Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel with a view on Arenal volcano

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Very nice hotel, 5 stars, hot springs are fantastic and the staff is very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from california

beautiful and fun!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: we didnt even have to leave the resort for 3 days because it offers everything we wanted and more
we took our two children ages 5 and 8 to the Springs hotel and resort and we had the time of our lives! the kids loved the water slide and game room and mom and dad loved all the hot springs, pools, wonderful food and relaxation areas. rooms and surroundings were clean and gorgeous and the staff were very friendly and helpful. would love to come back here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Thrilled with our stay!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Hidden deep in the Costa Rican jungle lies the most wonderous place. A place of truly exceptional service, of meticulous attention to detail, and of such beautiful and lush surroundings. We could not have been more thrilled with our stay. The excellent service began even before our arrival. Jocelyn and Johnny, the 2 concierge, arranged for a car to get us to the resort as well as for our various adventure experiences in the area. Then, Grebin, our driver, made out 3 hour trek from San Jose very pleasant and enjoyable, even stopping to show us colorful frogs and then to have us enjoy a pineapple that he had called ahead to have prepared for us. Upon arrival at the resort, we were warmly welcomed and taken on a personalized tour. What a treat it was to walk in our spacious, beautiful room! Our lanai had a front row view of the Arenal volcano and had hammocks for us to relax in. Because we had our kids with us, we opted for the family suite which was 2 stories and was huge! Each day, we came in to find a new towel animal or shape on our beds. While we were there, we visited Club Rio, the resort's own animal refuge and recreation center. We loved tubing down the river (which was pretty warm). And, I love that all the animals were rescued. And then there's the pools...oh boy they were heavenly. My kids loved the thermal water slide. All in all, I couldn't be happier with our stay. Great food, awesome people. Pricey yes but worth every cent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in the world

Posted Jun 26, 2014
The Springs is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. Not only is the area beautiful, the attention to detail throughout the resort is remarkable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gopal from Houston

Great Location

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stay was fantastic, Wife and Kids enjoyed. Menu and food quality could be improved.
2 out of 5
by Robert not Jeff from Colorado

Beautiful hotel. Stairs! Poor reception staff.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The rooms are spacious, clean and pleasant. Most of the hot spring pools are enjoyable.
Cons: Much of the management and staff are in serious need of learning how to treat and pamper guests, especially for such an expensive hotel.
Location: I do highly recommend the Club RIO horseback ride. The hosts are sensational. It was by far the best of many our family has done in the past.
Our reservation was confused with another family by a similar last name. In spite of me repeatedly stating my correct first & last name, the reception staff continued to refer to me as the other guest, jokingly combining their name with mine. They incorrectly placed us in the other guest's rooms and told us our reservation included credits for the spa and Club RIO. Later while exploring Club RIO, we were contacted by the hotel manager stating our belongings would need to be moved. Our toiletries and loose belongings were tossed into a large plastic bag, transferred with our luggage to the proper family suite, but left in the bag. We subsequently had difficulty finding certain of our belongings. As a consolation, the manager was willing to honor 1/2 the spa credit, which we later requested be applied to Club RIO's Sunset horseback riding tour instead. We were notified shortly afterwards they would credit the horseback ride ... well, at least until the next morning. After some very frustrating back and forth tactless surprise appearances & debate by the reception staff, they finally agreed. But it didn't end there. We had to lug our luggage up a long 5 story hill thanks to the same incompetent reception staff member who failed to notify the concierge of our luggage pickup and ride request to the hotel exit. I do highly recommend the Club RIO horseback ride. The hosts are sensational and it was by far the best of many we've done. Likewise the dining room staff are excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nicole from los angeles, ca

Heaven on earth

Posted May 30, 2014
I've had the privilege of traveling around the world and staying at some of the most amazing places...The Springs has now topped my list! The property is magnificent, the rooms are spacious and well appointed, and the staff is incredibly attentive and friendly. The food was fresh and delicious, the drinks were strong and both were reasonably priced, which is a rare treat at a hotel of this caliber - many 4-5 star hotels serve mediocre food/drinks with insulting prices. The real gem here is the springs themselves...I can't think of a more romantic, lush setting to soak the world away! There are enough pools to go around, so that you feel like you are the only people at the resort! It is a magical location and worth every penny. My only complaint (and I hate to say it) is that they could improve the beds/bedding. We stayed at The Springs after a week at the Four Seasons where the beds/pillows are like big puffy, ultra soft clouds...had we stayed here first, I probably wouldn't have been disappointed...that said, we will be back! Better yet, if we decide to get married, we will absolutely have a destination wedding at The Springs!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by E. Torres from Miami, Fl

Outstanding Vacation Resort

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything about this place was first class. The place was superb, the staff were exceptional, the food was first rate and there was a really wide variety of activities to do. Five star all the way
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com