Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Bargain hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Needs updating
Great price, excellent location.Good breakfast and friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by ScottyJock49 from Scotland

Faded Art Deco

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: It would need a great deal of money invested to bring it back to its former self.
We were in the art deco extension to the Regent which was for part of its life a separate up-market business known as the Marine Hotel. It's now fairly tatty and the title of owners Bespoke Hotels may conjour up an image not really justified. Having said that our group only needed a bed for the night and for that purpose it served quite adequately & was value for the money. The hotel was very busy and seems a favourite with bus tours. Only single reception desk so queue built up.The staff struggled at breakfast as there just weren't enough of them to cope; clearly not their fault.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, stunning views

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Our room was in need of some renovations, but it was clean and very comfortable. We must have had the best room in the older section of the hotel with 3 windows giving different views of the water and islands (it was a truly gorgeous view), this made up for the old bathroom (which really needed some repairs). The room was big enough for a travel cot and for a toddler to explore. The breakfast was fine and staff friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old style hotel

Posted May 28, 2014
Whilst the hotel was convenient for the ferry port, unfortunately it lacked standards, the room I had was a very reasonable price but was a very small twin on the top floor overlooking the fans for the kitchen. Mould on the kettle filter and tiles in shower, fan and light not working in the bathroom which was a concern as there waz an advisory to use as if not would set off the fire alarms, The bed spread was also dirty although the sheets were clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel lookef like something out of poirot era inside and out.
1 out of 5
by Hoping for more from Derbyshire

Tired hotel on the sea front

Posted May 27, 2014
Very run down rooms, we saw two of them as we asked to be moved because the first room was so noisy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Niranjan from india

Stay was good, this place is suitable for a day

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: old colonial style of life in this hotel
Cons: Lift is very small need to upgraded
Location: ferry terminal and railway stations are 2 min walk
this property is 100 yrs old, Lift is very small only two people can get in to the lift. This property looks like old style of british property. One who is looking for moderate, budget hotel its a good place to stay. Food are served to table, food are quite cheaper and its very near to the ferry terminal. out of 3/5 is my rating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jacqui from coatbridge

staff helpful

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: .
Location: oban , oban , oban , it great gateway to the isles, for a touring holiday of the isles its a great base
staff assisted with problems in very satisfactory manner .
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Brian from Edinburgh

Has seen better days

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pleasant staff and nice atmosphere in the lounge with trad duo playing tunes. Room was basic and dated.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Tired hotel

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were given a room which looked like it had damp on the ceiling edge and dirty walls, we asked for a different room which was not much better, eventually we were given a room at the front of the hotel on the top floor which was a lot better clean and comfortable. Breakfast not much better, told not to touch plates they are very hot, but were not even warm same as the food and also cold coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

food

Posted May 12, 2014
whilst I could not fault the hotel the food two tear system didn't agree with me at all I wasn't aware of it before I came and it could not be changed wilst I was their I thought that I was a hotel guest they pointed out to me that I was a band b guest? which gave a two tear price on the menus I think that this should have been made a bit more prominent as I didn't want to go out that night I was on a motorbike and had been very wet but I also wasn't about to pay twice the price ???? regards tony hulls