Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Very clean and very friendly hotel staff

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Location: Nice location on beautiful Eagle Beach ... bus stop out front ... grocery store near by .. 2 small casinos next door
Very quaint hotel with a caring staff that goes out of their way to be sure everything is comfortable for you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Wonderful Place to Visit

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: - quiet - easy access to the beach - no difficulty finding open beach chairs and umbrellas - Very friendly staff
Cons: - Shower is a hand-held unit over a jacuzzi. Impossible not to soak the floor. - The jacuzzi itself is just big enough for one. - Concierge
We celebrated anniversary in Aruba, and chose the Amsterdam Manor as a quieter, more romantic alternative to the high-rise district. The pace is much more laid back and low key than what we saw at some of the larger places, so I'm very pleased with the decision. In general, everything met our expectations. It almost went off the rails the last evening, but turned out ok. I have to give mixed reviews on the last night. We were planning a romantic last night dinner at their restaurant "Passions on the Beach", but due to rain earlier in the day, they had to close for the night. That is understandable, but they failed to call us (or anyone else, as I later learned) to notify them to make other arrangements. When I went to the front desk to ask what was going on, they said that they would be calling everyone the following day to make alternative arrangements. That certainly didn't help us out, as we were leaving the next day. We ended up eating at their other on-site restaurant, and after a very shaky start (I had to chase down the wait staff to get someone to take our order), ended up having one of the best meals of the trip. We had found the concierge service to be less than friendly or helpful earlier in the weekend, so I'm not too surprised that they dropped the ball here. Fortunately, the wonderful staff at Mangos saved the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great location, great staff, great great room

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Cons: Get rid of the 15% service charge.
Next time we visit Aruba we will stay at the Amsterdam Manor. We met people who have been there for the last 8-10 years and we know why. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, the beach is one of the best, the water blue and refreshing. The only negative is that they tack on a 15% service charge to every purchase. It's not a tip but is shared by every employee. So, if you want to tip, it's on top of the service charge. This effectively increases the cost of your vacation by 15%. I think it also is unfair to the exceptional employees and rewards the average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Panama

Excellent Hotel, nice location.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location, rooms and hotel in general. Is not a huge resort, that's a good thing if you're looking a relax place to be.
Cons: Everything went so perfect that no improvement areas comes to my mind
Location: Beach, restaurants. You can take a bus and in 5 min you can be in the mall or restaurants at high rise zone, or 10 min and go to Oranjestad.
We stayed last week, wife and 3 year old daughter. First of all, we arrive at noon (even when check in is at 4:00pm) and they could find us a room and we got upgraded for free! . Location wise is very nice, beach in front in very quiet, a lot of natural umbrellas, no need to reserve but no issue, we got to the beach even at 2pm and we found always one, there is people but not overcrowded at all. Beach is across the street, but no issues. All facilities there, bar, restaurants, etc. For some reason the beach is not the bluest of all Aruba, but I do not mind. My daughter could play and stay hole day in the beach, she really enjoyed since there is no waves. Food options close by are limited, restaurants are very good but as everything in Aruba a bit expensive. You can take a 2 min bus to high rise hotels and have more options (but more people too). Also you can buy some stuff in the food plaza (10 min walking) and bring food to apartment, you have a fully equipped kitchen. Room was very very nice, very clean, recently refurbished, very comfortable, nice terrace..no complains. The only issue was to leave and come back home. I fully recommend the hotel. May be if you are young and no kids, probably you would like to stay in the high rise area. But this place is perfect if you are with your family or want to have a relaxing vacations. Ah! and hotel staff is very friendly and willing to help you anytime. Concierge service is excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gustavo, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us and for recommending our resort.Unfortunately the water color at the beach we can not control it as it changes depending on the weather, however we are situated on one of the best beaches in the Caribbean and we are sure that you had a great time. Please come back soon to our resort! Our staff will be waiting for you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maracaibo

