Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. Hotel is the best in the area and service and staff is good. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, nice bathrroom. Would highly recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by Jean Paul from san jose

profiteering

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Not a good feel. Value was off. Food price ratio was aweful. Every chance they had to charge they took. That 12$ beer in minibar days are long over. One morning we mysteriously found our door open? We were almost got mocked for asking. Not happy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by b from san francisco

Nice but overpriced

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Honestly this hotel is really nice, especially for being out in almost in the middle of nowhere, but I wouldn't come back at their rates. Really there is no point in paying so much for this hotel since you will be out most of the day. There were no young people hanging out either, mostly old rich white ppl chillin out. The rooms are clean and nice, the pool is really clean, and the breakfast buffet is dope. For me the best part of the hotel was the view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dianne from Raleigh, NC

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Overall, this was a nice hotel. I was a little skeptical when we first drove up because the outside is not very pretty but inside was very nice and the rooms were very well kept. Great view of the volcano and close enough that it is still in the city but away from the noise. Also, the shower is awesome. Very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Royal!!!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
This hotel is awesome! The rooms are comfortable and clean. The pools an spas are just perfect after a day of hiking! The breakfast buffet is very good with a lot of fresh fruits!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lindsay from Wisconsin

Great Hotel and Hot Spring Pools

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Location: Nice central location for all of our activities
Loved our stay. Staff was very helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Great view of the volcano. Hot spring pool and swim up bar as well as the separate hot spring jacuzzis were wonderful. And dinner at the restaurant on property was excellent- the best food we had on the trip!! Continental breakfast was also very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Very nice and clean hotel with great view of the volcano. The breakfast is included and exceeding the expectations. The only drawback that we experienced: there is not enough towels for the pool in the evenings and the staff promises to send some more, but it never happens. Also some Jacuzzis do not work well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall great hotel with a few issues

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Beautiful rooms, excellent breakfast (minus the service), excellent concierge (Edson)
Cons: The service in the restaurant is very poor, and the waitstaff's attitudes early in the morning were not how I wanted to start my day
Location: The town of La Fortuna is nearby and has many excellent sodas to eat in
We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, and would say it was overall an excellent experience with very few negatives. We used the hotel's transportation to and from San Jose Airport, which was excellent and without any headaches. The front desk staff was very pleasant for the most part, and we only had one encounter that was unpleasant, although that same individual was fine in our other encounters. Our room was magnificent, with a great design, spacious and comfortable bed, beautiful views of the volcano, two beautiful balconies, and an amazing jacuzzi. The room was spotless for our entire stay. We had some issues with one of the blinds falling down, but the maintenance staff addressed it immediately, and we had no issues afterwards. The only negative experience we had was with the restaurant staff. The included breakfast buffet, while delicious, was marred by the poor attitudes and service provided by the waitstaff. We had to make multiple requests for coffee cups and orange juice, and never seemed to have a coffee spoon at our table. We were never offered refills on our drinks either. I had a waiter look straight at me when I tried to flag him down, stop as if he was going to approach me, and then walk away, never to return. On our last morning, we spent twenty minutes waiting for coffee after requesting it, and then only had 1 cup of coffee brought out for the two of us. If you ignore the service at breakfast, the experience was amazing and I would recommend this hotel.