Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Modesto CA USA

Hidden gem.

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Beautiful, well maintained grounds. Staff was extremely accommodating. Hotel restaurant food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Great location

Posted Nov 30, 2014
We really liked our stay at the mountain paradise. The staff was extremely friendly. But overall it is understaffed for the facility. We couldn't have asked to be any closer to all the attractions we were going to see and do. It could use some sprucing up. And did seem like they were trying to do their best. We enjoyed the rain forest feel that we got overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Eco friendly hotel. Close to town

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Hotel is in the rainforest. Great hotel for getting close to nature. Lots of bugs but to be expected for the location. I would recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Exceeded our expectations!

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: I loved everything from the hotel! The view, service, food, and clean room service.
Cons: We had a small misunderstanding with one of our tours because the information on the booklet was wrong, but the problem was handled well.
Location: The location was perfect for me. It was close to La Fortuna, but far enough to feel privacy without feeling secluded like the resorts up the hill.
Our stay in the hotel was everything we could of asked for. The room was beautiful, but the best thing was the view of the volcano from our patio. I loved how I could just sit in the patio and enjoyed the sight of not only the volcano, but of the beautiful plants, flowers, and exotic birds in the hotel. The staff was extremely nice and willing to help. When we arrived we were welcomed with cold towels and drinks. The receptionist helped us book our tours and our shuttle. The restaurant breakfast was really delicious, and servers were so nice. The room was always cleane, and our our cleaning lady kept us amused with different towel figures. The location was great because it was close to the city, but felt remote and private. Our private tours consisted of water rafting, hanging trail, waterfall visit, and Baldi spring visit. The tours included transportation, knowledgeable guides, food, and snacks. It was more than I expected, and can't wait to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom California

Great stay w/lush tropical volcano views

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Great rooms, staff and grounds!
Cons: Better food variety at breakfast, but it wasn't bad
Location: Near to volcano, many excursions (ziplines, horse back riding, hiking, rappellling, etc.) We loved the Baldi spa nearby!
Great big room w/great big bed. Bathroom fun, w/waterfall shower and living plants! All rooms have at least a private patio w/chairs, hot tub (or pool), and great volcano views surrounded by beautiful plants. Only downside was occasional bugs on floor, but that's too be expected given natural surroundings and we did leave the sliding doors open to enjoy the outside views and air. Staff greeted us by name w/drinks. Always had positive experience w/all staff and pool was fun w/swim up bar. food at the restaurant was average to good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Josefrom Florida

Volcan Arenal Stay.

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was very nice it could use a closet or a place to put your belongings. And a small coffee maker would had mad the place perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Heatherfrom Huntington Beach, Ca

Mountain Paradise

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The resort was nice and quaint. The morning breakfast was wonderful, but wouldn't recomend either restaurant for dinner. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall it was a great expierence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

Comfortable Mountain Hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The rooms are very nicely done with a great rock waterfall shower. Nice large comfortable bed too.
Cons: There was a leak under the bathroom sink and also the toilet was running the entire time.
Location: Close to La Fortuna. Don Rufino is a fabulous restaurant! Also nice to spend the day at The Springs.
The hotel was a little hard to find as there is only one sign and it appears to be a billboard, but it is actually the entrance to the hotel. It would be helpful if they would also put an arrow on the sign. The location is very good and the setting is nice. We paid for a Premium room and they took us to a lesser room. We were not aware of this but my husband complained as the room location was not good and the guy told us it was a Jr. Suite. I think told him I paid for a Premium Suite so he left to go check at the main building. About 30 minutes later he returned and said yes I was right. So they moved us to a nicer room and great location. The room was not ready so we put on our suits and went to the pool for a couple of hours. The restaurant was ok, not great, not bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tampa

Truly a paradise

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Everything far exceeded my expectations.
Cons: Hotter water in part of the pool
Location: Make sure you do the zipline on the road past Arenal. It is by far the best.
This hotel far exceeded my expectations. The room was magnificent. A giant framed bed. Every night towels formed in a different shape decorating the bed. The bathroom had two showeres. One with a rainfall head and one spectacular rock shower with the water coming out like a waterfall. Finally, a private outdoor jacuzzi with view of the Arenal volcano. The dining facility was open air, beautiful and no bugs. The staff were friendly and helpful in selecting the best hot springs, zip line and rappelling adventures.