Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Great pools and right on beach

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Outside: Nice hotel right on beach. Lots of beach chaises to lounge around on. Huge swim up bar. They supply beach towels. Awesome pools (one is ankle deep for the kiddos). Food available at bar. Cute lizards. Beautiful sand. Very breezy!!!!!! Gorgeous water. Inside: All tile. Comfy beds. Nice showers. Huge jetted tub. Nicely equipped kitchen. Can't beat the view. Lots of storage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel - No Wifi. Unconcerned staff.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Cons: Wifi. Pool. Drinks. Staff.
Location: Baby Beach, Natural Pool, El Gaucho
Hotel was nice. Room was very nice. The beach space is slim compared to other resorts around it, but I enjoyed it. I would consider staying here again, the only drawback being the children, the lack of wifi and the pool conditions during the day. I was there for a week and had wifi for less than one day (wifi worked briefly the first day of my stay - that was it). When I called the front desk, I was put on hold, and then eventually hung up on. I then walked to the front desk to inquire about the lack of working wifi, and was told that there was no manager on site and that there were only three IT people on the island, and that they were working on it. The front desk could not seem less concerned with my issues, despite the fact that it was a service I paid for and was not receiving. There was no compensation made or offered and they basically told me "tough luck". The hotel is visually pleasing, but the staff was not too friendly and the drinks were not good. Probably the worst Pina Colada I've ever had, which is sad for a Caribbean resort - thank god for duty free though - I just made my drinks for the week instead. Pool could have been cleaner too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Beautiful ocean front balconies, close to beach.

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Our stay at the Divi Pheonix fell nothing short of relaxing. All the rooms have an ocean view, making drinking coffee every morning on the balcony and watching sunsets were perfect. Pool area was very well kept, though there are no rules about claiming a poolside chair at 7am and not showing up to use it until 11am, making it difficult to find a seat later in the day. Walking distance to many restaurants, casinos and activities. Not much variety for food (only 2 restaurants) but still just the right place for a "do nothing" kinda week. Will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

A slice of Heaven

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Absolutely everything.
Cons: NO.
Location: Rent a car. There are many things within a few miles, but it requires a lot of walking. Having a rental gets you out of the tourist zone.
We had the studio suite in the beach tower. In other words, the cheapest room. And it was just perfect. We were there 15 days, which surprised some people. They asked if we got bored. NO WAY. Had a very modern and complete kitchen, comfy queen bed (altho it seemed bigger), and a living room area with couch, chair, end tables, lamps. Only drawback to this type of room is that I tend to get up earlier than my husband and with it being a studio, the living area and sleeping area are one big room. Our room (1103) faced the beach and all the pools. Great morning views, and having coffee on our balcony with a view like tat just can't be beat. We've traveled extensively, and I can't remember ever having a better trip than this one. Hotel staff were just great, Even the ones that didn't speak English (mainly housekeeping) always had a smile and OLA for us. I knew we would have a kitchen, and I packed a lot of items that we could use. Such as paper plates, plastic eating utensils, our own coffee mugs, paper napkins and towels, fruit cups, boxed muffins, and lots of canned foods. Food is very expensive in Aruba, so when we went to the grocery store we only needed to buy perishable items. Kitchen does NOT have a dishwasher, and I didn't want to spend a lot of time doing dishes, which is why I had the disposable stuff. Pus, I'm very picky, and don't use rental dishes and cookware without washing them first. Hotel provides dish soap, scrubber sponge, and dish towels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Maine

Our favorite spot!

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Location - close enough to the "action" but not in the middle of it. Beach, and Two-For-One happy hour! 4-6pm! :)
Cons: Beds could use a pillow-top mattress topper, pillows could be improved. And a little interior paint touch-ups. But, that's being picky. It's Aruba!
Location: Great location. Boardwalk takes you to the other high-rises and restaurants. $2.50 bus ride to Oranjestad. It's pretty central and right on the beach.
This is our second time staying at Divi Phoenix and first time booking the trip through Expedia. Everything was seamless. $25 Cab ride to the hotel, easy and safe. Hotel management is very friendly and exceptionally accommodating. Maid service was happy to come back at a later time in the day if we were still in the room. Divi Phoenix is done very well. Great pool, great beach. Aruba is truly, One Happy Island!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Falls Church VA

Awesome Resort

Posted May 31, 2015
This was our fifth time staying at this resort. We love it. Great location. Nice staff. Lots of pools. WIFI worked great this year. Loved the swim up bar but didn't like the new Happy Hour selections. Much better last year when they had a different drink special of the day. Got to try all sorts of different drinks at half price. Will definitely be back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good time!!

Posted May 25, 2015
We had amazing vacations at Divi Phoenix despite there were renovations on the second floor and it was very noisy. Free cocktails not so good, but at least they were free. Otherwise everything was very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconson

Ideal location on the beach

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: The view was outstanding and the location worked well for us.
Cons: Definitely the check in process needs to be updated. It was slow and painful.
Location: The location was perfect. We could walk almost anywhere in the high rise district. We were near a grocery store.
Although the check in process was slow and room wasn't ready, the rest of our stay was wonderful. Having a kitchenette is helpful to save you from eating every meal out. Perfect location for long beach walks. People were friendly. We didn't need to be up at 7 to save a chair since it was not a busy time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice updates and location, but smelly rooms

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Room humidity and smell
Location: The restaurant strip is walking distance. Food is really wonderful and gelato is amazing
We just recently stayed at the Divi Phoenix. Despite other reviews, we thought the staff was very helpful and friendly. We booked a villa one bedroom beachside through one of the websites but we were placed in the newer tower. I didn't mind the walk was farther to the beach as I wasn't sure whether the villas were updated anyway. When we walked into our room, it was very big and modern. Unfortunately the second thing we noticed was the smell and then we saw puddles of water and mold. Surprising giving everything was new. After notifying the front, they were quick to let us see another room. It felt smaller, maybe due to the different layout, but it didn't smell nearly as badly as the first so we took it given it was bedtime for the kids. We assumed all the rooms will have some moldy smell due to the humidity. Although cleaning was very thorough and came daily, the room still felt dirty because of the smell. The lighter cushions in the room had some stains. Compared to the first room, the smell seemed not so bad. At the end of our trip, we stayed at another hotel. It was also by the water, but had no smell. When we opened our suitcases, our clothes had carried the moldy smell and we realized that even the second room was pretty bad. The Phoenix was great in all other respects. Facilities were great, staff helpful, rooms updated and modern. Perhaps it's just me but I wouldn't go back because of the smell.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila, Pa

Nice hotel with not so crowded beach

Posted May 17, 2015
great resort for relaxing , beach was never crowded , always chairs avaliable , the food at the resturants could have been better , ate at each of them only once , felt they were overpriced and food at pure beach resturant was awful .. staff was great , couches and chairs in room smelled like mildew , if your looking for tons of fun , this is not the resort .. its pretty much dead after 8 pm with no nightlife at the resort