Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Great Mountain Lodge!

Posted Jul 15, 2015
We had a great time! When the clouds cleared, we had a spectacular view of the volcano. Also, there are numerous trails on the property for a great hike...although because of rain (and mud) we didn't get to do then all. Each night you can go to sleep listening to the sounds of the jungle outside, which is pretty awesome. And, if you don't mind a slightly steep hike, the hotel is walking distance from the Mistico Hanging Bridges, which is a MUST while you're there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MInneapolis

Absolutely Amazing!

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff and the amazing location in the middle of the rainforest.
Location: So many things! Night walk, hanging bridges, river kayaking, zip lining, cave tour, whitewater rafting, and more!
Hands down the friendliest staff! Everyone was genuinely nice and helpful. The front desk staff was always quick to help us book our activities and answer any questions that we had. The restaurant and bar staff was great too. The best part about this resort is that it's located about 20 minutes away from the La Fortuna and is in the middle of the rainforest. I loved wandering around the long trail during the day and then falling asleep to the sounds of the rainforest at night. I only went into town one night to watch the women's world cup game...otherwise, I wouldn't have left the resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Resort and friendly staff!

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Cons: Room was musty from not running the air
Had great views and was not to far out of town. The staff where awesome and vary helpful. Great hiking in the area and close to lake and hanging bridges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Stunning hotel set amidst the rainforest

Posted Jul 8, 2015
I booked 3 nights at this hotel with my husband and wish we had stayed a week. Property is right in the rainforest, saw wildlife everyday on the grounds, the room was amazing (spacious, very clean) and the staff were wonderful. There's so much to do in the area, especially for outdoor adventure lovers! We'll definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great hotel in Arenal

Posted Jun 16, 2015
We had a wonderful stay at the lost iguana. can't wait to comeback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place but bring pillows

Posted May 12, 2015
Cons: the beds and pillows were awful
Location: zip line, fishing, warm water springs
Awesome place. by far the best view anywhere. Jungle was exceptional. The wildlife was everywhere. Great photo opportunity. The staff was by far the most helpful I've ever encountered. Any tours you wanted picked you up there. Just a great hideaway and highly recommend. My only comments are: The beds are terrible. Like sleeping on a plank of wood. our backs hurt after two days. hopefully they fix this. My only complaint. also if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. We enjoyed the nighttime noises from the porch but if you are a light sleeper, it may bother you. I wouldn't want to not have it as so great to hear but just an fYI for travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Awesome View of Arenal Volcano!

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The view from our balcony and the hotel staff.
Location: There are many things to do while visiting this area of Costa Rica. We enjoyed La Fortuna waterfall, Hanging Bridges, Zip Line w/Sky Trek, and Tabacon
This was our first trip to Costa Rica. My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Lost Iguana Resort and were extremely impressed with the amenities. The hotel staff were courteous, friendly and very helpful answering our questions about things to do during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reston, VA

Location, Location, Location

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The location - being located directly in the rainforest was just amazing. And the staff... can't say enough about the wonderful staff.
Cons: Nothing really... perhaps netting over the bed, in case you wanted to keep the doors open more often.
Location: Again, the location is in the rainforest is the hotel's best asset. Many things to do around the area - hiking, kayaking, canyoning, rafting, etc.
If you are going to Costa Rica to see the rainforest, and the natural beauty of Costa Rica, this is the hotel for you. It is a little more out of the way than some of the other hotels in the Arenal area, but you are in the rainforest with so much wildlife, and flora around. All of the units face the Arenal volcano, which if you can imagine stepping out on your patio, and your view is of the forest, hummingbirds, parrots, and in the distance, sometimes clear but sometimes shrouded in fog or clouds, a 4,000 foot volcano. It is breathtaking. The hotel is on a hill within the forest, with the reception area, and restaurant at the bottom, and the cabins at the middle and top of the hill, so it can be a hike if you room is toward the top (which ours was), but the overall effect of the hotel's location cannot be denied. The hotel staff were just great, especially at reception, and very helpful with booking tours, hikes, etc. We had a luxury king room with the outside shower, and a jacuzzi - it was heaven... and very large. The double glass doors open to the large patio (which included the jacuzzi), and from there you can sit and just take in the great view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Doniphan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Very nice hotel in tropical area. Right in the middle of forest. Our room was in front of areneal volcano. Forest, view, bird sound was great.