Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Hotel

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Nice Hotel and great Location.
Location: Walking distant from restaurants and grocery store.
We enjoyed our stay, employees where very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Esterillos Oeste CR

Nice hotel, staff and restaurant needs some work

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Comfy bed, beautiful gardens, quiet
Cons: Front desk staff, concierge, restaurant (menu, food, pricing)
We stayed at Magic Mountain for 2 days of our trip to the Lake Arenal area. Great location - near La Fortuna for dining and shops and close to the hot springs resorts, short drive to park entrance and the lake. Safe, clean, quiet area. Hotel check-in was a huge disappointment. I book a room for 2 adults and 1 child on Expedia - pre-paid. Upon check-in, I was told I had paid for only 2 guests and that I would need to pay for the 3rd upon check-out, and she could only tell me it would "be around $20-$30". I showed her my Expedia email confirmation later on showing I had paid and she tried to argue with me that Expedia didn't charge enough - not my problem. The other issue was with the concierge guy. He constantly tried to sell us tours. Not only were they over-priced, but they didn't even offer a lot of what is available - only the tours they get kick-backs for. Book them online yourself or go to one of the MANY independent tour kiosks available. The room itself was comfortable. Great beds, comfortable pillows, cold AC. We had to ask for enough towels for 3 people and we had to kill a roach. Otherwise, no complaints about the room. Breakfast was included and was so-so. We didn't dine at the restaurant because of the very limited and expensive menu options. I'd recommend staying here, but make sure you have your confirmation and DON'T book tours here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sergey from москва

отзыв

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
Небольшой, уютный отель. Удачное расположение,ориентирован таким образом, что вид из всех номеров на гору Арена. Рядом горячие источники, парк Арена. Имеется парковка для автомобиля. В целом приятное впечатление от пребывания в отеле.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Only stayed here briefly, overnight to sleep, but the staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable. The pool and patio looked inviting but we were off for other adventures early in the morning. The buffet breakfast was good. Location in La Fortuna was also good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ELIZABETH from Turrialba. Costa Rica.

Hotel recomendado

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
Es un hotel muy agradable, limpio y con buena ubicación.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Schweiz

Tolles Hotel mit Blick auf den Vulkan Arenal

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Sauberes Zimmer mit schönem Ausblick, reichhaltiges Frühstücksbuffet, gratis Parkplätze, freundliches Personal. Wifi hat im Zimmer nicht funktioniert. Würden das Hotel sofort wieder buchen. Top Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Krisann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jose Ernesto from Heredia

No era lo q esperaba

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
En general no fue lo q esperaba para el precio q paguè.El desayuno incluido era escaso y carente de sabor,no habia variedad.Es muy ruidoso no apto para quedarse a descansar.Ademàs el restaurante en la noche permanece vacìo por lo q hace pensar q algo sucede.No lo recomendarìa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, La.

Great Hotel Nest to the Arenal Volcano

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Everything....
Cons: Nothing noted
Location: Very centrally located. Reason we picked it.
All aspects of this Hotel were above average. Probably the closest hotel to the Arenal Volcano. Staff were all great with no issues. We had the complimentary Breakfast Buffet which was excellent and as about as close as you can get to an U.S. style food with Costa Rican flair. Swim up bar was very nice. We were very pleased with everything.