Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Granite Falls, WA

Great hotel- WIFI only in common areas.

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: I would go back for the view and the room but don't expect much pampering from the staff.
The staff were not overly friendly upon checking in. They did not go out of there way to provide any information about the hotel beyond showing us where our rooms were and telling us that the coffee pot was free but the coffee to brew it was $3 a pack. We had to wait for about 30 min before someone could help us with out locks. Turns out we didn't have a key for our room on the key ring given. Also It has WIFI but only in common areas not in rooms. The room was amazing. We had the mid grade suite. Had a room with 2 twin beds and a separate bath that was amazing. The master had a king size bed with a master bath that was probably the nicest bathroom I have been in. Perfect feel for the rainforest effect. it also had a small kitchen. However the fridge was a wine fridge so only wine would fit. Went to the pool and was told to check out towels we had to put a deposit of $20 each for towels at the front desk. Not sure why because these towels are economy towels and nothing someone would steal. We just felt like as guest we had inconvenienced the staff and they tried to get every penny out of us. The breakfast was good but the restaurant was pricey $25-30 for average American dishes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kellyfrom Charleston, SC

Four Star Resort trying to get Five Star Revenue!

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed 3 days prior to our cruise out of Port Caldera. Overall, staying at this property was a good choice. However, after we arrived we discovered that the New Year's Eve dinner of $70 USD per person was "mandatory". However, the dinner was a horrible experience. The food was buffet style and mostly gone by our 8:00pm reservation and we had to get up three or four times to get someone to service our table. When we tried to speak to the hotel manager, he had little to stay and did not want to discuss it. We also found a discrepancy as far as the shuttle to a local tour. They wanted to charge us to go next door to the thermals and in the room it said it was complimentary. They did remedy this after we showed them the difference. The hotel restaurant was very nice and all the staff (other than management) was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Peninnahfrom Nairobi, Kenya

Great place to vacation and unwind.

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels
Great place to stay, food was great and rooms are beautiful. Meticulous grounds too. A little pricey but good value. Wifi in the rooms a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver bc

Spacious

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Room, breakfast
Cons: Wifi Better trained staff
Staff are just ok Location is a but isolated. Grounds are great. Room is large and breakfast is excellent. No wifi in rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Out for the $$$

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Setting. Warm pool.
Cons: Terrible staff. Money money money. Damp rooms. insanely overpriced food - yet their $24 round trip shuttle to town often means you have little choice.
Location: Don't stay this far out of La Fortuna. It seemed like a good idea but really not worth it. Stay im town where everything is organised.
never before have I been at a place that milks you for every penny. Every aspect of this place is set up to get money from you. Dishonest staff (different prices quoted based on who asks, different groups etc. ). Shame as setting is nice - although incredibly damp, rooms and all. Do not stay here. We stayed also at Lavas Tacotal which was cheaper, cleaner, 3 min away, and far FAR nicer people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom LA, California

Amazing view

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: location and view... saw so much wildlife just sitting in patio.
Cons: updating rooms a bit and definitely the wifi
Location: Very close to town.... $10-12 taxi ride.
Great hotel at a great location. Rooms need a bit updating and wifi was a hit or miss. Loved our hot tub in the patio but wish the water was warmer. Great for couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Piedmont, CA

Great hotel for the town of Fortuna

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Liked the hotel, though a little dated in areas. Offered a lot for the money (pool, spacious rooms, fantastic breakfast)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

La Fortunia, Costa Rica

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Location was great, however as with everywhere in CR, the signage to the location wasn't the best, they had a billboard, but it faced one way.
Cons: signage facing both directions.
Location: Location was perfecto, just in front of the volcano. beautiful location in the rain forest
This is definitely a tourist location and a must see if you plan to visit this area,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not excellent but pretty good

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels
I stayed here for two nights as part of my honeymoon trip to Costa Rica. The room was very nice and clean. The bathroom was very cool looking with the waterfall shower along with a normal shower. I do have some complaints about it though. The floor in the bathroom when wet (which got really wet when using the waterfall shower since there are no walls or curtains) would get very sticky. So we laid a bunch of towels down to walk on in the bathroom so that our feet would not get too sticky. Also, the hot water would only last a couple minutes when using the waterfall shower, which was a little disappointing. The view to the volcano would have been perfect if it was not so foggy (we never saw the volcano until we were leaving when the weather cleared up). Service was pretty good at the hotel though, not the best, but pretty good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Adrianfrom Puriscal

Lo recomiendo.

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels
Muy buena atención, condiciones excelentes,desde cualquier punto del hotel puedes ver el volcán y esta muy bien ubicado un poco caro contratar los tours con el hotel, fuera de eso todo estuvo muy bien.