Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Location: Excelent location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trob from Calgary AB

Nice hotel, central location

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Pros: location,
Cons: its nothing special. i wouldn't say the hotel has character by any means but its clean and simple.
Location: lots of things to see and do in the area, especially if you rent a vehicle or scooter! i suggest scooters - they're the best way to go.
The hotel is centrally located in La Fortuna. Its cheap and the staff have alot of information about the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by s from Canada

Good Location

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Pros: It was very quiet at night so you could get a good night's sleep
Cons: Like most hotels in CR a small fridge in the room would mean a world of difference
Location: Short and safe walk to the main street. Not much to do in the town other than book Tours
The hotel is a little away from the main road but still close enough to walk to. Unfortunately it rained the whole time I was there. Not much to do if you are not doing the jungle tours. The breakfast that is included is EXACTLY the same every day so if you stay for than a couple of days it gets very tedious!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from BC

Posted Dec 11, 2013
Cons: The mattress, like all the ones we had in Costa Rica, wasn't great. You could feel the springs
Location: Laundry across the street. Off the main street so it was quiet but only a small block to the town center.
Nice clean pool and hot tub. This place had the best included breakfast out of anywhere we stayed in Costa Rica. Hot showers and a clean room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Herb from Sioux City, Iowa

Peaceful, Comfortable, Well-situated

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Our particular room was next to an porch with table and chairs and a full view of the Arenal Volcano. Coffee and tea available all day and night
Cons: Great room, but no chair to sit comfortably at desk. Fortunately, we had good chairs on porch next to room.
Location: Many outdoor activities. We only did the hanging gardens late AM, tour. Others visited hot springs and water falls, hiked or biked.
Hotel San Basco is a hidden treasure for anyone staying in Fortuna, Costa Rica. Service, grounds, accommodations and location can't be beat. The Hotel is one block from the central park and lots of restaurants. Our room was spacious and comfortable, on floor above the office. Breakfasts were replete with eggs, rice, beans, with much fruit and good coffee. Price for room very reasonable. Interesting towel sculptures left on beds by maids were a fun treat. Would return to this hotel in a heart beat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

would stay here again.

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Excellent hotel for the price. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good location. Room excellent apart from hard bed. Clean. Breakfast okay nothing to rave about. Well maintained hotel & grounds. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sylvain from Gatineau, QC, Canada

comfortable and good price

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Pros: location, staff.
Cons: breakfast buffet.
Location: well located.
Very small WC, but staff is very friendly. Good security and location is perfect for activities and shopping. Avoid paying the 1 day tour combo and choose the volcano trek and the Baldi hot springs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Seasoned CR traveler from Atlanta

Great access to Arenal volcano and activities

Posted Apr 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have stayed in the San Bosco before and keep coming back. The view of the volcano is phenomenal, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff is great. The location of the hotel is great because it is right in the center of town and walking distance to shops and restaurants. The location makes getting to other activities like the waterfall, hot springs, etc. very easy.