Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Cheryl from San Jose, CA

Not what I expected.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The space and the fact that it had 2.5 baths. Very nice towels and they were plentiful.
Cons: Lighting in the bathrooms need to be upgraded.
We were in Arnold because of a high school graduation. We expected more from a time share unit. The lighting in the bathrooms were not adequate. There were multiple broken blinds. The door entries did not seem very secure. We did not realize from the pictures that there were lots of stairs inside and outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing Mountain Retreat Resort. We are really sorry that you accommodations were not what you expected. Please know that our staff appreciates the feedback for opportunities to improve Mountain Retreat. We do hope to be able to welcome you back for another stay. Once again, thank you for your feedback
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cyndi from San Jose, CA

Overnight otw to Bear Valley Resort

Posted Mar 13, 2014
This condo included everything we needed! The kitchen was a must especially with picky kids. Plates, cups, utensils, pots, pans were also provided! :) We didn't get to check it the indoor pool, but we'll most definitely come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2014 by Resort Manager, Hotel Management
HI Cyndi, Thank you for your review. We're so glad we could welcome you for a night while making your way to Bear Valley Resort. It's great to hear our accommodations came in handy for your family. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for families and big groups

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: location, staff, amenities
I liked the pool, the restaurant, the staff, the space. I wish they had a changing room at the pool (not just a bathroom) and I wish they gave us bathroom basics like shampoo, etc. It's a great place with full kitchen, individual patio, nice location in the woods, etc but remember to bring your fire wood and bathroom things.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your post. We're so glad you enjoyed our accommodations, restaurant, staff and your room. We're glad the kitchen and patio came in handy. Come back to visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dave from petaluma, ca

lovely

Posted Jan 27, 2014
loved it, will be back, great kitchen , fireplace and location. a bit cold downstairs, but that made it a 99.9%, instead of 100%
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Hi dave, We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Mountain Retreat Resort. Come back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5-star rating of Mountain Retreat Resort. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel from Cincinnati, OH

Secluded Condo w/ perks

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: Bang for your buck!
Location: Farther than you think from Yosemite but great if you're coming through or using as a base camp.
This place was great and I wish we had stayed longer. We were only there for one night but I was very impressed. For the price of a normal hotel room you get two bedrooms, two pull out couches, satellite tv, 2 1/2 baths, a small kitchen with stove and full size fridge, dishwasher, washer and dryer! They even left us little dish washer and laundry pods and dish soap. I would have loved to spend a week or more here living in the mountains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, fantastic house, home from home.

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Location in trees, lovely village of Arnold and friendly people.
Cons: Requires a thorough deep clean
Location: Great place to eat in village, simply delicious , fantastic home cooked food, great value for money and friendly staff. Calaverous park worth visit
Great house basically clean but could do with a deep clean, windows in need of clean inside and out. Some large cobwebs but thankfully no large spiders. Pool was closed due to a problem for a couple of days whilst we were there but on last day when it did open was good enough. As we visited out of season (October) the place had a bit of a closed down feel to it such as unable to get a meal or a drink at the resort. However did enjoy our time here and would recommend a stay here to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by Greg, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your post. We are pleased you enjoyed our property. It's always great to know how much our guests enjoy our accommodations. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again, perhaps when the weather is a bit warmer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andre from Austin, TX

Time Machine but close to Big Trees State Park

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Mountain Retreat Resort feels a lot like a trip to the 1980's. I swear I remember being in a cabin just like this during family ski trips in the Appalachians in the late 80's and early 90's. Don't get me wrong - this was no deterrent to our stay. The bed was comfortable, the place is awfully quiet and peaceful and there is a grocery store a few miles down the road where you can pick up some stuff to grill on the nearby community grill if you so choose. Although the lodging options in Arnold are slim, the MRR was a great place to rest our heads after a morning of driving and afternoon of hiking through Big Trees State Park.