Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamilton, South Lanarkshire

Relaxing stay

Posted Dec 1, 2014
The room was a bit dated, could do with a wee bit freshening up don't let that put you off, it was perfectly clean. All the staff were brilliant, from bar staff to cleaning staff, lounge was beautiful, comfortable, we had 2 evening just sitting there with a few relaxing drinks, the bar food was great, big portions and all well cooked good ingredients, as was the buffet breakfast. The hotel has an amazing view over Loch Fyne and there are some lovely wee shops a 5 minute walk away. This was our second stay and will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yorkshire

Free WiFi - NOT

Posted Nov 2, 2014
This hotel was chosen because of the free WiFi. It did not say this did not happen in the rooms !!!!!! The rooms were lovely and clean but the corridors were shabby and scuffed. The food, however can be recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Abifrom Burntisland, Fife

Great Location

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel and funniliy enough were put in the same room which was nice. The hotel has great friendly staff, nice bar areas where we sat and chatted to locals and later on with other visitors. Disappointed by the menu this time around as it had been so impressive previously but good food at breakfast. Lovely location in the town so easy access to other bars and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Trevorfrom New Zealand

Value for money

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
cheapest hotel was stayed in but by no means the worst - good value for money even for a back room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Catfrom Canada

Good location to the castle

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Expensive for what you get. No wifi in rooms and hardly any wifi in the common areas. Rooms were small but clean and comfortable. Loved the little town and the location is a 10 minute walk to the castle.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Peterborough Canada

Tired and Rundown

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Clean linens
Cons: Overall decor
Location: The town was quite rundown, but the loch view quite beautiful
The Argyll Hotel is tired and rundown, long overdue for a facelift. Our attic room was small and stuffy, with two tiny windows, one being a skylight that opened a crack. We had requested a room with a view. There was not even a traditional Tea Tray, common in most UK hotels/b&bs. The bed linens and towels were clean, so it was not a complete disaster, but on the whole very disappointing. The quality of the hotel contrasts the spectacularly beautiful lochside setting.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Khedarinfrom Australia

Not recommended

Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you like to sleep in a tiny room on an old mattress with the springs digging into your back then this is the hotel for you. Staff at check in were unhelpful but breakfast was excellent with good service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Från sverige

Svårt om du har bagage trappor o trånga korridorer

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Slitet men bra mat på kvällen