Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom AL

Incredible view, comfortable & relaxing stay

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Picturesque, incredible mineral hot springs throughout property, genuinely interested and devoted staff at all levels who felt more like friends.
Cons: Maybe a little more variety in the menus from day to day would be interesting, but a minor suggestion. Very quiet at night, but that was fine with me
Location: Pretty remote, village not too far but really didn't look like a great option. If satisfied with quiet evenings after a fun-filled day, is OK.
Just a lovely place, beautifully situated, not too fancy but elegant nonetheless. Wanted for nothing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, Fl

Relaxing Atmosphere

Posted Nov 23, 2014
The hotel is an overall great value. Although expensive, the view and springs make up for it. The restaurants are adequate and the food selection. We visited this resort before and I have to admit the service has somewhat diminshed. At times some of the staff gave attitude and it almost felt like we were bothering when having to ask for simple things like coffee refills, etc. After visiting twice I give this resort an overall rating of 3.75. There is some room for improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis, IN

Moms' getaway

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Stayed at The Springs with 2 friends-- it was very relaxing, great spa, and the food was very good. There are so many hot springs tubs and a heated chlorinated pool, most with beautiful waterfalls. If you are trying to decide between this and another hotel at the valcano, I can't recommend this strongly enough. I had been to Los Lagos and Tabocon and this was definitely the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Live in Maine and Boston

In the top Five of vacations for us

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The Grounds are beautiful, the pools warm and inviting. Staff were all friendly and helpful.
Cons: Beware of hidden costs when renting an car.
Location: Club Rio is a must. Hanging Bridges also a must.
Beautiful resort. All the staff were helpful and friendly. Grounds and rooms amaculate. Recently developed new Spa Menu-was delicious. We loved the white rafting tubing. Very safe. They had extra staff just for the children. Take the hanging bridges tour-we had Hector as our guide. Would highly recommend him. Very knowledgable about Costa Rica. the people in Costa Rica are very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati

Pure Luxury!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Everything - but especially the warm greetings given by the staff and the beautiful property and luxurious rooms.
Cons: Nothing - no complaints.
Location: The concierge hooked us up with dinner reservations, a ziplining tour, an on-property ATV tour and a driver to our next destination.
This property is incredible! The staff was extremely helpful from bellman to dining staff to housekeeping to reception to concierge. Everyone bent over backward to exceed our expectations and make it a memorable trip. Couldn't have asked for anything better! The rooms are fantastic - every room has a view of Arenal Volcano and a gorgeous patio area. The room furnishings and bathroom are over the top luxurious! Best hotel I've ever stayed in and can't wait to return someday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Perfect Mix of Relaxation & Adventure.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: The Staff. They made you feel like family. The Springs is staffed with some truly amazing people.
Cons: There were some maintenance issues in the finishes- little details I probably only notice because of my profession.
Location: There is SO much to do in Arenal, I need way more than 150 Characters for that. Don't miss the hanging bridges, or La Rocca Waterfall Canyoneering.
Just returned home from our 7-night stay here, and it was amazing. From the location, the hotel itself, the staff, all there is to do, to the food, it far exceeded our expectations. The location is unbeatable, and there is so much to do just at The Springs alone, as well as in the Arenal area. Everything was accessible and it wasn't crowded. We would go out adventuring for the morning, and return mid-afternoon for the drinks and soak in the hot springs. It was an amazing stay, and should we find ourselves in Arenal again, we would stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Superb pool areas, probably amazing view at the volcano (unfortunately our stay happened on rainy days), big rooms with privacy, a lot of helpful staff
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

The lights are on but NOBODYS HOME

Posted Oct 31, 2014
THIS IS MY 3rd Revision. - For whatever reason? Beautiful place incredible view. The Management does not understand how to make their customers happy quit the opposite - we were asked to check out early to change to the room right above us where we heard kids playing till late at night. Then expected to check in late to the new room. The spa pools were all lukewarm, yellow with towels & staff no where to be found. Great Sushi Bar make sure you ask for the "Marcopolo Roll" excellent! But don't expect the staff to offer you water, refills or anything else for that matter. You might interrupt them watching the soccer game or telling a joke or two with each other. Perhaps we were just unlucky but I like knowing what to expect from a well know prestigious Hotel. Buena Suerte and Pura Vida!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Beautiful resort

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Very beautiful resort and location; staff are amazing and tend to your needs quickly. I didn't feel the pressure to tip anyone (did so without being asked to do so). I was there for my honeymoon with my wife, everyone welcomed us politely and congratulated us at every turn ( they know their guests well). The spa treatment/ couples massage was amazing and was included in our package. Club rio has a lot of fun activities, for a price of course, and the staff their are very patient, polite, informative and helpful. The hot springs are great all over the resort. Food was very good and so we're the drinks. Sushi bar was great too. We went during the rainy season, so it was a bit quiet and boring at times. Not many guests were at the resort during our stay. One very important thing to consider is that this is a five star resort, so be prepared to pay more than average prices. In general, Costa Rica is a magnificent place to visit, there are a lot of landmarks to visit and activities to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Beautiful resort in the rain forest

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Need clearer directions and it would be very helpful if you could prove this hotel up on the GPS
Location: Close to La Fortunas, a small town. Nearby hikeing, horseback riding, river safaris, ziplining, ATV adventures.
Absolutely stunning. Experience of a lifetime. We did not have one single experience with a staff member that was not positive, everyone goes beyond expectations to ensure that the guests are comfortable. Food was good. The multiple hot springs were awesome, especially if the stars collide just right and the howler monkeys are nearby and calling!