains fell down for no reason, needs new mattresses too. Good view of the volcano. The restaurant was closed and there was a bar which was closed too, could not get any ice or drinks either, simply not impressed in the slightest...look further down the road, not worth a hundred bucks at all!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Minimalist hotel - 10 minute taxi to Fortuna

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly and prepared a nice, fresh breakfast inluded with the cost of the room each day.
Cons: Just about everything from additional lounge chairs to room amenities such as a refrigerator and more than 2 towels and 2 hangers.
Location: Nothing within walking distance. Fortuna was a $10 cab ride and not much in Fortuna. The waterfall was about 20 minutes away - pretty.
The staf was very pleasant and friendly. Furnishings were minimal - no clock or phone in the room. The pool was very small, the water was cold and it only had 3 lounge chairs. There was nothing to do near the hotel and no place to walk to. There are probably better options for the same price closer to anything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by S

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Angela Spencer from Jacksonville, FL

3 Nights at Arenal Volcano

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is at the base of Arenal Volcano. Great view! We stayed in a European Style room. This is a small building, not connected to others. Very clean, beds were comfortable and breakfast was more than continental and very good. Located not far from most of the main hot springs in the area. Appears that most, if not all, the touring buses stop here to pick up scheduled tours. Also, the steak house across the street was outstanding! I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by irena from toronto

Friendly staff and close to all attractions

Posted Feb 23, 2014
We did not get the room at the hotel that we booked for the first 2 nights of our 4 nights. They put us at a hotel across from them. Very inconvenience for us and the hotel has no hot water
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minneapolis, mn

Close to attractions

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Staff very friendly and helpful, beautiful view, close to attractions, quiet, cows in pasture. Hanging bridges and waterfall were fun without guide needed. Paved roads much better than reputation. Cons: Reservation was incorrect, poor mattress quality, weakest shower pressure EVER, minimal amenities...pool bar and restaurant not open , etc.