Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Need work

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Hotel staff is helpful but hotel conditions need work. Room had an smell. I think a pipe on the restroom needed work. Although room was small. It was ok. Breakfast was very limited but they offer a la cart breakfast menu for a price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tara

Convenient, cute hostel-type hotel

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Cute inner garden, lovely staff
Cons: ventilation in bathroom - room got very humid after showers
Casa de Avila is definitely worth staying at. My husband, brother and I got a triple room, which had a full bed and a twin rollaway. It was a tight fit, but for the price and location, we didn't mind. It's only 4 blocks from the main square, so it's a safe walk even at night, and all of the staff is incredibly friendly. We saw a lot of people taking Spanish lessons in the cute courtyard/garden, which is as picturesque as the pictures look.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

An unusual and lovely refuge

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: What's most special is, the hotel also houses a cooking school and a language school, so there are always people learning, studying, cooking.
Cons: There are a couple of areas that could be improved: The Wifi can be weak; the soap comes in wrapping paper that you need a scissor to open.
Location: It's within an easy walk of the centro, and within a stone's throw of a variety of small restaurants and a few pricey ones.
In brief, Casa d'Avila in Arequipa is unusual, warmly welcoming, and great for relaxing. The staff is uniformly friendly, helpful, and can assist with questions and difficulties. We left a hat in our room upon check out, and when we returned, they presented it to us. The enclosed garden is delightful in the Arequipa sun, with birds and a tortoise who visits every new shoe it sees, out of curiosity. It's a friendly environment that guests can participate in, or simply regard from a comfortable lawn chair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lis from canada

PleasNt oasis in a busy city

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: The garden
Cons: Nada
Excellent..location a few blocks from main square. The garden was a great place to relax and unwind after a busy day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC, Canada

Basic, comfortable hotel.

Posted May 26, 2013
Pros: Staff, garden, location
Cons: Fluctuating hot water
Location: A few blocks from Plaza de Armas, safe area
This hotel is very basic but comfortable. There is a very nice garden for relaxing after full days of sightseeing. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel location is close to Plaza de Armas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Errol from Phoenix, AZ, USA

The best hotel in Arequipa

Posted Apr 27, 2012
I can't say enough good things about this hotel! There were smiles and courtesy from everyone, and I want to go to Arequipa again just so I can stay in la Casa de Avila!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Lovely hotel to stay and and chill out

Posted Dec 29, 2011
Location: All areas in central Arequipa feel safe.
Casa de Avila was so homely and the gardens were so relaxing to come back to. The staff were more than helpful and booked the Colca Canyon tour for us. Hotel is quite central - about 5 minute walk from the main Plaza and is very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Great little hotel in Arequipa.

Posted Nov 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
This was a very good stay for me. Its location was not too far from the main square. Rooms had plenty of space with a closet. TVs had cable with many channels, including several English-speaking ones. Wi-Fi in the room had a great signal. The courtyard is awesome. Breakfast was just bread and juice. One hint would be to have the address handy for cab drivers as the one from the bus terminal did not know the hotel by name.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2011 on Hotels.com