Excellent peacefull hotel!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Very Peacefull, very confortable, well located, excellent staff except for the beach bar attendants and beach boy
Cons: Beach Bar attendants and beach boys definetely need training or a salary raise . Very rude treatment to costumers
Location: Excellent
Excellent peacefull hotel! .Very Peacefull, very confortable, well located, excellent staff except for the beach bar attendants and beach boy
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and we want to apologize for the service you had experience with our beach bar attendants and beach boy. We hope to see you back soon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We want to apologize for the service of the beach bar attendants and beach boy. We hope that despite this inconvenience you still enjoyed your stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

A great getaway from the hustle

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Clean, right on the beach, right infront of the bus stop, friendly staff, different from your typical hotel.
Cons: ATM on site would be nice, Jacuzzi tub spit out some dirt when we first turned it on.
Location: The resort is right on the beach so check that out. If your cost conscious go to superfoods and cook your own meals and buy your own beer.
If I had to split up the types of hotels you could stay at in Aruba I would do so as follows, The high rises, the low rises and everything else. Amsterdam falls into the low rise category which my wife and I preferred the most. The high rise area is very Miami like. In my opinion you are traveling to a different country so you want a new and exciting experience. The high rises dont really offer this but the low rises and Amsterdam Manor do. The hotel staff is excellent and very friendly. The room was very clean, updated and had functional AC (which is important in Aruba). The hotel is a stones throw from the beach and also right infront of the Arubus bus stop (which is useful for getting around the island if you dont rent a car). There is also a superfoods supermarket that is a short walk so you are not chained down to buying drinks and food on the resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for review and we hope that you had a great getaway from the hustle relaxing at the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort! Please come backs soon at our beautiful resort!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you had a getaway from the hustle and enjoy a nice relaxing vacation with us! Come back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Wonderful hotel on the most beautiful beach

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: T have quieter dehumidifiers
Location: Supermarket, beach, restaurants
Very beautiful, well maintained property, very quiet, right on the beach, very clean. We just came back from Aruba. We stayed in the Amsterdam Manor for 11 days. We loved the hotel, it is very clean, beautiful, looks like a castle, great location, one minute from the most beautiful Eagle beach. There is a supermarket within a five minute walk. The water is clean, warm, calm, and very beautiful. Not so many people, enough umbrellas for everyone, floaters to have fun in the water. We loved our room, beautiful view. The best location in Aruba for a romantic vacation, beautiful Caribbean water, swimming, and relaxing. This was our first time in Amsterdam Manor (second time in Aruba) and we loved it! We will stay again at the Amsterdam Manor during our next trip to Aruba.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review and we will be waiting for you soon during your next trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful hotel next to the beach

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The hospitality was great! The bartender has a list of music that could last for days... very good selection!
Cons: everything was great!
Location: We really liked that it was a close drive to a food store, far from the craziness of the high rise area, yet close enough to get a cheap taxi ride.
The hotel was beautiful even though they were doing some renovations. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite right in front of the beach. The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel was very clean as well. On the second day we were there, my phone got wet and the front desk clerk was nice enough to call the restaurant to get me a bag of rice, at no charge. On the third night my husband lost his phone on the beach and the security officers offered to look for it even after we had already spent 20 min looking. To both our surprise they found it and declined compensation. Everyone was so helpful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much fr your review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Quaint boutique hotel, far from the maddeningcrowd

Posted Aug 18, 2014
If you want a really relaxing honeymoon or vacation, this is the best place in Aruba. The casinos and downtown don't need to be within my earshot when I go on vacation. Anyway, they are a $2.50 5 to 10 min bus ride away from the hotel. The beach here is clear without any boats, catamarans blocking the view. Mangos restaurant and Passion restaurant right on the beach are both great places to eat. Since everything in Aruba is imported, the food anywhere you go will be pricey. This is not a hotel if you have kids that just want to hang around the pool. Their pool is small. It is their access to Eagle Beach that makes them special, along with the family feel of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your time that you took to leave these great comments. We hope that your stay was excellent and that you will come back soon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you have enjoyed staying at our boutique hotel and hope t see you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Clean, relaxing hotel steps to the beach

Posted Aug 14, 2014
I just came back from the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort. It was a beautiful hotel located steps from the beach. If you are looking for a relaxing atmosphere this is the place to go. Plus the passions beach bar is perfect !
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a nice review for us and we are happy that you had a relaxing vacation!