Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lindsay from Wisconsin

Great Hotel and Hot Spring Pools

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Location: Nice central location for all of our activities
Loved our stay. Staff was very helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Great view of the volcano. Hot spring pool and swim up bar as well as the separate hot spring jacuzzis were wonderful. And dinner at the restaurant on property was excellent- the best food we had on the trip!! Continental breakfast was also very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Very nice and clean hotel with great view of the volcano. The breakfast is included and exceeding the expectations. The only drawback that we experienced: there is not enough towels for the pool in the evenings and the staff promises to send some more, but it never happens. Also some Jacuzzis do not work well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall great hotel with a few issues

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Beautiful rooms, excellent breakfast (minus the service), excellent concierge (Edson)
Cons: The service in the restaurant is very poor, and the waitstaff's attitudes early in the morning were not how I wanted to start my day
Location: The town of La Fortuna is nearby and has many excellent sodas to eat in
We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, and would say it was overall an excellent experience with very few negatives. We used the hotel's transportation to and from San Jose Airport, which was excellent and without any headaches. The front desk staff was very pleasant for the most part, and we only had one encounter that was unpleasant, although that same individual was fine in our other encounters. Our room was magnificent, with a great design, spacious and comfortable bed, beautiful views of the volcano, two beautiful balconies, and an amazing jacuzzi. The room was spotless for our entire stay. We had some issues with one of the blinds falling down, but the maintenance staff addressed it immediately, and we had no issues afterwards. The only negative experience we had was with the restaurant staff. The included breakfast buffet, while delicious, was marred by the poor attitudes and service provided by the waitstaff. We had to make multiple requests for coffee cups and orange juice, and never seemed to have a coffee spoon at our table. We were never offered refills on our drinks either. I had a waiter look straight at me when I tried to flag him down, stop as if he was going to approach me, and then walk away, never to return. On our last morning, we spent twenty minutes waiting for coffee after requesting it, and then only had 1 cup of coffee brought out for the two of us. If you ignore the service at breakfast, the experience was amazing and I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by R.C. ROBBINS from PALM BEACH, FLORIDA

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
A PLEASANT EXPERIENCE. OUTSTANDING STAFF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from Reno, Nevada

Nice hotel, very good food, excellent hot pools.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Everything. Very good buffet breakfast with eggs, bacon, fruit and pastries comes included with the room.
Cons: The beef was tough by USA standards, as is true for all Costa Rican beef. Free range cattle are never as tender as USA feed-lot, grain-fed beef.
Location: Many Arenal volcano area attractions.
The entire hotel and in particular our room were very clean and well maintained. The bed was quite comfortable, similar to our Temurpedic at home. Food and drinks were very good, with excellent service. The hot pools were drained and cleaned every other night, starting at 1 am. The view from the balcony is awesome. A family of tame Iguanas (largest about 15 pounds / 7 kg) roam the grounds, eating bugs and bananas from the hands of the staff. Fun to watch while lounging in the many hot jetted tubs. Prices are expensive, but you get what you pay for. Locals thought this is the nicest hotel in Costa Rica. Almost new - about 6 years old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic experience!

Posted Mar 3, 2014
I really enjoyed my stay here. From the wonderful atmosphere, to the well appointed rooms, this was a great choice for me. I even liked their Caribbean music they played by the outdoor oasis - yes, an oasis, not just pools! The staff went out of their way to make my stay fantastic, they helped me book tours, get a private transfer to the airport, and answered all my questions! I would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cristina from Vancouver BC

Amazing hotel, great views of volcano

Posted Feb 16, 2014
All rooms have a view of the volcano. Very clean hotel, friendly staff I can't say enough good things about it. Stayed 3 nights there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yvette from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel close to Arenal Volcano & hotsprings

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Friendly staff, good location. Close to hotsprings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Canada

Didn't even want to leave the hotel to explore

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: pool and facilities.
Cons: Wish the volcano didnt have clouds around it all the time. The hotel doesn't really need improvement.
Location: There is only one decent club in all of fortuna, and it is about 100m from the hotel, the music there wasn't very good though.
This hotel has to be one of the best in all of fortuna. The view of the volcano was fantastic, the pool bar is awesome + the water is nice and warm. There are also several other temperature variant pools and a sauna. The hotel itself is very high end. The room is super clean, the beds are comfy, and the bathroom is nice. I would definitely re-visit this hotel if i got the chance.