Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Exceeded our expectations!

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: I loved everything from the hotel! The view, service, food, and clean room service.
Cons: We had a small misunderstanding with one of our tours because the information on the booklet was wrong, but the problem was handled well.
Location: The location was perfect for me. It was close to La Fortuna, but far enough to feel privacy without feeling secluded like the resorts up the hill.
Our stay in the hotel was everything we could of asked for. The room was beautiful, but the best thing was the view of the volcano from our patio. I loved how I could just sit in the patio and enjoyed the sight of not only the volcano, but of the beautiful plants, flowers, and exotic birds in the hotel. The staff was extremely nice and willing to help. When we arrived we were welcomed with cold towels and drinks. The receptionist helped us book our tours and our shuttle. The restaurant breakfast was really delicious, and servers were so nice. The room was always cleane, and our our cleaning lady kept us amused with different towel figures. The location was great because it was close to the city, but felt remote and private. Our private tours consisted of water rafting, hanging trail, waterfall visit, and Baldi spring visit. The tours included transportation, knowledgeable guides, food, and snacks. It was more than I expected, and can't wait to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom California

Great stay w/lush tropical volcano views

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Great rooms, staff and grounds!
Cons: Better food variety at breakfast, but it wasn't bad
Location: Near to volcano, many excursions (ziplines, horse back riding, hiking, rappellling, etc.) We loved the Baldi spa nearby!
Great big room w/great big bed. Bathroom fun, w/waterfall shower and living plants! All rooms have at least a private patio w/chairs, hot tub (or pool), and great volcano views surrounded by beautiful plants. Only downside was occasional bugs on floor, but that's too be expected given natural surroundings and we did leave the sliding doors open to enjoy the outside views and air. Staff greeted us by name w/drinks. Always had positive experience w/all staff and pool was fun w/swim up bar. food at the restaurant was average to good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Heatherfrom Huntington Beach, Ca

Mountain Paradise

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The resort was nice and quaint. The morning breakfast was wonderful, but wouldn't recomend either restaurant for dinner. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall it was a great expierence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

Comfortable Mountain Hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The rooms are very nicely done with a great rock waterfall shower. Nice large comfortable bed too.
Cons: There was a leak under the bathroom sink and also the toilet was running the entire time.
Location: Close to La Fortuna. Don Rufino is a fabulous restaurant! Also nice to spend the day at The Springs.
The hotel was a little hard to find as there is only one sign and it appears to be a billboard, but it is actually the entrance to the hotel. It would be helpful if they would also put an arrow on the sign. The location is very good and the setting is nice. We paid for a Premium room and they took us to a lesser room. We were not aware of this but my husband complained as the room location was not good and the guy told us it was a Jr. Suite. I think told him I paid for a Premium Suite so he left to go check at the main building. About 30 minutes later he returned and said yes I was right. So they moved us to a nicer room and great location. The room was not ready so we put on our suits and went to the pool for a couple of hours. The restaurant was ok, not great, not bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tampa

Truly a paradise

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Everything far exceeded my expectations.
Cons: Hotter water in part of the pool
Location: Make sure you do the zipline on the road past Arenal. It is by far the best.
This hotel far exceeded my expectations. The room was magnificent. A giant framed bed. Every night towels formed in a different shape decorating the bed. The bathroom had two showeres. One with a rainfall head and one spectacular rock shower with the water coming out like a waterfall. Finally, a private outdoor jacuzzi with view of the Arenal volcano. The dining facility was open air, beautiful and no bugs. The staff were friendly and helpful in selecting the best hot springs, zip line and rappelling adventures.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Not worth it compared to others

Posted Jun 28, 2014
The views and the free breakfast were excellent, but besides that this hotel is really not worth it. They were extremely unhelpful booking activities, to the point that we actually had to reach out to the guide company from our last hotel for help. The dinner at the hotel restaurant was expensive and bad, especially since it was more than Don Rufinos, which is the best restaurant in town. Drinks were also on the very high end. When it comes down to it, I wish we had spent more to stay at a hotel with their own hot springs as we later had to pay to enter at other locations. Would not recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Volcano view!

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful ground and hotel with amazing views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JCfrom Helotes, Texas

Great unique hotel

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Everything...but the view of the volcano has to be one of the best in La Fortuna. You can see the volcano from the lobby, restaurant, pool and rooms!
Cons: The only improvement I could recommend is for the restaurant to add more typical Costa Rican dishes for dinner. Breakfast on the other hand was great
Location: Los Logos hot springs, hanging bridges, Balsa river whitewater rafting and cultural lunch with Desafio tours (a gem!) Fortuna falls and cayoneering.
The rooms were super comfortable. We had a junior suite with a king and queen. The bathroom was out of this world; you have both a large glass shower with all kinds of jets and a very large waterfall shower...no kidding a waterfall shower! The large covered porch had two great rocking chairs and a hot tub...and a real nice cat that would vist in the evenings and hang out with us. The beds and patio look straight out to the volcano. Grounds, pool, pool bar and restaurant were also great. Very close to La Fortuna...easy cab ride. All the rooms are in very private 2 room separate units in what can best be described as a tropical botanical garden. Awesome luxury hotel...and totally unpretentious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MalissaBfrom WA

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was cleaned spotless everyday, our view was unsurpassed and the warm pool open 24hrs is a very nice perk. Shout out to some special staff, Daved and Jullio. These 2 will go above and beyond to make sure you are not just comfortable but happy. They understand that excellent customer service begins and ends with your HEART! I am a tequila girl, but not a huge drinker. I think it is worth mentioning all of my drinks were made with Patron, this did not require any asking, it is a standard. The hotel will take care of all of your arrangements if you prefer, getting around is quite simply and very safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Feels like your own private Mountain hide away!

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The staff and service, the views of the volcano, the hummingbirds, the quiet
Location: Ecoglide Zip Line Adventue, Baldi Hot Springs, La Fortuna, Nature Park
From the moment of our arrival after a 3 hour drive from SJO, we were treated like royalty with cool towels and friendly smiles all around from Estephan and Galbreth. We were driven to our room, and upon opening the door to our "back yard," were simply amazed at the view. It looked like it could have been from a movie set. It was private and quiet, with just the sounds of nature to help calm your travel weary self. The bathroom is spacious and clean, and the waterfall shower (it makes a mess when you use it) is a unique touch with it's live plants, adding to the jungle-like atmosphere. Next comes the pool...yes, they keep it warm so that when you step out and the mountain breeze hits you, you feel cool and refreshed. Brian is an excellent bartender and will make sure you have everything you need poolside. David and the dinning room staff are also terrific, making sure the coffee flows plentifully in the morning and that your every other need is attended to at the other meals as well. We have been home for about a week now, and I cannot wait to go back. I also say RUN, do not walk to this resort if you ever get the chance to travel to the Arenal Region of Costa Rica. Anybody who gives this less than 5 stars simply did not ask for what they wanted or needed because staff is so very accommodating and willing to address your every need and concern.