Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful restored convent with some issues

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is a restored convent located on top of a hill about 15 minutes up from town. The view is spectacular and the property is amazing. Pros: the breakfast was good, the rooms are spacious, the bathrooms are modern and the building is full of charm and character. The staff was also very accommodating and courteous. The hotel also has a pool, which we did not use. Cons: the A/C was broken in our room and because it's June, the room was hot. They brought us a fan and that made the night bearable. We also found several small spiders throughout our room, which was unpleasant but understandable since the hotel is surrounded by fields.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Billfrom New York City

Beautiful New Years Eve

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: The rooms where large and beautifuly furnished. The restaurant was super and the service was beyond.
Location: The hotel is located on a hillside outside Arezzo with easy access to all the art treasues in the medieval towns that surround Arezzo.
Our plan was to visit Arezzo Italy and follow the Piero della Francesca trail. Little did we know that Badia di Pomaio was going to be the best thing about our trip to Arezzo. Pomaio is in the countryside a five minute drive to Arezzo. We stayed three nights and spent a memorable New years Eve at the hotel. The hotel is situated above the city of Arezzo and little did we known that was the perfect place to watch the firework that exploded all over the town of Arezzo on New Years Eve. After a wonderful four course dinner everyone was invited out on the patio to drink prosecco and watch the fireworks. Everything about our stay at Badia di Pomaio was magic. The staff was very peofessional and charming. They made our visit fantastic. I would like to return every year. It is an oasis in Tuscany.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay, bad to place to eat

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: The setting, the view, the pool, the lawnmower
Cons: The food. The bizarre customer service.
Location: Beautiful, remote, relaxing.....and only a 20 minute drive to Arezzo, if you have a car.
Unique and rustic, we were very happy to stay for three nights in a lovely location, great room and view, away from the hustle and bustle. The free breakfast was average. The dinner was awful....we ate a range of food from the evening menu, each of our three nights, but it was very poor and very overpriced. Avoid the overcooked meat, soggy, tasteless pasta and bland salads. The prices were ridiculous for what came out. However, the wine was nice (20 euros a bottle). Some day time pool service would have been appreciated. As would some evening music and bar service, it lacked atmosphere slightly. Would recommend the hotel....but only if you have a car, to try restaurants elsewhere for dinner and to get yourself to and from the town. And the staff are friendly, once you get passed the initial shock of their unusual take on irony!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BENfrom Atlanta, GA, USA

Great hotel in Arezzo

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: Location and service.
Cons: Road up to th hotel but when you get there the view is spectacular.
Location: Tranquil, quiet with a fantastic view
A very nice hotel with a fantastic view of Arezzo. Very nice staff and great service. The bar and restaurant is one of the better in the area but not up to level with good restaurants in other parts of Tuscany. Arezzo was a positive surprise and is definitely overlooked. We will go back to this hotel when going to Arezzo again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Khwanfrom San Francisco, CA

Gorgeous view, great service

Posted Apr 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Big thanks for waiting for us late night checking in. Also Valentina is such a great host. She recommends us where to check out and even offer to plan the tour next time. Rooms are huge and clean. Breakfast is great. Would totally recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MASLfrom Vienna, VA

Find Your Spiritual Self in this Secluded Retreat

Posted Apr 24, 2013
Pros: The breakfast was awesome. Could have sat for hours!
Cons: The menu selections were limited and pricey.
Location: The signage was virtually nonexistent -- HARD TO FIND.
Trying to find the "perfect" hotel for our final stay in Italy after 10 days of touring, I selected this property. It might have worked if we weren't so very frustrated upon arrival. The source of our annoyance: we could NOT find this hotel. Without a street address and only location listed, our GPS could NOT determine where to send us. We stopped no less than 5 people: they all laughed while trying to provide broken English directions. It sits high atop a hill in its own remote location. While we saw one sign, it wasn't clear which direction to go to. Once there, be prepared to spend time as the grounds are lovely. Since Arezzo is miles away (translating to many many minutes because of the slow curves and steep terroir) you also won't want to leave to eat. There is a fancy cave-like restaurant which also translates to high prices on food and wine compared to the city fare. But, with all that said, the hotel is lovely. The breakfast was one of the best. And, the experience of staying in a former monastary was thrilling. It was easy to see how one might have taken a spiritual journey. Unfortunately, the month of March isn't pool season but the pool was still beautiful. It would be a perfect place to honeymoon or get away from it all if you want a bit of downtime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beauty above Arezzo

Posted Sep 30, 2012
Lovely family-owned hotel in the hills above Arezzo. The facility was a monastery built in the 16th century. The rooms are comfortably but simply furnished. The restaurant was superb and featured fresh local ingredients. The owner shuttled us for free 20 minutes to the train station upon our departure. A great experience!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Out in the hills

Posted Sep 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
Isolated up a mountain road. Peaceful, nice pool and views. Some of the outside areas needed maintenance. Some staff nice and friendly but overall lacks good customer service. Breakfast poor and dinner expensive and variable. Overall did not really like it and would not return, would not recommend to friends or family. OK if you wanted to get away from it all in a rustic setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Davidfrom UK

Wonderful hotel in the Tuscan Hills

Posted Aug 25, 2012
Pros: The wonderful staff, the great location, the food...
My wife and I stayed at Badia di Pomaio for 3 nights during our Honeymoon tour of Tuscany and we had such a wonderful time there. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay, and we’d like to say a big thank you to Valentina, who was such a great host and made us feel so welcome – it really made our honeymoon even more special. As we weren’t driving and the hotel is located some distance outside of Arezzo in the nearby hills, we arranged to be picked up from the train station, which wasn’t a problem - the hotel offers complimentary transport on day of arrival and departure. They also offer a taxi service to and from Arezzo on other days, which meant getting around was very easy for us. The hotel also runs a restaurant and the food there was really excellent – and there was a lot of choice on the menu so if you were staying for a while you wouldn’t get bored of eating the same thing over and over again. During our stay we actually took a cooking course run by the hotel and learnt how to make a complete Italian menu from Antipasti to Dolci, which was really good fun. The rooms were big and comfortable. There was a good selection of food for breakfast. The swimming pool was excellent – a good size to swim around in and very refreshing after a day in the heat or for an early morning swim – the hotel even offer complimentary pool towels so you don’t have to worry about taking your own or using your bathroom ones. Overall a really excellent hotel.