Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Canada

Nice small hotel close to the best beach in Aruba

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Small hotel with big appartments (our appartment was cca 100m2) close to the excellent food store.
Cons: Several times during our 10 days stay we smelled some unpleasant odor.
Location: Close to many restaurants and bus stop.
We got free upgrade to two bedroom apartment. Very nice and friendly stuff. Twice we had a dinner at the Passion restaurant on the beach and we were so pleased with the meals and service (Robert was our waiter). Even prices were reasonable for the high service that you get. Very nice and clean beach not crowded at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Clean, quiet and comfortable

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Easy check-in with delicious rum punch greeting. Clean, quiet and comfortable room. Loved being on the ground floor near parking. Being across the street from Eagle Beach doesn't hurt either! ;-) Would definitely return...will keep an eye out for a weekly deal next time, if it's available. Fresh paint looks great by the way!!! Keep up the great work Amsterdam Manor xo
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom w

Smelled like sewage!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
It's a cute place but the smell was overpowering. We couldn't stand being outside our room including on the beach. The hotel is nice but whatever caused the smell of constant raw sewage put this place on the do not stay list.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is great

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: The proximity to downtown, Palm Beach, grocery store ( within walking distance) and the beach is directly across the street. extremely helpful staff.
Second visit to the Amsterdam, planning the third !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

One Happy Island!

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Perfection! Will return. Location, staff, food all excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stratford Ontario

Ideal spot to stay on Aruba

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Location and facilities are great.
Cons: The restaurant food at Amsterdam Manor. Breakfast is a buffet, generous with a great variety. Dinner menu is varied but food not great.
Location: The hotel concierge is most helpful with plans for outings and tours - many of which will pick up at the hotel. Great grocery store a 5 min. walk away
Just awaking to the cold after a late night return from Aruba! What a shock to the body for Canadians at this time of year. Needless to say the weather in Aruba is why most people go for a visit and we can see why. It is ideal for a week but as we are not beach people, we found that there isn't too much else on the island to do or see. We would suggest to anyone who asked us- the Amsterdam Manor Resort and you will be ideally located for all that the island offers. Beach- gorgeous. Local restaurants - close at hand. Bus stop is across the street - both for north and south directions. Pool - spotlessly clean and warm. The locals were friendly and helpful at all times and made an effort to make you feel welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Very clean and very friendly hotel staff

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Location: Nice location on beautiful Eagle Beach ... bus stop out front ... grocery store near by .. 2 small casinos next door
Very quaint hotel with a caring staff that goes out of their way to be sure everything is comfortable for you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Wonderful Place to Visit

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: - quiet - easy access to the beach - no difficulty finding open beach chairs and umbrellas - Very friendly staff
Cons: - Shower is a hand-held unit over a jacuzzi. Impossible not to soak the floor. - The jacuzzi itself is just big enough for one. - Concierge
We celebrated anniversary in Aruba, and chose the Amsterdam Manor as a quieter, more romantic alternative to the high-rise district. The pace is much more laid back and low key than what we saw at some of the larger places, so I'm very pleased with the decision. In general, everything met our expectations. It almost went off the rails the last evening, but turned out ok. I have to give mixed reviews on the last night. We were planning a romantic last night dinner at their restaurant "Passions on the Beach", but due to rain earlier in the day, they had to close for the night. That is understandable, but they failed to call us (or anyone else, as I later learned) to notify them to make other arrangements. When I went to the front desk to ask what was going on, they said that they would be calling everyone the following day to make alternative arrangements. That certainly didn't help us out, as we were leaving the next day. We ended up eating at their other on-site restaurant, and after a very shaky start (I had to chase down the wait staff to get someone to take our order), ended up having one of the best meals of the trip. We had found the concierge service to be less than friendly or helpful earlier in the weekend, so I'm not too surprised that they dropped the ball here. Fortunately, the wonderful staff at Mangos saved the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Great location, great staff, great great room

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Cons: Get rid of the 15% service charge.
Next time we visit Aruba we will stay at the Amsterdam Manor. We met people who have been there for the last 8-10 years and we know why. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, the beach is one of the best, the water blue and refreshing. The only negative is that they tack on a 15% service charge to every purchase. It's not a tip but is shared by every employee. So, if you want to tip, it's on top of the service charge. This effectively increases the cost of your vacation by 15%. I think it also is unfair to the exceptional employees and rewards the average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Panama

Excellent Hotel, nice location.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location, rooms and hotel in general. Is not a huge resort, that's a good thing if you're looking a relax place to be.
Cons: Everything went so perfect that no improvement areas comes to my mind
Location: Beach, restaurants. You can take a bus and in 5 min you can be in the mall or restaurants at high rise zone, or 10 min and go to Oranjestad.
We stayed last week, wife and 3 year old daughter. First of all, we arrive at noon (even when check in is at 4:00pm) and they could find us a room and we got upgraded for free! . Location wise is very nice, beach in front in very quiet, a lot of natural umbrellas, no need to reserve but no issue, we got to the beach even at 2pm and we found always one, there is people but not overcrowded at all. Beach is across the street, but no issues. All facilities there, bar, restaurants, etc. For some reason the beach is not the bluest of all Aruba, but I do not mind. My daughter could play and stay hole day in the beach, she really enjoyed since there is no waves. Food options close by are limited, restaurants are very good but as everything in Aruba a bit expensive. You can take a 2 min bus to high rise hotels and have more options (but more people too). Also you can buy some stuff in the food plaza (10 min walking) and bring food to apartment, you have a fully equipped kitchen. Room was very very nice, very clean, recently refurbished, very comfortable, nice terrace..no complains. The only issue was to leave and come back home. I fully recommend the hotel. May be if you are young and no kids, probably you would like to stay in the high rise area. But this place is perfect if you are with your family or want to have a relaxing vacations. Ah! and hotel staff is very friendly and willing to help you anytime. Concierge service is excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gustavo, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us and for recommending our resort.Unfortunately the water color at the beach we can not control it as it changes depending on the weather, however we are situated on one of the best beaches in the Caribbean and we are sure that you had a great time. Please come back soon to our resort! Our staff will be waiting for you!