Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fallbrook, CA

Best Hotel & Spa in Costa Rica

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: The fine attention to detail ensuring the 5-Star treatment and service.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Just do your research and homework for the so many options for fun within the area. Too much to list.
If you want to pamper yourself with true 5-Star treatment in service, Spa, mineral baths and room, then this is the place. My wife and myself celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary at The Springs Resort and Spa at Arenal to which the staff, management and hotel provided us the very special memories in food, service, attention to detail and most of all, exceeding all of our expectations to a level I have never experience before in all my travels. This 228 acres of paradise has it all without leaving the facility - Spa, lot's of private mineral baths situated in natural settings, pools, water slide, river with rafting & tubing, horseback riding, hiking trails, animal refuse, and jungle everywhere. The views are spectacular. The best thing I can say about The Springs Resort and Spa at Arenal is that I will be back next year and anytime I can. I suggest to anyone who is considering this facility is to just book it now because you will not be disappointment in anyway, shape or fashion - Just Do It - cause you will not have any regrets I promise you!!!!. Thank You to all the staff, management and ownership for making my anniversary so special and most of all making us feel we were part of the family at The Springs Resort and Spa at Arenal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Great view and amenities

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Rooms, View, activities, food
Great view of Arenal Volcano, many options for Hot Springs and Pools and Club Rio 'adventure park' with several activities and zoo. Spa, Gym are clean and nice. Very open and spacious. Luxurious while maintaining an earthy feel with the wood décor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Jun 2, 2015
I love this hotel. The staff is amazing. The hotel is beautiful. My room had an awesome view of the volcano. The gym was perfect. The spa and the services magnificent. And the WiFi is free. I enjoyed myself. I will return for another visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great find! You never have to leave.

Posted May 31, 2015
This hotel packs an awesome tourist punch. It has one of the best views of the volcano, and the staff goes above and beyond to make you comfortable. The ONLY thing that kept me from giving it a perfect rating is the food is "moderate" in quality. I have traveled a lot, consider myself a "foodie" with a very expansive pallet, so I know I can be a rough critic. I was told not to expect EXCELLENT cuisine in any part of Costa Rica, by a local. They were right. Costa Rica is a place you visit for beauty, not food, and with that said, this hotel has EXCELLENT beauty and great food. I recommend FLYING from San Jose to La Fortuna. You can use Sensa or Nature Air to book the charter flight for cheaper than a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simply unbelievable!

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: The rooms were fantastic, verandas with volcano views and tiled hot tubs. Amazing furnishings.
Cons: Long walk up stairs both to and from the main hotel for dining and the hot springs, so be prepared to exercise!
Location: Arenal has great outdoor activities, such as rafting safaris, rain forest hikes, hanging bridges, zip lines, horseback riding, etc.
What can I say except wow! This resort is fantastic, amenities, the rooms, the pools, everything was just great. Despite the constant rain (yes, we went during the rainy season to see the lush rainforest) this place does not disappoint and the staff both at the hotel as well as the included animal preserve and adventure activity center were fantastic! It was a very memorable stay for us and we will certainly go back again. If you plan to visit the Arenal area, stay here, you will not regret it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great hotel on an amazing piece of property

Posted May 21, 2015
Staff was amazing. George greeted us to valet the car and take our bags. Jason was at the front desk and incredibly friendly and helpful. Danilo, Gerald and the other guides down at club rio on the property were also awesome. One of the greatest hotel experiences my wife and I have had.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Mirada, CA

Nice place with horrible food at very high prices.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Staff was great
Cons: the food and food value.
Location: Lots of eco tours.
Staff was great, food was not worth the price. NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Awesome hotel with great views

Posted May 8, 2015
Great hotel/resort with amazing views of the volcano and beyond! The service was excellent with lots of attention to detail. The food was great, and loved all the various pools/springs throughout the resort. The tours at Club Rio at the resort were also excellent and super convienent. Great staff that made the whole time at the resort that much more enjoyable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ME

Incredible place

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Our stay at The Springs was wonderful. The room amenties are incredible. The thermal pools are so beautifully landscaped around this fabulous hotel. Only recommendation is for them to offer breakfast options that give choices for people who want just fruit and not be required to pay $20 for that option alone. Staff were all so friendly and helpful. Rio Club is fun--loved the tubing ! Lots of fun things to do in this area. Do not miss Sky Trek zip lines if you are looking for a thrilling zip line! This one is amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

very nice hotel in the rain forest

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: hot springs, concierge. Did not have time to go to Club Rio but looked like that could be fun.
Cons: pave the road coming in
Location: Skip the national park…the hiking inside is nothing serial…just a walk actually with no views. Best thing was the suspension bridges park
Though the hotel was very nice, it was a downer coming from sunny Papagayo to the wet cloudy rain forest (after a long New England winter). Hotel room was very spacious and lovely. Hot springs were great and a LOT of fun. The hot springs are the main attraction for this hotel. There were bars in the pool featured and also in the middle of the Perdido springs section of the hot springs. Everyone seemed to be having fun in the hot springs and pools. Our room had a huge window with what should have been a great view of the volcano, but again, cloudy the whole time we were there. If you are going to Arenal this is the hotel I would recommend. Food was good (not great) but easy to drive or take taxi to La Fortuna for good off property meals.