Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rick from NE,USA

The Coconut is Inn

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The only one I could afford,so the Good Lord provided once again.
Cons: Maybe a shuttle to the beach or Oranjestad would be neat
The location was out of the way & the bus stop not very near,a dark winding road led me there. The added tax was an unpleasant surprise but Angel seemed so sincere that I did not question it. The office PC was usually free for me to stay in touch & he let me make a some local calls,the Rubia was a little reluctant but let me too. Shabby around the edges but very clean & neat,complete kitchen for my use,tho the lukewarm shower took some getting used to. The bacon & eggs with toast,juice & coffee,along with cheese & salami was a fine way to start the day. Twenty minute walk to the beach,instead of waiting for the bus,but everything else near at hand.
2 out of 5
by Humphrys from Canada

No Hot Water provided for any Rooms!!!!!!

Posted Mar 3, 2014
My Wife and I were shocked and very disappointed that there was no hot water provided to any of the Rooms at this Hotel. We find that it is amazing that Expedia would recommend or even include this hotel on any of their lists as a place to stay. We took pictures of the holes in the bathroom door, the very broken loungers, the peeling etc. stuff inside the cupboard( we wouldn't put even shoes in there), the containers of "Odor Fighters", the swollen, particle board dresser and the list could go on. We assumed that because it was on your recommended list that it was a reliable source and an OK place to stay. After seeing one big bug in the limited cupboard we never opened that Pandora's box again. The bed, honest and truly, was just fine but our 3-night stay costing over $350.00 was definitely not worth one night's stay. We certainly will be much, more careful if ever using an Expedia location in the future.!!!!!
2 out of 5
by linda from USA

Clean but run down

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly, breakfast was included, the small pool looked clean and inviting.
Cons: Older hotel needs upkeep
Location: In a neighborhood, need car to go to anything
Stayed here one night and decided to move. The room was basic but spotless. Advertised kitchenette was only a microwave and fridge. Small pool was clean. This is an older motel in need of renovation situated in a neighborhood with an empty lot next door. No hot water and toilet didn't flush right. Wish I could say it was a bargain but the rates were not particularly low.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014
2 out of 5
by Jason

on a budget

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Cons: Hotel staff was terrible. Manager got angry with me because I told him part of the window in our room was missing.
We were on a budget and thought this place would be good. Lets put it this way... you have a bed to sleep on. Dont expect much more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad maintained hotel.

Posted Oct 14, 2013
This hotel seems to be stuck in the 70's. The room is poorly furnished. Small double bed. Bad breakfast. Overall not advisable for your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jodi from Ohio

Great place for the value

Posted Aug 10, 2013
This hotel was very nice! The room was very clean. The furnishings are a bit dated but in a nostalgic way. The pool was warm and also very clean. A hot breakfast was provided (very good). The staff was extremely friendly. Only a short distance from the high rise area, beach, and MANY restaurants. Would definitely stay there next time!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shelburne, VT, USA

Friendly but not up scale

Posted Apr 22, 2013
Pros: Pool
Cons: moderation of room
Location: location was okay not far from everything yet quiet
This hotel is off the well traveled area but only by minutes. You are able to walk to the Palm Beach strip. The hotel has much potential but has not been kept up. Staff was exstreamely kind!!! Could ask for better people. However, I guess you would say the price says it all you do pay for what you get. Not bad for a hotel to hold over at but I wouldn't say you would want to stay for a week at a time.
1 out of 5
by Harrydiver2 from Toronto, ON, Canada

Coconut Inn ready for retirement

Posted Mar 27, 2013
Pros: Love the roosters waking me up at 4 AM as it reminded me of growing up living on a farm in rural Canada.
Cons: I am a handyman and can fix anything but I felt I should have brought my tools - this place need some serious work.
Location: You need to rent a car and keep in mind that Aruba has morning rush hour so give yourself lots of time to get to the boat before it leaves the dock.
Please advise prospective guest of this hotel that it is in really bad shape. No hot water and the place is in serious disrepair. The shower curtain was 2" too short and the whole bathroom floor got wet after a cold shower. Hotel location is difficult to find as there are no road signs anywhere to help with directions. This hotel is too far from the city and any bus service is pathetic. Breakfast is very basic and the quality is substandard. Bedding is very worn out, stained with holes in the sheets. The duvet bed cover was filthy and should have been washed before anyone sleeps under it. The front door broken, so was the dresser drawers and the closet doors. I fixed the remote for the air conditioner and replaced one light bulb in a dresser lamp fixture. There was no coffee percolator until I complained and the toaster was broken. This hotel is not for the faint of heart as the reception demanded full payment for all 10 nights before releasing a key to the room. This is a sad situation where the owner is an elderly gentleman who should retire and sell the business to someone who will care for a nice little hotel.
3 out of 5
by Jeanne from New York

Disapointing

Posted Feb 28, 2013
Pros: Staff was friendly
Cons: no hot water
Location: Off the beaten path
I got exactly what I paid for. The staff was very friendly. No hot water, bad plumbing, mold. There was a gas line to the stove that when touched hissed propane into the room. Sometimes the lights worked-sometimes they didn't. They do not repair anything! If they did this would be a decent place. Next time I will spend the money for a decent hotel.