Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
We loved our stay at Nayara and can't wait to return! The staff were polite and friendly, the rooms exceptional and the grounds beautiful. There's a reason why this is one of the top hotels, definitely won't dissapoint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A paradise near Arenal

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: The weather (!!). It was rainy, but could you expect from a rain forest.
The gardens and all the facilities were just high standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis

Nearly Perfect Experience

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING -- the rooms, staff, gardens, view of the volcano, pool, restaurants, and Carlota the resident Macaw.
Cons: When you are at the top, there is very little room, or need, for improvement! Keep up the good work.
Location: Hike in Children's Eternal Rainforest; La Fortuna Waterfall; Hanging Bridges; Sky Tram and Zipline; Rio Frio float; Ecoglide; view volcano from room
This hotel is nearly perfect for a visit to the Arenal area. The hotel staff members are, to a person, incredibly professional, friendly and helpful. The individual casitas are all nicely secluded in the gardens and all have a terrace facing the volcano. We spent eleven nights at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Nayara exceeded every expectation. We seldom go to the same place two years in a row, but are considering a return visit next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Katepwa, Canada

Superior - this is luxury!

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Staff, service, beautifully appointed rooms and decor, stunning landscape!
Cons: The owners and staff have captured the essence of outstanding hospitality. No request, is too great and is always carried out with a smile! :-)
Location: Cooking class at Nayara Eco Glide Zip Line Eco Termales Hot Springs Yoga at Nayara
Bar none, this is the most incredible hotel we have stayed at anywhere in the world! Located at the base of the Arenal Volcano near La Fortuna and in rainforest area of Costa Rica, this resort gives you the opportunity to vacation in a luxury casita in the midst of a jungle. A full hot breakfast is included with your booking and the incredible amenities (restaurants, zen gardens, tropical foliage, jacuzzis, yoga studio, spa, etc.) are shared with the sister hotel, the brand new and equally luxurious Nayara Springs. Look no further when travelling to the Arenal area. The outstanding staff including: Jessie (Altimara Hostess), Yeis (Amor Loco Chef), Maricela (Nayara Springs Guest Services) Lindsay (Concierge) and servers Juan Carlos and Juan Louis are just a few of the staff who made us feel so very welcome and so at home!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Fabulous location

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Excellent overall except that our beautiful room had a problem with some sort of a banging noise that occurred intermittently mostly overnight. It awakened me each night and after mentioning this to both the maintenance man and manager the problem was never resolved during our 5 night stay. We were surprised that our situation remained unresolved as the staff continually asked if there was anything that we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bentonville, AR

Large Lux Hotel near the Volcano

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: This hotel has beautiful grounds, friendly staff, and fabulous spacious bungalows with private decks and a outdoor bath. It's safe and well located.
Cons: The food could be better for the price. All the excursions were very expensive.
Location: Many jungle activities - hiking, boat tours, zip lining, horseback riding. Go to the Rainforest Chocolate Tour if you are a nerd like me.
This is a beautiful large hotel next to the Arenal Volcano. The staff is friendly and ready to help at a moment's notice. The grounds are lush and teaming with wild life. The bungalows are huge and very luxurious. We felt very safe. The only negatives I can say are that the food was average to good (not great) and there are not natural hot springs on the property. They have hot tubs that are "filled with the same water" but you will not get to go to natural volcano pools. We did go to Tabacon for an afternoon at the volcano pools. It was very expensive but very impressive. I did not stay at that resort based on trip advisor reviews so I can't comment on their rooms. I also felt that their efforts to appear "eco-friendly" were negated by air conditioning rooms with intentionally unsealed shower glass. We had a car so we did not book activities through the hotel and it was cheaper. The temp stayed between 70-80 F and it rained every day. It rarely gets sunny enough to lay by the pool so if you go to Arenal be prepared to either relax in the mist or partake of the multitude of jungle offerings. A note on driving - the roads in CR are very steep, very rural, and very poorly marked. Our rented Garmin GPS did pretty well on this part of the country but completely blew it in the mountains and coast in a less touristy areas. Be prepared to get lost and deal with difficult roads if you choose to drive. We wouldn't drive if we were to do it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This is an ideal tropidal retreat

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Cons: A little more water pressure and a hand held show handle would make it even greater.
Location: The hotel overlooks the Arenal volcano in all its gradeur. You couldnĀ“t be closer. Local activities, however, are limited tram, hiking, and ziplines
Hotel is dazzling with each room built as a seperate cottage with both indoor and outdoor baths, outdoor jacuszii, spacious rooms with giant elevated porch with hammock and chairs overlooking a jungle with mackaws and other wildlife. In room food was reasonably priced. Hotel food was good and reasonably priced. Rooms themselves are very expensive but worth the romantic articistic experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Huntsville, AL

FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE: Hotel, Food, Fun. Pura Vida!

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Everything! Food, Staff, Room, Pools, Experience
Location: There are many outdoor activities: we did ziplining (Sky Trek), canyoning (waterfall repelling), and hanging bridges.
Nayara is a FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE; a must go. From the moment we arrived to the time we left, we enjoyed every minute. The welcome staff do a perfect job of welcoming you to the hotel, with a drink, list of activities around Arenal, a list of restaurants at the hotel resort and around Arenal, and an approach that allows you to relax and enjoy. Lindsay is wonderful - she will ensure you stay is supreme. Josue at the Sushi bar, Elkrin at the Nostalgia Wine bar, and Katarin at Amor Loco will make your dining affairs to remember. We are still raving about the food! The jacuzzis and pool are very relaxing. Rooms are picturesque.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: The feeling that you are in the rain forest all the time. The staff was excellent.
Location: Travel time was cumbersome.
The only negative is treval time to hotel and condition of roads and we had continuous rain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ithaca, NY

Beautiful property in the rainforest

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Staff, beautiful location, pool, rooms.
Cons: The beds were not the most comfortable - they were very hard and the sheets seemed of poor quality. The gym was also very minimal.
Great hotel, such a beautiful property. A great place to relax and see wildlife. There is a ton to do in the area as well - zip lining, waterfalls, hiking, nature walks, etc. The staff here was wonderful.