Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Saurav from Washington, DC

Amazing choice - but need a car

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Views and rooms
Cons: Should maybe make clear that it's far from La fortuna, but that's evident if you look at a map.
This was a fantastic choice in the Arenal area: great views of the volcano, amazing room, great food and facilities, helpful staff. Only issue for some is that you need to have a rental car to get there easily; it is not close to La Fortuna and it would be tough to get to without a car. Bonus: it is right next to the Arenal Hanging Bridges (which is worth a visit).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and Boring

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: the view
Cons: rip off on all the tours
Location: Super great hiking trails, nobody uses them 'cause everyone that stays here is fat and lazy.
Great view, pretty ground. Boring. Nothing to do. Restaurant and bar have no flair. They over charge all the daytrips at the front desk and only recommend things they can get paid for. Very steep roads (not a complaint, just be advised if you're driving).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Area

Posted Mar 24, 2014
The hotel is located in the middle of the rainforest. There are excellent trails around the hotel, that take you inside the primary jungle. The hotel staff was excellent, and made arrangements for all our tours. The restaurant staff was fantastic, and they really went out of their way to make sure your were pleased. This hotel is a must for nature lovers. We saw so many toucans, lizards, snakes, and a coati on hotel property. Our room had an excellent view of Arenal Volcano, and was a very comfortable and clean room. The beds were amazing!! My kids were so sad to leave this resort! I would highly recommend to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shane from Ontario, Canada

Neat experience at hotel nestled in the rainforest

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Free hiking trails through the rainforest, and view of nature while sitting on rocking chairs on the balcony was amazing!
Cons: Wi-fi in the rooms would be nice.
Location: Free hiking trails through the rainforest behind the hotel. Close to Arenal lake and volcano, hot springs, waterfalls, zip-lining, etc.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Lost Iguana. The staff was very friendly, and our room was clean and cozy. Bathroom was clean, with large standup shower with good pressure and hot water. View from room was amazing, felt like you were sitting right in the rainforest! The sounds of birds, frogs etc really came alive at night, and sitting on our rocking chairs on our balcony had humming birds, fire flies, bats, etc all flying right in front of us, and no pesky mosquitos like we get back in Canada! Overall was an awesome nature experience! Early in the morning we hiked for nearly two hours on the trails behind the hotel and heard howler monkeys and different kinds of birds in the trees. Didn't see another person the entire hike. Would definitely recommend this hotel to nature lovers, and we will stay at this hotel again next time we visit the Arenal area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Incredible views

Posted Mar 18, 2014
We absolutely loved this resort , very appropriate for a Costa Rican experience. Not far from anything,very clean,great service. Only 2 small negative reviews, although we slept like babies beds are a pinch hard and bar/restaurant should close later than 930pm. But we would definately recommend and stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lori from Delaware

Great place for being close to nature.

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Cons: Bar
Arrived on a Wednesday after being at the Riu Guanacaste for 4 nights. Took 3 hours to drive there and we were greeted warmly and with a welcome cold tropical juice. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room (#33) was very nice and the view of the Arenal Volcano amazing. It was completely different than the Riu, but that's what we were looking for, to be right there in the Rainforest. Went to the pool/bar and although it was nice this is my only complaint. The bar, which was not busy, only had one bartender and he didn't seem to be very enthusiastic and the prices were very expensive. Even the next few nights were similar, so we ended up going to liquor store and buying our own and taking it to the pool. That said the place is nicely located to lots of stuff to do. The Hanging Bridges were great and zip-lining at the Sky Trek and Tram was awesome, both of which we booked at the hotel. Free breakfast at the hotel was good especially the made-to-order omlets. We saw lots of wildlife and birds while hiking right on the hotel property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from Charlotte, NC

Exceptional facility

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: Location, service, room decorum, outdoor/private shower
Location: Mount Arenal - great hiking, zipline experince
An amazing place, with even better service This hotel provides you with exceptional value
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and great service

Posted Mar 1, 2014
This a great hotel with a magnificent view of the volcano and the forest. You will see different type of animals and will be amazed by how Ticos make a great effort to make you feel home. Kudos to the staff, they were all considerate and friendly. Breakfast was awesome. Thanks lost iguana for a wonderful vacation time. Great job!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Green Bay

An outstanding setting

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: The setting was just plain gorgeous. Set on the side of a big hill overlooking the Arenal volcano the views were outstanding from everywhere.
Cons: Wireless broadband could be a little better but was adequate.
Location: You are right in the area of the hanging bridges so its only a short drive and not far from zip-lining and many other activities.
Wonderful staff who are very helpful. We know almost no Spanish and that was never an issue here. Everyone goes out of their way to make you feel very comfortable. A special thanks to Luis (bartender) for creating an outstanding drink for us. He kept working on the blending of the three ingredients until he had it just right. Then on the day we left (2:30 am), they put together a breakfast to go and arranged for someone to pick us up for the 2.5 - 3 hour drive to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing view of the volcano

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Amazing place to stay if you want to be in the jungle and peaceful area.