Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from California

Incredible Hot Springs

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Hot Springs are just down the street from the hotel and there is a free shuttle that takes you there from the hotel.
Cons: I didn't like that they only have Valet parking option. Every time we needed to get the car (about 3 times per day) we had to call ahead and wait.
Location: The best restaurant we found that was about 5 kilometers away is Benedictus Organics, all the way up on a hill. Zip lining was fun.
We upgraded to a suite (for extra $75/night) that was the size of my whole apartment - the room was beautiful. The Hot Springs is what was the most important for our stay there, and the Hot Springs are just stunning. Landscaping is gorgeous, the pools are wonderful and the pool with the bar in it was a lot of fun. Definitely worth a visit if in the Arenal area. We didn't eat at the hotel, but the town is about 10 kilometers away with an array of options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Spent a very enjoyable few days a the Tabacon. Staff was very pleasant. Rooms were comfortable. Hot springs were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by madison

Simply fantastic!

Posted Mar 26, 2014
If you can afford it, this is by far the most luxurious accommodations in the area....the suites are huge, very comfortable, and tastefully decorated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by eac

Tabacon Hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Great location and one of the best rooms in town. But service and their ability to handle volume leaves much to be desired. For example, at breakfast they did not have enough staff so tables went uncleaned and there was a 45 minute wait to be seated for a Buffett breakfast at 7:45 am! Problem is all tours start at 8 am. Lot of us had to skip. Coffee in lobby ran out too!!! Rooms were not cleaned until very late in the day. Often not before 3 pm. Turndown service - spotty. We had to call to get it done. Hotel restaurant is nice and reliable American food but uninspired. Would have been nice if they had more local food options. You can eat better and much more interesting in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frosty from Arlington, VA

Hot Springs, great food and a view!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Springs
Cons: reading lights, towel lady's attitude to guests (not as towel thieves but as people who are on vacation and do not steal towels)
Location: Arenal Volcano!!! Everything is nearby...
Overall: great hotel that I would definitely stay at again. Best part was the hot springs which I visited both early in the day when it was quiet and then again at night. Wow! I've visited hot springs in CO and VA but never anything like this. Multiple pools (you do get a bit lost as you work your way from pool to pool), beautiful setting, great service and the bonus pool area w/drinks for hotel guests. Based on the hotel website pics I was expecting something cheesy but instead found the pools to be lovely. Only negative was the towel lady who was enthusiastic about ensuring that no one was running off with a towel. Room was nice, good beds, etc. Only complaint was the lack of reading lights by the bed. Main restaurant was good and the servers aim to please. Because they do try to please all guests, things can slow down when they are crowded. But this is Costa Rica pace... so you have to be relaxed. Restaurant at the springs was great and had good options for vegetarians in our group.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Leslie from Amherstburg, Ontario

Beautiful resort with spectacular views of volcano

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: We liked the proximity to the volcano, the beautiful springs and falls and the shuttle service offered to transport us to and from the springs.
Cons: The exorbitant prices of the food at the restaurants onsite make it difficult for families with children. Perhaps they are trying to send a message?
Location: Located near the volcano, hotsprings are just down the road, ziplining and rafting nearby, good restaurants nearby (El Novillo for excellent meals).
Almost everything about our stay was excellent. The room was fine for our family of 4 and the hot springs were unbelievably beautiful. The evening was a bit cool and the warm temperatures of the springs were welcomed. Two things surprised us - the first was that upon checking in, guests are offered a complimentary glass of juice but somehow we were missed. When checking out I inquired about this and we were instead offered the juice upon leaving which was fine - just an observation more than anything. The second thing was that, for the price one pays to stay at a facility such as this, we were surprised to see rust all around the drain in the bathtub and some mildew in the grout of the bathtub area. (room 310) Aside from these two things, the room was otherwise clean and a good size for our family with an amazing view of the volcano.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Beautiful hotel and spa. A must do if by arenal vol. Felt like the rich and famous. Our massage was in a very romantic location Down side Food was very expensive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kathleen from mn

Great spa average accommodations.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Average room for the price at least expected A lounging chair in room, there was a huge space for it but staff said not all rooms have one and it would be an upgrade, for a chair? Hard to believe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vacationer from New York

LUXURIOUS HOTEL WITH OUTSTANDING HOT SPRINGS

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: The best hot springs
Cons: Transport to and from town
Location: Sky Ventures ziplines are fantastic - very well managed and breathtaking to ride. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Tabacon is expensive but remains a good value because of unlimited access to the hot springs, which are spectacular. The rooms are lovely, if sparsely furnished. The hotel staff is friendly and attentive. The food is good although not exceptional. The only minor negative would be the distance to La Fortuna which requires an $18.00 cab ride. The hotel should really offer a scheduled shuttle. Food in town is good and cheap, so even with the taxi, the trip is still worthwhile
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosie from San Pedro, CA

Float Away

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: We liked everything about it! The food is sensational!
Cons: Maybe the front desk. I don't know if the man who helped us was uncomfortable with his English or just not the warmest guy. Everyone else was great.
Location: Drive to the lake! Also hike and drive to the other side to see the lava flow! Otherwise, just FLOAT!
We floated the whole time we were there - in the hot springs, in the glorious pool, back and forth from our comfortable room, and through the delicious meals. We tell everyone about this place. Every room has a view of the volcano, clouds permitting. There is a well equipped fitness center, and across the street is the entrance to the national park. We've been to Tabacon twice now, and we intend to be back soon!