Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from British Columbia

Clean & quiet oasis in busy Arequipa.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Very pleasant stay. 15 minute walk from main square. Beautiful architecture: clean and comfortable. Great breakfast & friendly & helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: This place is fantastic absolutely beautiful. The facilities in the room were the best we saw on our twp week trip in Peru.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from B.C., Canada

A beautiful oasis in the city.

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Beautiful hotel and grounds. Close to the centre, but far enough to be peaceful and quiet. Exceptional service. Room was large, very clean, and the bed comfortable. We always had hot water and good wifi. Breakfast was delicious. We had a wonderful stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bev from Arequipa

A European-style Haven

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you are tiring of less than clean rooms, poor plumbing and eclectic styles, this guesthouse is the perfect antidote. The rooms have an understated elegance and the bathrooms are beautifully-appointed with reliable hot water - some have bath tubs. Breakfast consists of fresh fruit juices, fruit, cereal, yoghurt, cheese, ham, avocado, scrambled eggs and bread. Great value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by whitlocm from Brisbane

Generally Very Good

Posted May 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Even though the hotel was virtually empty (maybe total 4 people/groups), I was pretty disappointed with the first room offered. There is a separate section to the hotel (newer. not shown in the photos). The room was ground floor (though in the garden) and was not very impressive (unless you are purely looking for a bed to sleep in) and slightly musty (I have asthma). After asking for another room because of my asthma I was taken into the main building (in the photos) and given a much bigger room with fantastic views over half of Arequipa with the mountain in the distance. A wonderful breeze flowing through the room. My estimate went from about 5/10 to 9/10. Breakfast buffet was fine/great. Simple but fresh (only a small people staying so reduced catering for us (eggs cooked to order also)). Staff great. Location is OK, but if you don't get the views I would be disappointed with the location/price combination. Highly recommend, but be demanding about what building/room you get (room 18 is brilliant). Pool etc. etc. nice, but just find out about the room you will get first.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

fantastic hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel, well located, clean. Breakfast was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Hidden Gem

Posted Dec 6, 2012
I was a little nervous booking this hotel because I've never been to Arequipa before and didn't know what to expect. When we got there I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel looks like a big yellow home and felt like a bed and breakfast. The couple helping us was so friendly and attentive. She made us a complimentary breakfast each morning with fresh squeezed pineapple juice. This place was also in a good location, just a 15 min walk into town. I would definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sean

Arequipa Hideaway

Posted Dec 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
This place is wonderful. It is halfway between the bus station and the square. It has beautiful rooms, Historic and charming common areas, A nice pool, a good breakfast. Admittedly it is a bit away from the center but the luxury for the price will allow you to take cabs if you don't like to walk. The host is so helpful and delightful. I am not sure if she speaks English because we never tried. But she was always willing to help. I might return to Arequipa just for the pleasure of staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by BPlace

A Tranquil Oasis, New and Nice

Posted Aug 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
My son and I stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be just what we needed after travel in some dusty, dirty areas. Posada el Castillo was an unexpected surprise...very new, nice facility yet with an old world feel...nice courtyard setting with gardens, ample comfortable seating areas, a pool, nice breakfast room, good wi-fi, but above all quiet. Set a half block off a main avenue, it was very quiet and secure. If you want to be in the middle of the Plaza de Armas, this place is not for you...but I did not mind the 15-20 minute walk (or 5 minute cab) to the central square. There are two main buildings...the castillo, an older style building with rich wood accents and the new courtyard building where we stayed. Rooms are fairly basic but with new furnishings, new carpet, new linens, and very nice new bathrooms with shower and tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2012 on Hotels.com