Ratings based on 544 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Madison, WI

Resort with great view of Arenal Volcano.

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the beautiful room and the grounds. The food was also excellent.
Cons: The hot springs could be hot; we paid to spend time at another venue to experience hot springs.
Location: The Hanging Bridges at Arenal are beautiful and not too difficult to walk.
I chose this resort for the view from each room of Arenal Volcano. The resort has great landscaping all around and the best landscaping is how they block the view of each room from the other rooms and still leaves a great view of the volcano. The grounds and room were beautiful. This is a great place for a family to stay. The hot springs are warm, not hot, which allows the children to enjoy the springs too. I also like how close it is to La Fortuna. Guests should be aware they will need to take a taxi to La Fortuna; it is not within walking distance. Taxis in the Arenal area are expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and beautiful views of the volcano. The "towel art" provided by the housekeeping staff is also a nice treat.
Location: Plenty of tours from Caving to hanging bridges to Rio Celeste. You could do one tour a day for a week and never be bored.
From the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out after 6 days my stay was pretty much perfect. The grounds are very nice and the view of the volcano is amazing. The staff at the front desk were always helpful in arranging tours or a taxi into town and the folks in the restaurant were a pleasure to talk with. The breakfast buffet was very nice and there was something there for everyones taste.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel/resort

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The hot springs, pool, and breakfast.
Location: Lots of nearby tours and activities - zip lining, hiking, walking tours, chocolate tour, and more.
This hotel far exceeded my expectations. The pool and hot springs were great (including a swim-up bar), and also the lobby/check in area is very inviting and nicely decorated. The breakfast was also terrific - it included a full hot food buffet, fruits and juice, and coffees/pastries. If you are visiting the Arenal area, I would highly recommend this place - it will be a great home base and you will look forward to coming back after a day of activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Teresafrom Canarias - España

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Todo fue correcto. Aunque se aprecian los años del hotel, la verdad es que está muy mantenido y la limpieza es buena. Lo único reseñable de nuestra estancia en el hotel es que una tarde que llovió mucho, de las tres habitaciones que teníamos, dos tenían goteras, lo cual supone un problema dada la zona en la que se encuentra el hotel. No obstante, también debo decir que comunicamos las goteras de una de ellas porque estaban sobre la cama y nos ubicaron inmediatamente en otra habitación sin ningún tipo de problemas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

It was okay

Posted Sep 17, 2014
okay for the price - nothing special except Angela made great towel animals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marisafrom Rivas Vaciamadrid

Buenas vistas al volcán.

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
En líneas generales bien, pero la ubicación muy alejada del centro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Roberto Pizanofrom Mexico

Excelente de Principio a Fin

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excelente Servicio , Instalaciones , Alimentos , Ubicacion, Limpieza , Albercas , Jardines , Vista al Volcan Arenal , cercania al parque nacional. Excelente relacion calidad/precio. Durante nuestra estancia (Septiembre 2014) internet gratuito , servicio de computadoras gratuito. Excelente trato de todo el personal. Desde la entrada hasta nuestra salida Excelente. !!.. El unico punto (no es negativo, ni le resta puntos) es que puedes llegar a escuchar conversaciones de la habitacion contigua. Saludos!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pjfrom NYC

Great Location

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location of the hotel is great. We were close to many of the activities that both my wife and I wanted to do. The view of the volcano from the hotel is amazing. The overall hotel is great. The pools were nice, the food was ok (it lacked taste) and the breakfast was ok. My only issue with the hotel was that there were way to many ants in the room. The cleaning lady would spray some sort of liquid in the area every day, but it didnt help. This kept us from sleeping properly at night. If it wasnt for that, I would've given a better rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tres agréable séjour

Posted Sep 3, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michellefrom NY, USA

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great time in the Arenal/La Fortuna region! The surrounding area was beautiful, and the views of the volcano were nothing less than spectacular. The view from our room, in particular, was unbelievable and caused our friends and relatives to go into a jealous rage. Deservedly so! Every room seems to have an incredible view of the volcano, and we surely lucked out weather-wise because cloud coverage was not bad at all. We had views of Arenal's peak every day. In re: to the hotel itself, we were very happy to see that the Lodge and Springs had a sizeable hot spring on the property, as that saved us a lot of money that would otherwise be spent on a day pass at another hotel. An added bonus was the "happy hour" by the pool, which gave us the opportunity to drink cheaply (2 for 1 beers) while enjoying a soak in the springs or pool. The pool has a bar you can swim up to, and the springs have built in granite tables to set your drinks on. Quite convenient. The first night we were there was very crowded with families and children, but the second night was quiet with only adults on the property. If you're looking for a relaxing and relatively serene pool area, I suppose it's hit or miss because each night at the hotel was different for us. The restaurant's breakfast was quite good, but the dinner was not worth it for the price. I had a tuna steak that was clearly frozen, and tasted rather fishy. Your best bet is to go into Fortuna and find a restaurant, which we did (Don Ruffino), because at least you'll have some options regarding food and value. As far as the room goes, many reviews we have seen state that the walls in the hotel are thin, but we didn't experience any noise issues--however, this may be due to the fact that we were on the end of the property, and connected to only one other room, which joined at the bathroom wall. We heard the other room use their shower, but it wasn't a big deal at all. I will say, though, that the wifi strength left much to be desired as we could only access it by the pool area, and not our room. So if you have work to do or emails to write, you're going to be doing so by the pool area, which I suppose isn't that terrible of a thing. It's a problem if in the evening, you want to surf the web or stream a video from the comfort of your room. As an aside, doing a zip line while you're in Arenal is the way to go! Many prefer Monteverde for zip lining, but taking this adventure right over the waterfall was incredible. And we got over 200 photos and videos capturing our bravery for a mere $30 (imagine how much that would have cost in the US!)!