Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Great hotel for families with little kids

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Great hotel for families with little kids. Although very expensive and food quality eas very low in all restaurants. Better to eat outside or buy your griceries. The pool is great for little ones. Good infrastructure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Great lazy river pool

Posted Jul 17, 2014
We liked the lazy river pool. Surroundings are neat. If you want a quiet place than this is not the spot. It is a family hotel with a lot of children and teens. If you do not mind than it is a very nice place to stay. Beach is very close to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mom of 2 boys from New York, NY

Great for families with young kids

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: My kids really enjoyed the lazy river & slide. The staff was very friendly. Drinks were amazing!
Cons: They should provide a tube and not expect guests to purchase one.
Location: Check out Baby Beach if you decide to rent a car. It's worth the drive about 30 mins.
Our room was smaller than I expected. I wish I had gotten the 2 bedroom with full kitchen instead. Once we opened up the sofabed, there was hardly any room left to walk around. I was also disappointed that our room was not equipped with a flat screen tv. The kitchenette sink was so small you can't wash any dishes in it. We were lucky enough to receive a tube from guests who were leaving. We also gave the tube away on our last day. Please make sure you don't leave anything behind in the hotel because there's a $50 minimum charge to ship it back! Unfortunately, most stores and supermarkets were closed during Easter weekend (Good Friday, Easter Sunday & Monday).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good for families

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: We loved the landscaping around the lazy river and other pools. It was a relief from the sun and just beautiful to stare at all day.
Location: Surf Club was a 5 minute cab to the SuperFood Market and all fast food restaurants. You can easily walk to the Ocean Club and Stellaris Casino.
We are a family of 5 with 3 kids, ages 7, 12 and 16. We all loved the room's spaciousness and comfortable beds. We stayed in the Compass Tower which was very central to the in hotel market/deli, the pool, pool bar and game room. Was just a quick walk to the beach to enjoy the water sports and umbrellas. Food was very expensive everywhere, and dinners totaled $200-350 for 5 people, anywhere we seemed to eat. A good option is to supplement a few meals with the supermarket supplies. Rooms were tidied every day. AC worked well. Perhaps there was too much action by the pool all day with Zumba lessons, Bingo, and other things. They disturbed the peace quite a bit. Lazy river was a bit hit with all the iguanas running around the foliage! Best pool for kids of all the Marriotts. Wait for lunch at the pool restaurant 45 minutes. Get a deli sandwich instead and a cold drink!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LA from Jersey

Lighthouse Tower oceanfront 11th floor

Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved Aruba! It is one happy island. The Marriott Surf Club was great! It is close to shopping, restaurants, casinos & other hotels. Our 2 BR villa was larger than expected and the view from the 11th floor was great! I wish there was a restaurant in hotel, but place next door had an amazing breakfast and grouper sandwiches for lunch. The water sports guys, Eve and Anthony , were great! My kids loved them.. My family will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve from Aruba

Great For A Large Family

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel service was excellent and the room was huge!! The room had two bedrooms / bathrooms. Along with a large family room & kitchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mom of 3 from Jericho, New York

A home away from home!

Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was definitely happy with the hotel. I was in a spacious 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit. I stayed in a friend's timeshare unit for the 5 nights and then as a "hotel" guest for 2 nights...same type of room just switched to a different floor. The cost for maid service during my stay in the timeshare was very expensive and she did an "okay" job....could have been more thorough with the mop! Overall, we had a wonderful time and will definitely will return to the Marriott Surf Club again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by gman3 from New Jersey

Great hotel for kids and family

Posted Nov 14, 2013
We stayed in the suite, which was the perfect size for a family of 5. The beds were comfy and the rooms were clean. The lazy river was a daily ritual as was the swim up bar and pool volleyball. Lots of daily activities for the kids. 100 yards to the beach. Convenient and close walking distance to shops and restaurants, as well as other hotels and casinos. Only downside is getting a beach chair, possible however, people get up early to get the good seats. The only other downside to Aruba in general is the water is a little murky due to the wind and water sports. Otherwise almost perfect. :)