Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa

Truly a paradise

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Everything far exceeded my expectations.
Cons: Hotter water in part of the pool
Location: Make sure you do the zipline on the road past Arenal. It is by far the best.
This hotel far exceeded my expectations. The room was magnificent. A giant framed bed. Every night towels formed in a different shape decorating the bed. The bathroom had two showeres. One with a rainfall head and one spectacular rock shower with the water coming out like a waterfall. Finally, a private outdoor jacuzzi with view of the Arenal volcano. The dining facility was open air, beautiful and no bugs. The staff were friendly and helpful in selecting the best hot springs, zip line and rappelling adventures.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Not worth it compared to others

Posted Jun 28, 2014
The views and the free breakfast were excellent, but besides that this hotel is really not worth it. They were extremely unhelpful booking activities, to the point that we actually had to reach out to the guide company from our last hotel for help. The dinner at the hotel restaurant was expensive and bad, especially since it was more than Don Rufinos, which is the best restaurant in town. Drinks were also on the very high end. When it comes down to it, I wish we had spent more to stay at a hotel with their own hot springs as we later had to pay to enter at other locations. Would not recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JC from Helotes, Texas

Great unique hotel

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Everything...but the view of the volcano has to be one of the best in La Fortuna. You can see the volcano from the lobby, restaurant, pool and rooms!
Cons: The only improvement I could recommend is for the restaurant to add more typical Costa Rican dishes for dinner. Breakfast on the other hand was great
Location: Los Logos hot springs, hanging bridges, Balsa river whitewater rafting and cultural lunch with Desafio tours (a gem!) Fortuna falls and cayoneering.
The rooms were super comfortable. We had a junior suite with a king and queen. The bathroom was out of this world; you have both a large glass shower with all kinds of jets and a very large waterfall shower...no kidding a waterfall shower! The large covered porch had two great rocking chairs and a hot tub...and a real nice cat that would vist in the evenings and hang out with us. The beds and patio look straight out to the volcano. Grounds, pool, pool bar and restaurant were also great. Very close to La Fortuna...easy cab ride. All the rooms are in very private 2 room separate units in what can best be described as a tropical botanical garden. Awesome luxury hotel...and totally unpretentious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Feels like your own private Mountain hide away!

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The staff and service, the views of the volcano, the hummingbirds, the quiet
Location: Ecoglide Zip Line Adventue, Baldi Hot Springs, La Fortuna, Nature Park
From the moment of our arrival after a 3 hour drive from SJO, we were treated like royalty with cool towels and friendly smiles all around from Estephan and Galbreth. We were driven to our room, and upon opening the door to our "back yard," were simply amazed at the view. It looked like it could have been from a movie set. It was private and quiet, with just the sounds of nature to help calm your travel weary self. The bathroom is spacious and clean, and the waterfall shower (it makes a mess when you use it) is a unique touch with it's live plants, adding to the jungle-like atmosphere. Next comes the pool...yes, they keep it warm so that when you step out and the mountain breeze hits you, you feel cool and refreshed. Brian is an excellent bartender and will make sure you have everything you need poolside. David and the dinning room staff are also terrific, making sure the coffee flows plentifully in the morning and that your every other need is attended to at the other meals as well. We have been home for about a week now, and I cannot wait to go back. I also say RUN, do not walk to this resort if you ever get the chance to travel to the Arenal Region of Costa Rica. Anybody who gives this less than 5 stars simply did not ask for what they wanted or needed because staff is so very accommodating and willing to address your every need and concern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pat from Roxbury, CT

Loved this hotel

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: It is quiet, staff was friendly and helpful and the grounds are lovely.
Cons: Air conditioning was a bit underpowered. We were at Mountain Paradise at the end of April and it was quite humid. Ceiling fans would have helped.
Location: Good location, convenient to Arenal Lake and volcano park. Plenty of restaurants around and lots to do.
After a 3 hour drive from Liberia we were hot, tired and a little cranky. We were welcomed at Mountain Paradise by very friendly staff offering us a tall, cold glass of juice. We were driven to our room by golf cart and given a brief tour of the grounds. Our room was very clean, spacious and had a great bathroom with a waterfall shower. Cool! The grounds were very pretty, lush and very well maintained. The pool is heated and has a swim up bar and a terrace with hammocks and lounge chairs. There was an overall feeling of calm and serenity. On site restaurant was very good, breakfast was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Florida

great views and a true get away

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: views, room size, proximity to town
Cons: Front desk seemed a little confused at times on services offered with tour stuff
Location: hot springs, town, hanging bridges, water falls, white water rafting, zip lines are all close
After you get up the winding road to the resort, it is truly breath taking views. Each room has a private hot tub or pool. Our room had dual showers with one being a water fall. About 10-15 minute drive to all the attractions, shuttle service is provided and hotel and attractions take US $. Restaurants were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel overlooking Arenal

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: The pool and the shower were our favorite.
Location: Went on the hanging bridges tour and a raft tour down a river in this area. They were our 2 favorite experiences from our whole trip to Costa Rica.
Re really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel. We were right across from the wonderful heated pool with waterfalls and loved speeding time in it. The views, the gardens, the rooms - all were great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by diamante from Chicago

Wonderful Costa Rican stay,

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Staff, Location, ground, rooms set up.
Cons: Food taste and quality during launch and dinner.
Location: Go out for dinners, stay away from Nanos, heard that Don Rufino was great.
Eric was the first to say hello, check us in and drive us in a cart to our rooms, From there it just continued to stay fabulous, I traveled with my two granddaughters who are Gluten Free, The crew kept our special bread in the kitchen cooler, warmed it up separately and made sure they were okay with the rest of the food, they never got sick. We could not feel more comfortable, I wish I could remember all the names, each and every Person there deserve mentioning, the front desk, kitchen crew and room crew. All was clean and great, rooms are specious each with a great size bathroom which has two Showers side by side, one spa the other water fall (cool) great verandah with rocking chairs, Wished I purchased two and brought home. Breakfast was great, but skip dinners not their best-:).... Keep in mind the pool is small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennifer from Los Angeles

Nice grounds and rooms with great views

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Views of the volcano.
Cons: Some of the waiters at breakfast didn't seem to like their job.
Hotel has separate small houses that have 2 attached rooms that overlook the volcano. Nice grounds. The pool area is nice but small compared to some of the other hotels in the area with a heated pool that is a nice temperature, but not thermal water. We had a great bar tender and the pool area to ourselves one afternoon. The breakfast was pretty good and the service ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Boston, MA

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Cons: Boxsprings under the mattresses would be an improvement.
Beautiful hotel and grounds near Arenal Volcano. Wonderful, friendly, helpful staff!