Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Faded grandure
Cons: Needs upgrading in places and better air conditioning
We decided to have a return visit after nearly 10 years, Villa Baldelli remains unchanged and just as charming, a little gem in the Tuscan countryside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ruhige Villa mit großem Pool

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Wir hatten die Villa als Ausgangspunkt für Tagesausfüge in die Toskana gewählt. Sehr freundlicher Empfang und immer Ansprechbar für unsere Wünsche. Schöner Blick beim Frühstüch draußen im Garten. Cortona für die abendliche Unterhaltung nur kurze Autofahrt entfernt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location and staff

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The staff, the breakfast and the scenic grounds are all excellent.
Cons: As with most Italian hotels, a more keenly priced bar would be an improvement.
Location: It's near the lovely, relaxed hilltop town of Cortona. Don't miss Pienza either - another stunning hilltop village. A lake is also closeby.
If you want to stay in an authentic hotel that provides a genuine taste of Tuscan life then stay at Villa Balbelli. It is a charming building with lots of sympathetically restored features and an excellent pool with stunning views of the Tuscan countryside and the hilltop town of Cortona. The staff deserve a special mention - they are amongst the most friendly and welcoming staff I have come across anywhere in the world! All in all, a fabulous stay on a memorable holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Louis Anon from Fort Myers, Florida

Like something out of a movie..

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels
OMG... If you died and woke up in "La Dolce Vita" you would be at this hotel sipping a drink called an "Americano" (Campari, Prosecco and soda) and listening to the church bells as the sun sets. The hotel and gardens are lovely. The desk clerk in the afternoon was the loveliest person. The pleasure to expense multiple was very high.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lam from Hong Kong

Best in Cortona

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels
Greart!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great small hotel in the edge of Cortona

Posted Oct 6, 2013
My wife and I stayed almost a week and loved the hotel. It is like staying in a an old Tuscan villa except with all the modern conveniences. The hotel has an excellent restaurant. The staff is friendly and helpful. Conveniently located for visits into the old walled city and for day trips into the countryside. Staying here is a true taste of Tuscany.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kate from Austin, TX

Absolutely magical getaway

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels
From the moment my taxi pulled up in front of the Relais Villa Baldelli, I was absolutely enchanted. This hotel is a gem in the Tuscan countryside. My room was decorated in perfect antique Tuscan taste. I spent my mornings wandering through the vineyard and afternoons laying by the pool. Morning breakfast was plentiful and delicious and I enjoyed one excellent dinner and bottle of house red. When can I move in?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Simon from Nottingham, UK

Excellent, friendly hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Pros: Small and friendly, excellent position, lovely pool
Cons: Muzak when eating
Location: Great views of Cortona and easy access to other hill towns in Tuscany and Umbria
A small, high quality hotel in a good position for exploring this part of Tuscany. Our room was comfortable and slightly quirky (interesting pictures on the walls), the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was very good and the pool was excellent with superb views. The owner presented us with two bottles of wine as we left - a lovely touch. Negative points were minor: for our part we prefer silence to muzak; and the range of options on the dinner menu could have been wider, though I appreciate some careful balancing is required to control costs and quality. We would certainly recommend the hotel and will stay again if we come back to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels