Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M from New York, NY

Fantastic view, relaxing hot springs

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: view, service, grounds, beds, pools and jacuzzi and hot springs, breakfast buffet with very good fresh fruit (bananas, papayas, pineapple, watermelon)
Cons: fridge in room would be nice; and maybe a complimentary shuttle into town?
Location: Cabalgata Don Tobias (excellent horseback riding) is across the street and Arenal Natura is a short walk. Most everything else is a cab ride away.
We loved our 7-night stay here. Comfy beds, meticulous housekeeping, well-maintained grounds, pleasant pools and hot springs, decent restaurant with free breakfast, fantastic volcano view, small porch with rocking chairs outside every room. Short and easy cab ride (approx $10 each way) to and from town. Other reviewers say the soundproofing is bad, but we didn't hear any of our neighbors at all. A few things some people may consider cons: rooms aren't carpeted, there are no fridges in rooms, shower only (no bathtub), the hotel provides a shampoo-and-shower-gel combo in a dispenser in the shower, hotel reception is about a 10-minute walk from the main pool and restaurant and hot springs, the breakfast buffet is the same every morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Great value
Cons: The breakfast could be improved. The meals purchased from the menu are very good, but a little pricey.
Location: The hotel is about an 8 minute drive into town. Most activities you schedule have transportation included.
The rooms are very clean. They are sparsely furnished but comfortable. We enjoyed the hot spines and pool area. You can see the volcano from many places on the property, if it is not under cloud cover. The staff is helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kevin from PA

comfortable base to explore the Arenal region

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: location, pools, breakfast, view of volcano
Cons: better pillows, mini fridge in room
Location: there is a lot to do in the general Arenal area: hike trails on/near the volcano, hike to waterfalls, zip-line tours, horseback riding, etc.
We spent 3 nights here and it was very nice. The kids loved the pool and hot springs. We all loved the huge, tasty, buffet breakfast. The rooms were fine- a bit dark and walls were a little thin but otherwise ok. The view of the volcano from our patio was spectacular! We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adam from Michigan

Great view and close to town and attractions.

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Location: The hotel offered a large list of things to do nearby all of which could be booked at the front desk, zip lining with Sky Trek was awesome!
Stayed our first two night in Costa Rica in the Volcano Lodge, had a great view of the volcano, especially the first day, as the sky was clear with no clouds. Staff was very friendly and helpful, the restaurant and bar was very reasonably priced, and the food was good. I had a chimichurri tenderloin at the restaurant by the pools, that was the best steak I had during my visit in the country. The breakfast buffet was legit with typical Costa Rican fare with plenty of fresh fruit. The room was nice... large with a nice bathroom with a huge walk in shower and plenty of hot water. They did ask to put toilet paper in the trash can as to not clog the toilet... which I think is kinda the norm in that area of the country. The room also had a nice porch with two chairs and a great view of the volcano. Pool area, hot springs, and swim up bar were my favorite part. Room service made a cute elephant out of towels and fresh flowers... which was my girlfriends' favorite part.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

la fortuna.

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: location, view of Mt. Arenal, included nice breakfast with fresh made to order omelet/eggs. excellent free wi-fi
Location: lots to do. went on white water raft excursion with Defansi which was fantastic.
facility was very nice, well kept. staff was very friendly and helpful. However, we did have 3 packs of US cigarettes and a pink bathing suit coverup stolen from our room. Didn't realize they were gone until we left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rach

Wonderful location, pools, and value for the price

Posted Mar 13, 2014
The property is in a convenient location and while the pools are not actual hot springs, they are beautiful (and look even better after the 2 for 1 happy hour!). The included breakfast and staff were also wonderful. Hard pressed to find a better bang for your buck than this property!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A wonderful place to stay with breathtaking views

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Attention to every detail
Superb accommodations, food, gardens, and service. We highly recommend this beautiful lodge. It has a nice play area and ample pool and Jacuzzi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

nice view with volcano

Posted Feb 26, 2014
We were there a week ago and its a very nice hotel. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly(especially Daniella), and the price were very reasonale. Restaurants was great and inexpensive compare to the Manuel Antonial areas, and people here are very nice(even the taxi driver!). They also has spring here in a smaller set up and there's a jacuzzi pool as well. The room was ok, certainly not the fancy type but giving the fact that there's a vocanal view from the window, i'd still recommand this hotel. One major draw back is taxi out are very expensive if you need to go downtown or attractions, so again, bring enough us dollars with you(or your magic plastic) for there's no ATM around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by felix from costa rica

Nice hotel close to fortuna and nice rooms.

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Very nicee hotel. Highly recommended. Rooms and service very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by D from Denmark

Nice hotel close to Arenal Volcano

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Location: Close by is Fortuna Waterfalls, sky tram and canopy (zip line) tours, horseback riding, rafting and hiking.
We had a very nice stay here. The staff was great and very helpful in booking tours. Most spoke very good English. There was a nice breakfast buffet and we had a nice dinner at the hotel restaurant. Pools were clean. Nice volcano views and well-kept grounds. Very safe, with a guarded gate at the entrance. Only negatives were that the beds were a bit hard and the walls very thin so a little noisy.