Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Judy from Herhsey, PA

Close to beach, clean, comfortable & safe.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Attractive, clean, spacious room, safe and quiet/relaxing environment.
Location: We felt the restaurants in the hotel were expensive if you did not have the all-inclusive package and local restaurants were limited/average quality.
Attractive and spacious room, close to beach and pool. Well-equipped kitchen and grocery store within a few blocks (easy walk) made it easy to eat in.
3 out of 5
by go solo Joe from D

It's okay. Not a bad place.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Most of my time I was in the high rise district. I only slept here. The staff was exceptional. Shuttles galore, but only to close by resorts. Plenty of taxis. Food market needs work. Iguanas roam and are harmless. Lots of pools.
2 out of 5
by Danielle from Boston

Needs an overhaul

Posted Mar 9, 2014
The Divi has nice resorts but the Dutch Village is a dump and the staff treats you like a second class citizen for staying there. We chose this for the kitchen because food on the island is very expensive and particularly the restaurants on the Divi. Our fridge didn't work neither did the stove. The bed might have been the most uncomfortable I have ever slept it. Our a.c. stopped working and when we called maintenance they hung up on me. Finally I complained to the manager who was the most disinterested kid I had ever met. Horrible stay.
1 out of 5
by Donna from Connecticu

Not as pictured.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: I think reading about my experience sums up what changes need to be made.
Room was very run down and dated. Had to go back to the Lobby twice because the keys didn't work. I asked to be moved to another room closer and was told there was nothing available. They were working the second day on a pipe and the water was turned off. They did not notify us that they were turning off the water. The ceiling was leaking in the bathroom. The bathroom fan didn't work. We thought for the money we spent we would have gotten a nice room. Instead it felt like a cheap motel room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dutch Village

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: In the low rise district you are in between downtown Orangestad and the high rise district. Both locations are a 10 minute $9 cab ride away.
Overall experience was outstanding. The bed was a little hard for our liking but that is a personal preference. Room was clean and everyone was extremely helpful. We chose not to do the all inclusive this time and found Dutch Village quieter and more relaxing. A definite "do-over"! The condos are not new but are well kept and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful relaxing place

Posted Feb 23, 2014
i stayed in Dutch village with my teenage son and my mother. we all loved the place. great for a family, couple, or group of friends. this was our first time on Aruba and we are definitely planning to come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann Marie from Rhode Island

Second honeymoon!

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: We loved the quiet beach and surroundings! Sometimes we felt like this was our own private beach!
Location: We enjoyed exploring the island and discovering hidden gems away from the usual tourist attractions! Suggestion, rent a car, bike, walk; discover!
My husband and I fell in love with Aruba the minute we got off the plane! Warm, friendly people, great food, beautiful beaches! A little piece of paradise!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms very old rundown no comfortable place to sit

Posted Feb 19, 2014
First room was smaller than a hotel room very very hot and was a lock out for a 1 bedroom not fit for anyone had to get a different room very disappointed and manager never got on the phone with me relayed her information through her employee really???
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anne from New York

Great find!

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Location: On the beach, 10 mins by bus from Oranjestad and high rise hotel district with shopping and restaurants.
Although I was not familiar with this hotel, friends who were assured us that it was a good choice. They were so right. We were steps from the beach, we had a lovely one bedroom suit with a balcony. Our 30-year old daughter slept on the sofa bed and our only complaint is that she was not very comfortable. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the hotel's amenities were extensive and solid. The restaurants served great food. We would, and will, definitely return for another visit in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here!!!

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: Good water pressure.
Cons: Everything. Everything in room was falling apart!!! Hotel staff not accommodating, or even try to resolve issues.
Location: Did not like reception area being across street when shuttles run slow. Used other local hotels facilities which were much nicer.
This was the worst budget level hotel my husband and I ever stayed in. Spend the extra money and stay next door at the Tamajarin which looked much nicer for almost the same price. The alarm clock, and phone were both broken. The air conditioner leaked all over the floor. Mold and water damage on the ceiling yuck!!! Outlets all broken. The reception area is across the street and shuttles run slow. When you do eventually get to the front desk to complain, nobody cares to fix anything. Called the hotel manager three times to complain about the awful room, and she never returned my call. DO NOT StAY HERE!!!