Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Exceeded all my expectations

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Wanted to stay longer in the city just for this hotel alone. Loved the central patio area, the double height ceiling, the breakfast, everything... Just two blocks away from the town´s main square, Plaza de Armas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: If overbooked and must go to another hotel, recommend finding other places that are more similar to the style and ambiance of this place.
Location: Plaza de Armes only a block and half away, city market is just up 2 blocks, churches, monestaries, museums, shopping, all within easy walking distance
Loved the ambiance and peacefulness this hotel provided in the heart of Arequipa. The staff were wonderful, even after trying to put us up in a different hotel due to overbooking. They allowed us to check out the other hotel...it really wasn't up to par and we were set to stay at this hotel due to it's history and our wanting a special place for our 25th wedding anniversary. They ended up providing us a perfect room so we didn't have to switch hotels. Breakfast was outstanding, location was perfect...walking distance to everything and a quick taxi ride to anywhere else. Loved the high ceilings, stone walls, great wi-fi, and cleanliness of room. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Amazing hotel in a great location.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Casona Solar used to be the home of the second president of Peru. It feels like you are living in a palace. The rooms and grounds are amazing. The staff is exceptionally helpful. We can't wait to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Arequipa

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a great place to stay in Arequipa and we wished we could have stayed longer in this hotel that we did to enjoy it more! This hotel look and feel is very nice (all stonework with two courtyards) and the staff was very helpful. We arrived with the night bus from Cuzco at 8:00 AM and were allowed to check in our room right away! Location is great, only 4 blocks away from the central plaza, but not too close to get all the noise from there. A definitive must consider when going to Arequipa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Eric

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by dgwd13 from Sunnyside NY

Relaxing oasis in Areqiepa

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We arrived to this Casona which was a dilapidated 19th century sillar stone building that was made into a very comfortable hotel with large rooms with kingsize beds, lovely decorations and appointments, 2 courtyards 1 including a wonderful garden with many types of cactus. There is seating everywhere so it is enjoyable to take time out from sightseeing to relax. The staff speak English and are very attentive. They were able to arrange some trips to Colca Canyon and Lago de Salinas for us as well: the company they used was very nice. Location is 2 blocks from the Plaza des Armes which seemed far when we first got there but we quickly adjusted and were able to walk around this beautiful city with many restaurants incidently with ease!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Zwervertje from France

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Reasonable hotel, breakfast was not to write home about...Dark rooms... At the and of the stay they do funny things with the bill: They charge a 10% service cost, claiming you have to pay this everywhere. We never paid this in any place. The extras, like picking up from the airport, beverages etc. you cannot pay with the credit card. Have to be in cash. So the bill consists of a part with credit card and a part in cash. Then they create a bill with an strange amount plus an amount for breakfast and the total correct. Further telephone costs at 1 sol p/min local call! It gave as funny feelings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Amanda S. from United States

Great location

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Located just a few blocks off the main plaza, this hotel was close to all of the main restaurants and sites. It was quite clean and had great natural light in all of the rooms. We also really enjoyed the courtyard areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adam from Brisbane, Australia

Oustanding getaway in Ica

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Casona del Solar is not in the middle of Ica, but a very short taxi ride to Huaccachina Oasis. However, once you check in you will be hard pressed leaving. The facilities are excellent and the level of service we received was nothing short of outstanding. Despite our very limited Spanish skills, all staff were very eager to assist and made our stay a very enjoyable one. Highly recommended.