Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Rude & Slow Restaurant Staff

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: The room
Cons: The Restaurant Staff
Location: Down a long steep road, a it out of town, close to the handing bridges.
It's a shame to give the entire place a bad rating, because really it was the Restaurant who let them down. It's a very open layout resort, so to get to our room we had a guy in a golf kart drive us up a steep hill and around a few corners to get there. Had there not been fog, there would have been a great view of the Volcano. The room was nice, very pretty, and comfortable with rocking chairs on the porch, but there was no information book to tell us what time the restaurant, pool and bar etc was open/closed so we just had to remember from what we were told or call reception and ask. We went to the restaurant for dinner, it was very confusing. There was no one to greet us and tell us where to sit or anything & the person we saw just kept walking so we picked a table and told someone we were there. We were bought nice looking menus & after a while received water & our order was taken. We waited a while for our wine & didn't ask for it until we saw another couple come in after us and receive their drinks before us. When the waiter bought them over he just plonked them on the table with a bad look on his face and walked off. It's a pretty expensive menu, but the food was really yummy. We inquired about an early breakfast one morning as we were leaving before they opened. They tried to charge us an extra $25 for it, what we got was over ripe fruit, horrible sandwiches & corn flakes. I called reception and refused to pay for it. After a word to the manger they honored it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Nice resort with great views. Friendly staff, lots of wildlife on grounds. Not quite as close to town and activities as other resorts but overall experience was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Great Mountain Lodge!

Posted Jul 15, 2015
We had a great time! When the clouds cleared, we had a spectacular view of the volcano. Also, there are numerous trails on the property for a great hike...although because of rain (and mud) we didn't get to do then all. Each night you can go to sleep listening to the sounds of the jungle outside, which is pretty awesome. And, if you don't mind a slightly steep hike, the hotel is walking distance from the Mistico Hanging Bridges, which is a MUST while you're there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MInneapolis

Absolutely Amazing!

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff and the amazing location in the middle of the rainforest.
Location: So many things! Night walk, hanging bridges, river kayaking, zip lining, cave tour, whitewater rafting, and more!
Hands down the friendliest staff! Everyone was genuinely nice and helpful. The front desk staff was always quick to help us book our activities and answer any questions that we had. The restaurant and bar staff was great too. The best part about this resort is that it's located about 20 minutes away from the La Fortuna and is in the middle of the rainforest. I loved wandering around the long trail during the day and then falling asleep to the sounds of the rainforest at night. I only went into town one night to watch the women's world cup game...otherwise, I wouldn't have left the resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Resort and friendly staff!

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Cons: Room was musty from not running the air
Had great views and was not to far out of town. The staff where awesome and vary helpful. Great hiking in the area and close to lake and hanging bridges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Stunning hotel set amidst the rainforest

Posted Jul 8, 2015
I booked 3 nights at this hotel with my husband and wish we had stayed a week. Property is right in the rainforest, saw wildlife everyday on the grounds, the room was amazing (spacious, very clean) and the staff were wonderful. There's so much to do in the area, especially for outdoor adventure lovers! We'll definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great hotel in Arenal

Posted Jun 16, 2015
We had a wonderful stay at the lost iguana. can't wait to comeback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place but bring pillows

Posted May 12, 2015
Cons: the beds and pillows were awful
Location: zip line, fishing, warm water springs
Awesome place. by far the best view anywhere. Jungle was exceptional. The wildlife was everywhere. Great photo opportunity. The staff was by far the most helpful I've ever encountered. Any tours you wanted picked you up there. Just a great hideaway and highly recommend. My only comments are: The beds are terrible. Like sleeping on a plank of wood. our backs hurt after two days. hopefully they fix this. My only complaint. also if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. We enjoyed the nighttime noises from the porch but if you are a light sleeper, it may bother you. I wouldn't want to not have it as so great to hear but just an fYI for travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Awesome View of Arenal Volcano!

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The view from our balcony and the hotel staff.
Location: There are many things to do while visiting this area of Costa Rica. We enjoyed La Fortuna waterfall, Hanging Bridges, Zip Line w/Sky Trek, and Tabacon
This was our first trip to Costa Rica. My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Lost Iguana Resort and were extremely impressed with the amenities. The hotel staff were courteous, friendly and very helpful answering our questions about things to do during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Angela from Santa Monica, California

My favorite hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing 3 night stay on my own. The room was fabulous! I splurged for the jacuzzi tub and it was well worth it! The grounds of this hotel are amazing...you are right in the jungle. Make sure to visit the spa too. The sauna is included in the room rate.