Ratings based on 388 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

First Divi Experience was solid

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Check in/out process is lengthy. So much paper. Staff was friendly though. Room was big and very nice but as some other reviews have stated, we also had a musky, damp, wet basement like odor. Perhaps because we were on the first floor. Perhaps not. You get used to it quickly, but this is the only real negative. $25 cab ride from the airport. Start of the high-rise section on Palm beach. Short beach walk to the De Palm pier which is a bonus for excursions, morning Dunkin, and a nice, friendly bar. Close to Palm beach shops. Not really close to other Divi resorts but that doesn't matter much in my opinion. Food was good. Daily, and happy hour drink specials. Decent pool and hot tub. Right on the beech with a semi-private lagoon. Beautiful sunsets. No casino (but others are not far).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: The staff and the rooms. Housekeeping deserves more credit then they get for keeping the room neat and clean and being very pleasant to deal with.
Cons: The staff need to be better trained to respond to medical emergencies and there needs to be AED placed at the pools, the beach and the fitness center.
Location: The location is ideal a the end of the high rise hotel and only a short walk to the town. Lots of good restaurants within a short walk
This is a very nice facility with all the thing most folks want. The only thing missing was an AED. Couldn't find one anywhere on the premises when we need it. This is true of every hotel we checked in Phoenix Beach and Palm Beach. The rooms are great, the staff are wonderful and friendly. The location is ideal and only a short walk to town (high rise hotel district). The beach is clean and well patrolled to keep folks off who don't belong there. The pools are clean and well maintained. The view is great up and down the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was near the beach and pool

Posted Jul 9, 2015
It was awesome excellent staff everybody we met was very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

Great hotel room, that's about it...

Posted Jul 5, 2015
I chose this hotel because of the remodeled suite like rooms. I chose right. The rooms are huge, new and clean. The one bedroom has 2 bathrooms a full kitchen everything we wanted for the 10 night stay. 5 stars. AC is great too. The hotel pool area is smaller than most others, and not that special. Here come the real issues.. That are tolerable and can be avoided. The staff at the pure beach pool bar is awful, simply the worst staff on the island and should all be fired for making hotel guests feel like they are always inconveniencing them. Mean, slow, non personable and boring! management needs to get a clue! Higher some nice people!!! We quickly learned to drink at other locations away from the hotel and buy our own booze. That bar staff needs a serious hospitality lesson from the gals that check you into the hotel... And only because of that did I give service 2 of 5 stars. Service is important don't forget that! The elevators break down all the time leaving over 100 rooms to use less than the already too few elevators, 2-5 minute wait on average everytime you go or leave room... The wifi is practically non existent so forget doing anything on the Internet, you'll be fighting for bandwidth all the time logging in to their dial up Internet 20 times to get one email. Super obnoxious, another easy fix... Hopefully management reads this review and by the time you make your trip here all this is fixed. Too many employees here just don't care about you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Great pools and right on beach

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Outside: Nice hotel right on beach. Lots of beach chaises to lounge around on. Huge swim up bar. They supply beach towels. Awesome pools (one is ankle deep for the kiddos). Food available at bar. Cute lizards. Beautiful sand. Very breezy!!!!!! Gorgeous water. Inside: All tile. Comfy beds. Nice showers. Huge jetted tub. Nicely equipped kitchen. Can't beat the view. Lots of storage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel - No Wifi. Unconcerned staff.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Cons: Wifi. Pool. Drinks. Staff.
Location: Baby Beach, Natural Pool, El Gaucho
Hotel was nice. Room was very nice. The beach space is slim compared to other resorts around it, but I enjoyed it. I would consider staying here again, the only drawback being the children, the lack of wifi and the pool conditions during the day. I was there for a week and had wifi for less than one day (wifi worked briefly the first day of my stay - that was it). When I called the front desk, I was put on hold, and then eventually hung up on. I then walked to the front desk to inquire about the lack of working wifi, and was told that there was no manager on site and that there were only three IT people on the island, and that they were working on it. The front desk could not seem less concerned with my issues, despite the fact that it was a service I paid for and was not receiving. There was no compensation made or offered and they basically told me "tough luck". The hotel is visually pleasing, but the staff was not too friendly and the drinks were not good. Probably the worst Pina Colada I've ever had, which is sad for a Caribbean resort - thank god for duty free though - I just made my drinks for the week instead. Pool could have been cleaner too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Beautiful ocean front balconies, close to beach.

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Our stay at the Divi Pheonix fell nothing short of relaxing. All the rooms have an ocean view, making drinking coffee every morning on the balcony and watching sunsets were perfect. Pool area was very well kept, though there are no rules about claiming a poolside chair at 7am and not showing up to use it until 11am, making it difficult to find a seat later in the day. Walking distance to many restaurants, casinos and activities. Not much variety for food (only 2 restaurants) but still just the right place for a "do nothing" kinda week. Will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

A slice of Heaven

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Absolutely everything.
Cons: NO.
Location: Rent a car. There are many things within a few miles, but it requires a lot of walking. Having a rental gets you out of the tourist zone.
We had the studio suite in the beach tower. In other words, the cheapest room. And it was just perfect. We were there 15 days, which surprised some people. They asked if we got bored. NO WAY. Had a very modern and complete kitchen, comfy queen bed (altho it seemed bigger), and a living room area with couch, chair, end tables, lamps. Only drawback to this type of room is that I tend to get up earlier than my husband and with it being a studio, the living area and sleeping area are one big room. Our room (1103) faced the beach and all the pools. Great morning views, and having coffee on our balcony with a view like tat just can't be beat. We've traveled extensively, and I can't remember ever having a better trip than this one. Hotel staff were just great, Even the ones that didn't speak English (mainly housekeeping) always had a smile and OLA for us. I knew we would have a kitchen, and I packed a lot of items that we could use. Such as paper plates, plastic eating utensils, our own coffee mugs, paper napkins and towels, fruit cups, boxed muffins, and lots of canned foods. Food is very expensive in Aruba, so when we went to the grocery store we only needed to buy perishable items. Kitchen does NOT have a dishwasher, and I didn't want to spend a lot of time doing dishes, which is why I had the disposable stuff. Pus, I'm very picky, and don't use rental dishes and cookware without washing them first. Hotel provides dish soap, scrubber sponge, and dish towels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Maine

Our favorite spot!

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Location - close enough to the "action" but not in the middle of it. Beach, and Two-For-One happy hour! 4-6pm! :)
Cons: Beds could use a pillow-top mattress topper, pillows could be improved. And a little interior paint touch-ups. But, that's being picky. It's Aruba!
Location: Great location. Boardwalk takes you to the other high-rises and restaurants. $2.50 bus ride to Oranjestad. It's pretty central and right on the beach.
This is our second time staying at Divi Phoenix and first time booking the trip through Expedia. Everything was seamless. $25 Cab ride to the hotel, easy and safe. Hotel management is very friendly and exceptionally accommodating. Maid service was happy to come back at a later time in the day if we were still in the room. Divi Phoenix is done very well. Great pool, great beach. Aruba is truly, One Happy Island!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Falls Church VA

Awesome Resort

Posted May 31, 2015
This was our fifth time staying at this resort. We love it. Great location. Nice staff. Lots of pools. WIFI worked great this year. Loved the swim up bar but didn't like the new Happy Hour selections. Much better last year when they had a different drink special of the day. Got to try all sorts of different drinks at half price. Will definitely be back again.